We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Back Again......January 2014” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Sombrero Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Sombrero Suites
Ranked #28 of 49 Mazatlan B&B and Inns
Ladysmith, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Back Again......January 2014”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

Back again at Sombrero, and quality hasn't changed.....really enjoy being here.
We cook half the time, so having a full kitchen is great !!!!!
We have maid service, every two days, more if you request it.
Any problems dealt with immediately, and that's even little insignificant ones !!!!!!
Health hold up for us we'll be back in November.....
Thanks to all the staff for making us so at home..........even hug us if we meet them at the bus stop.
We were having problems with our Debit Card, and one of the fellows offered to loan us some cash ( we weren't that destitute yet !!!!).....can you imagine that in a Canadian or American Hotel ?

Room Tip: we like the front with balconies as we people watch.....back if you like more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank decogran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    4
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
8
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leduc, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Stayed Feb 11-Mar23/13 Staff are friendly .The rooms are clean and kichens have everything you need.You have use of the pool next door at the Solamar hotel.Laundrymat down stair {drop off in morning and pickup in afternoon] Fruit stand 2 doors down. Restaraunts are close by [ discount at solamar restaraunt with room rent].Our favorite is Fat Fish 1/2 block away that has the best ribs where 2 can eat for 180 pesos.ps get there before 6pm so you dont miss happy hour 2 for 1 drinks wine incl.Live entertainment across the street on the beach 3 afternoons a week.We are booked for Feb and Mar 2014.Front rooms get the street noise but there are rooms off the street and quieter on the upper floors.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank raybogath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Good location right across from the beach. Handy to restaurants and local stores. The front bedrooms can be a bit noisy from the street. Well maintained. Kitchens are clean with all the appliances, Use of the pool and a restaurant discount at the associated Solomar Hotel next door was much appreciated. Staff is friendly and competent. Great courtyard.

Room Tip: Rooms not facing the street are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darryl V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

I stayed in two different rooms at the El Sombrero, one for 5 weeks and the other one later for an additional 5 weeks. The staff members are very knowledgeable and helpful. The rooms are cute and well kept up. If you are lacking anything, it will be gotten for you. I have recommended this hotel to two different groups of friends and they have all enjoyed the 2 room suites that they have gotten. I myself stayed in the one room suites which I liked very much. The location is excellent, good for walking to shops, restaurants and bars, and easy to catch a bus on the corner to go downtown. I loved it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Have stayed there (at all the options available, i.e. homes, hotel and other locations) many, many times and have always appreciated the excellent service and the fact of knowing that you are close to stores and restaurants, as well as being just across the street from the beach. It is very easy to take public transportation to the downtown area, as well as other options. Everything is extremely affordable and we love Pacifico, a locally produced beer. The staff at the Minnesota cafe (the restaurant at the hotel close to the Sombrero) are always friendly and responsive.

Room Tip: Only two rooms in the hotel have a king-sized bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladysmith, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

We returned once again to sombrero and everything was as before, facilities and people great. We have already made our reservations for November/December 2013. It's a perfect place for us, as we've done all the tourist things, and just like to hang out.......enjoy meals , drinks, and wonderful people at the Minnesota Cafe. ( also the pool at Solamar )......this within a few steps from Sombrero. We also are so welcomed, that it feels like a home away from home, we have stayed at the large resorts, and there just isn't that warmth. I certainly would recommend this place, in fact, we've had family return there year after year as well.

Room Tip: we like the front rooms, as my husband likes to people watch, the dining, kitchen area is at the fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank decogran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nasha B, Owner at Hotel Sombrero Suites, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
I am very glad that you enjoy staying with us and looking forward to seeing you real soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Clean suites, friendly and helpful staff. convenient location. A laundry, convenience stores, salon and produce available within a few steps.Many excellent restaurants with in close proximity and the bes breakfasts and waiting staff at the Minnesota Cafe. One thing that definitley need up grading ar the mattresses,quite uncomfortable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vb T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nasha B, Owner at Hotel Sombrero Suites, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you for your review.. Even though we would like to hear good things all the time, if something isn't right we need to know to be able to fix it.. We are aware that some of the rooms do need new mattresses and started getting new ones last year.. We will continue on upgrading them throughout the year..
Just to clarify in the Restaurant there is no smoking allowed..
There is a seperate bar where people can smoke..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
0.2 mi away
Quijote Inn
Quijote Inn
#67 of 80 in Mazatlan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mision Mazatlan
Mision Mazatlan
#25 of 80 in Mazatlan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.7 mi away
Blue Pacific Suites
Blue Pacific Suites
#66 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn Mazatlan
Quality Inn Mazatlan
#30 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mariana Beach Apartments & Hotel
0.0 mi away
Solamar Inn
Solamar Inn
#33 of 49 in Mazatlan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sombrero Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sombrero Suites

Property: Hotel Sombrero Suites
Address: 1938 Camaron Sabalo | Fracc: Sabalo Country, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Sombrero Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Suites at the Sombrero Hotel are all nicely decorated and very clean. There are 18 suites in the building. They are located on the main street, ACROSS THE STREET FROM THE BEACH , in the Golden Zone where you will find all the beach activities including parasailing, boogie boards, jets skis and much more.The JR.SUITES have 2 double beds, full kitchenette with everything that you would need to cook with and balcony big enough for table and chairs. These are above the garden area..Nice and quiet.. One Bathroom with shower.Sleeps 4The SUITES have 2 double beds tucked away in an alcove seperate from the Kitchen, Dinning and Sitting area , full kitchenette with everything that you would need to cook with and a balcony big enough for table and chairs..One bathroom with shower..These are street facing....Sleeps 4..The MASTER SUITES have a private bedroom with double bed plus the tucked away alcove with one double bed. In the Living room there is a day bed that makes into 2 twin beds..There is also a full kitchenette with everything that you would need to cook with and balcony big enough for table and chairs..There is one bathroom with shower...These are street facing .Sleeps 6.. KITCHENETTESThe kitchenettes are equipped with a fridge, small 4 burner stove with oven, microwave, coffee maker, toaster, blender, and place setting for 4 - 6 people. It also has everything that you would need to cook with..Also included are:Maid service /Linens includedCable television in English and SpanishEnglish speaking Manager available 24 hrs a day..Use of the Pool next door at the Hotel Solamar Inn..Hot waterAir Conditioning The 1st floor is made up of the office and an interior courtyard with a nice sitting / lounging area full of plants and birds..Just out front there is a laundrymat, mini super and fruit and vegetable market, arts and crafts stores..Our base is located at the Solamar Inn which is just next door.Over here is the pool , lounge chairs and a great restaurant the Minnesota cafe and Sports Bar which you are also welcome to use along with any associated discounts..At the Minnesota Cafe we also have free for you, wireless internet..Our main offices are located over here also.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Sombrero Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing