We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homemade style icecream”
Review of HelarteSano

HelarteSano
Ranked #4 of 4 Dessert in Mazatlan
Restaurant details
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Family run operation using only really fresh local ingredients to produce ice cream and sherbets. Wide variety of flavors that vary with the seasons.

Date of visit: April 2013
Thank Emery L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (36)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 36 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2012

Today, like all September days in Mazatlan is hot with tropical torpid humidity. I was going to be walking around town doing business for a good hour so the best thing to take with me... a paleta de melon (cantaloupe popsicle) to power me through my hike. All their ice creams and popsicles are artesanal, made in small batches and are stupendously good. They have a basket of flavors and every one I have tried I loved, but the canteloupe, guava, mango and tamarindo are my faves. Just writing this, I have talked myself into walking down for another one. The store is just a few steps south of the Plaza Machado on Carnaval 1129. It´s worth the walk, even if you´re across town!

Date of visit: September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2011

we have been to mazatlan many times. this wonderful couple (loa and rak) who have a really cool art store called nidart opened this ice cream store across the street (to the side not directly across from the front). this was our first time trying it as it opened sometime after our trip last year. all i can say is YUMMY! the pistachio ice cream is the absolute best i've ever had. the peanut ice cream is just as great. the other flavors (lemon pie, coconut, strawberry and so on) were also just as great but the pistachio is a stand out if you're a pistachio ice cream person. here in the states we are used to seeing bright green ice cream with pistachio pieces however this amazing version is not bright green - the pistachios are the ice cream. it far surpasses any i've had. the popsicles are just as yummy with flavors ranging from lime, coconut, strawberry all the way to kaluha and rice pudding (arroz con leche). again, all were amazing, but the rice pudding and jamaica (hibiscus) were beyond amazing. they even have small popcicles so if you don't want to commit to one flavor you can buy a few in the smaller size. i think the hours were 9am to 9pm. if you find your self in centro historico don't hesitate to try something here - they are all natural too!

Date of visit: May 2011
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank USCfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018
Google Translation

Date of visit: October 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: May 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed HelarteSano also viewed

 
Mazatlan, Sinaloa
 
Mazatlan, Sinaloa
Mazatlan, Sinaloa
 

Been to HelarteSano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing