We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Great little gallery.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luna: Arte Contemporaneo

Luna: Arte Contemporaneo
Ranked #80 of 90 things to do in Mazatlan
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Luna is the only Contemporary Art Gallery in Mazatlan's Centro Historico that deals exclusively in Fine Art. Housed in a renovated historic building in the heart of Old Town, Luna showcases paintings, prints, drawings and sculpture by local and international artists: a collective that encircles abstract to realism.Luna Gallery openings are usually the Wednesday before Artwalk (Artwalk is the First Friday of each month, November thru May). Visit us on Artwalk!
Parksville, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great little gallery.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

Friendly, knowledgeable owner-artists, great selection of local art, wonderful cloud paintings and abstract oils and prints.
Our 5 year old granddaughter was enthralled.
We have purchased several pieces.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank HarrhAm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centroartist, Owner at Luna: Arte Contemporaneo, responded to this review, March 10, 2012
Thanks so much for your your patronage and your review of Luna Gallery! We really appreciate you spreading the word of this little jewel in Mazatlan's Centro Historico - showing the best of local artists. We look forward to your visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    0
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Refreshing experiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

On our recent trip to lovely
Mazatlan we came across a great gallary in the histórico district. We were greeted by a very nice lady that ended up being the gallary owner Glen Rogers (my friend had been a fan of hers for a while, but had never met her) So imagine our delight to have the treat of having her there. Over all we ended up with a great peice of art for our home in Oregon to remind us of that wonderful sunny place in Mexico. We highly recommend taking the time to visit this awesome gallary.

Helpful?
Thank Laraonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mazatlan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Gallery - Terrific Finds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

Luna is a beautiful contemporary fine art gallery situated in the Centro Historico area. Here artist Glen Rogers shows her artwork as well as showcasing pieces by other wonderfully talented artists from Mazatlan and around Mexico. Exhibits change often so it is always fun and exciting to walk in the door. If you love fine art, whether you're a browser or looking to find that special piece, you will love Luna. A gem in Centro Historico.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank JudithMazatlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakebay, WA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very nice gallery, interesting work”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

This gallery is located in the historic downtown area of Mazatlan. They feature contemporary paintings and prints, many by local artists. The quality of the work is high, and the prices seem very reasonable. This is the sort of cultural attraction that makes Mazatlan an unusual tourist area. It is more than beautiful beaches; art, music and dance seem to thrive there. This gallery is well worth a visit.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank paolo10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mazatlan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Gallery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

Another great art gallery in Centro Historico! It’s wonderful that small art galleries are popping up all over Centro Historico. Luna Gallery is among one of the very best. It has a good location, situated in the heart of Centro and is run by one of the most prominent artist in the community, Glen Rogers. Glen displays her artwork along with various other well known artists in Mazatlan and introduces new artists into the community. The displays in the gallery are always interesting and always changing, so no matter how often you visit, you will find something new and fun!

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
Thank Casadeleyendas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luna: Arte Contemporaneo also viewed

 
Mazatlan, Sinaloa
Mazatlan, Sinaloa
 

Been to Luna: Arte Contemporaneo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing