We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Estrella Del Mar Resort Mazatlan
Ranked #23 of 78 Hotels in Mazatlan
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Unexpected Paradise”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

In our opinion, this is the best beach hotel in Mexico. Huge pristine beach with great waves. Our ocean front suite was gorgeous. The grounds and gardens are simply fabulous. This is a fantastic retreat for families to play and really enjoy the resort life. The golf course looked to be challenging and for a golfer to have the beach and a great course would be a dream come true. The staff was efficient and we especially were taken by the charm of Eddy Valdez. We feel like Estrella del Mar is the best kept secret in Mexico.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    49
    19
    17
    7
See reviews for
76
69
6
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durango Du
1 review
Reviewed July 27, 2013

I liked the hotel, everybody was helpful and they treated us well. The room we stayed in was great. I didn't like too much the food they served at the restaurant, and maybe there should be more options in the menu without hot pepper in it or it should be specified in the menu what contains hot peeper and what doesn't. overall.. good hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Alejandro F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

We golfed here on may 29, 2013. We were in mazatlan staying at Hotel Playa for our wedding. We made tee times online before we arrived. The drive was a little long but well worth it once we arrived. The course was immaculate and the staff was wonderful. We weren't rushed in to starting before we hit some practice balls. We felt like we were the only ones on the course. Great facilities at holes 6 and 13 I believe as well as staff coming out to offer snacks and beverages.
The course is the best I've played and great ocean side holes! Rental clubs were nicer than my own. Not too happy about paying $10 (cash only) for "a dozen" use balls. we only got 6 and they were a little rough.
Overall though we Couldn't have asked for a better round of golf before our wedding day!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Kschliess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rifle
1 review
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Few of the services advertised were available.. Transportation and food service amenities were not available.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Todd H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelEDM, Gerente at Estrella Del Mar Resort Mazatlan, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Todd
Thank you for comments regarding your recent stay at our property.

I apologize for not exceeding your expectations. We strive to ensure that each and every guest experience is satisfying.

Please know that we are taking your feedback to heart and will work to improve our service. It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Los Delfines Restaurant one of three on site was closed for a couple weeks but not longer . For transportation we try to schedule all the service, we have 4 vans

Again, I apologize for the inconvenience during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.

If I can provide any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at 6699155850.


Sincerely,
Angel Macias
General Manager
Wyndham Las Villas Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We spend the winter in Mazatlan but always go spend three days at Estrella to relax, chill and play golf. It is fabulous, beautiful golf course right on the ocean, fantastic staff, English spoken here!
Fabulous place for lovers..honeymooners, very close to the airport. Shuttle will take wo into town.

Room Tip: Waterfront, fall asleep to the waves on the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robynhood7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Our time at Estella Del Mar was wonderful. We were almost the only people there and that was ok with us. Everyone was kind, helpful, and patient with our lack of Spanish. The food was terrific. The drivers were extra helpful because I am on crutches and need extra time. The pool was great. Everything was clean. It was a once in a lifetime trip we will always remember.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Paul And Lucy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
13.9 mi away
Isla Mazatlan Golden Resort
Isla Mazatlan Golden Resort
#26 of 78 in Mazatlan
56 reviews
12.0 mi away
Quality Inn Mazatlan
Quality Inn Mazatlan
#29 of 78 in Mazatlan
59 reviews
12.8 mi away
The Inn at Mazatlan
The Inn at Mazatlan
#9 of 78 in Mazatlan
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Park Royal Mazatlan
Park Royal Mazatlan
#60 of 78 in Mazatlan
380 reviews
16.9 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay
8.8 mi away
Best Western Posada Freeman
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estrella Del Mar Resort Mazatlan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estrella Del Mar Resort Mazatlan

Property: Estrella Del Mar Resort Mazatlan
Address: Camino Isla de la Piedra Km 10, Mazatlan 82267, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mazatlan
#9 Spa Hotel in Mazatlan
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Estrella Del Mar Resort Mazatlan 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Estrella del Mar sits oceanfront on over three and a half miles of secluded beach in Mazatlan, Mexico. Located 10 minutes from the Mazatlan Airport, the 900-acre gated community includes a colonial Mexico-style hotel with a gracious open-air hacienda-like courtyard and features 47 ocean-view and garden-view rooms and 62 one, two and three bedroom condominiums. Both the guestrooms and condominiums feature private balconies and free WiFi. Estrella del Mar features the spectacular 18-hole Robert Trent Jones, Jr. championship golf course that runs along the Pacific Ocean, home of the PGA Tour Latin America. Other amenities and activities include a spa, salon & workout facility, conference & wedding facilities, pools & hot-tubs, restaurants & bars, tennis courts, soccer fields, water sports and a turtle sanctuary and conservation project. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Estrella Del Mar Resort Mazatlan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Las Villas Hotel Mazatlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing