We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Estrella Del Mar Resort Mazatlan
Ranked #21 of 80 Hotels in Mazatlan
Certificate of Excellence
A Wyndham traveler
ABBOTSFORD
1
Reviewed November 27, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank A Wyndham traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AngelEDM, Gerente at Estrella Del Mar Resort Mazatlan, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (209)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 209 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2012

The rooms are nice, the beach is pretty but the service is terrible. No one greeted us when we arrived to give us a tour of the facilities or introduce us to the services available. The guest services book is horribly out of date - for instance, they don't rent bikes any more. The service staff insisted on being tipped in cash. The irony was that it was impossible to find anyone to help or take an order. The kicker was the front desk hostess, she was unpleasant. It was hard enough to get her off the phone and no matter what we asked for her response was always, "No!"

The food was horrible. Can really say much more than that.

The cherry on top was the surprise daily 'hospitality" fee that was $75. We booked and paid 100% in advance via Priceline.com. No where did the listing reveal the hospitality fee.

I do not suggest anyone stay here. Sorry.

Room Tip: My tip! Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MGWex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelEDM, Gerente at Estrella Del Mar Resort Mazatlan, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear: MG Wex
I apologize for not exceeding your expectations regarding your recent stay at our property
I regret very much the inconvenience found during your stay at the Hotel I lead.

Our goal is to provide the best service to all our customers, so that in this case I could not feel greatly exceeds your expectations.

Regarding the service with the reception and food & beverage staff I beg consider what happened as an event of which I have taken immediate action to a situation like this, do not happen again.

Again ; I apoligize for the for the inconvenience during your stay.
Because it is unusual to find this level of dissatisfaction on the part of our guests, I would appreciate contact you directly to email amacias@estrelladelmar.com, to particularize the reasons of your discontent

Sincerely,
Angel Macias
General Manager
Wyndham Las Villas Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank RON S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

My wife and I just spent 5 nights at Las Villas and couldn't of asked for a more relaxing vacation. Due to the location, you are not exposed to all of the sights and sounds of the city and can really just spend some peaceful time on the beach. The private beach is wonderful since you do not have to fend off the street vendors that you would encounter on the beaches in the Golden Zone. We enjoyed beautiful sunsets, golf, massages, and some good food in both restaurants. Our last morning was spent on the balcony watching dolphins near the beach. If you want to go into Mazatlan, the hotel can arrange a ride and I believe there is a daily shuttle between the hotel and an office in the city. The staff was very pleasant and accomodating and even arranged a sunset horseback ride for the two of us. We look forward to a return trip.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

The value and course were great. Food was good. Rentals were Taylor Made R7s :)
Bring your own balls and tees as it can get expensive. A travel bag is almost the cost of rentals so bring your own if you are so inclined. Stayed in the Golden Zone about 45 minutes away but no worries it's a decent ride as an excursion

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank highlanderrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelEDM, Gerente at Estrella Del Mar Resort Mazatlan, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2012

Dear; highlanderrr

Thank you for comments regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your feedback is very important to us and I can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again!. Dont forget we have in property a Wyndham Resort , Las Villas Resort & Spa.

If we can be of assistance in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us at 6699155850.


Sincerely,
Angel Macias
General Manager
Wyndham Las Villas Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Las Villas for our honeymoon and we fell in love with Mazatlan. It is absolutely beautiful and we had a nice and pleasant stay at Las Villas. We loved almost all aspects of it with the exception of the restaurant hours and misinformation from the front desk. Other than that we absolutely loved it and would definitely go back. For the most part the staff was friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelEDM, Manager at Estrella Del Mar Resort Mazatlan, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2012

Dear Tony.
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at our property.

Please know that we are taking your feedback to heart and will work to improve our service.
Is very important to us and I can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again!

If we can be of assistance in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us at 6699155850.

Sincerely,
Angel Macias
General Manager
Wyndham Las Villas Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

I took my family twice last year to this place. My kids said they would rather go back here than to any of the Hawaiian islands, I wouldn't go that far, but their point was that they enjoyed the beaches, amenities and especially the isolation. They espcailly enjoyed the 1 hour ($20) horseback rides on the beach, just ask the front desk!

We went to Mega and stocked up on all our supplies. The full kitchen and outdoor eating areas make this place a perfect family destination. Don't expect large crowds or party scenes.

Don't be intimidated with the crime and drug activities in Mexico. We felt safer here (daytime) than I would in may cities in the USA.

We booked our rooms privatley through VRBO, saving us about half of the going rates.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
13.9 mi away
Isla Mazatlan Golden Resort
Isla Mazatlan Golden Resort
#28 of 80 in Mazatlan
57 reviews
12 mi away
Quality Inn Mazatlan
Quality Inn Mazatlan
#25 of 80 in Mazatlan
65 reviews
12.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Mazatlan
Holiday Inn Resort Mazatlan
#13 of 80 in Mazatlan
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Park Royal Mazatlan
Park Royal Mazatlan
#62 of 80 in Mazatlan
420 reviews
11.9 mi away
Ramada Resort Mazatlan
Ramada Resort Mazatlan
#24 of 80 in Mazatlan
301 reviews
16.9 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estrella Del Mar Resort Mazatlan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estrella Del Mar Resort Mazatlan

Address: Camino Isla de la Piedra Km 10, Mazatlan 82267, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Mazatlan
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range: $144 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Estrella Del Mar Resort Mazatlan 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Estrella del Mar sits oceanfront on over three and a half miles of secluded beach in Mazatlan, Mexico. Located 10 minutes from the Mazatlan Airport, the 900-acre gated community includes a colonial Mexico-style hotel with a gracious open-air hacienda-like courtyard and features 47 ocean-view and garden-view rooms and 62 one, two and three bedroom condominiums. Both the guestrooms and condominiums feature private balconies and free WiFi. Estrella del Mar features the spectacular 18-hole Robert Trent Jones, Jr. championship golf course that runs along the Pacific Ocean, home of the PGA Tour Latin America. Other amenities and activities include a spa, salon & workout facility, conference & wedding facilities, pools & hot-tubs, restaurants & bars, tennis courts, soccer fields, water sports and a turtle sanctuary and conservation project. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Estrella Del Mar Resort Mazatlan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Las Villas Hotel Mazatlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing