We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“What a Waste” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Marina Del Rey Beach Club

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mazatlan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marina Del Rey Beach Club
Save
You added Marina Del Rey Beach Club to your Saves list
Ranked #62 of 80 Hotels in Mazatlan
Mason City, Iowa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a Waste”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

I am also an owner at Marina Del Rey and when we purchased our unit we thought the place was just right for us. At the time, it's location was away from heavy traffic and noise on the very north edge of the Golden Zone. The atmosphere and decor was more traditionally Mexican and we even enjoyed the slightly "third world" amenities. Too bad the Management refused to maintain that atmosphere.
In the last few years the facility has been allowed to deteriorate to the point where it is difficult if not impossible to spend a care free vacation there. A few of the problems that have risen since we purchased are: Closing the onsight restaurant, removing the phone system (even room to room or room to front desk communication is unavailable), deterioration of all furnishings, supplies, utensils, etc., non-working jaqcuzzi's and toilets, worn out and non-operating Air Conditioners, Pidgeon waste on balconies, broken or missing furnishing and deck furniture, low (OR NO) water pressure, beds like sleeping on a board, and pillows akin to a bag of mushy coconuts.
When asked to address any of these complaints the management simply refuses, but still demands payment of maintenances fees for each week of use. If your maintenance fee payment is late the penalty is 3 to 4 times more than the actual fee and if you want to sell your contract the transfer fee is nearly $1000 USD (3 times what is normal elsewhere).
As others have indicated, the photos you see do not in any way represent what you will get, as actual furnishings are broken, dingy, and dirty. Unit maintenance by the staff is good, considering what they have left to work with, and I do want to emphasize how wonderful the staff people are, one of the few good things left.
Don't waste your time or money on this place. Definitely don't consider buying anything from them and for sure don't believe a word that management might tell you..

Room Tip: Don't waste you time or money
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Pherlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    5
    3
    3
    11
See reviews for
12
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012 via mobile

Unfortunately we own at Marina Del Rey. As in the other reviews I've read here This place has really gone downhill!! The photos shown are done with professional lighting and absolutely do not represent any of the suites we were assigned. Ive been to suites that are being rented and full time ownership and have seen nothing like this. Must be the owners suite!! We found thousands of tiny bugs on countertops. Toilet flapper chain broken snd had to lift it by hand for two and a half days!! Patio doors wouldn't lock. Night security fellow had pushed 6chairs together and was sleeping in a meeting room away from the entrance. That felt safe!! He also did not speak English. No functioning phone. Most times no Internet. Windows smaller than frame so wind and bugs can come in. One burner working on stove. Fridge door fell off. They thought we should use the bottle for water that had been opened by previous guests. Then brought us a muddy bottle when we insisted on a new one. Every time the kitchen was short of the promised basic supplies. Beds are like boards. Had to put couch cushions on them. Pool is usually very cold. Jaccuzzi didn't work the one time we stayed in a penthouse and was old and dirty. Some staff tried their best under these circumstances but girls in the office often rude and unhelpful. Disorganized. We'd love to get out of this contract. Are hoping other dissatisfied owners will band together. This is ridiculous!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jupegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mazatlan hotels

U.S.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

When we saw this place, we loved the big rooms and the quiet location. We negotiated what we thought was a fair price and maintenance fees. Then later, we learned the truth. They started charging more, blaming it on expenses out of their control. They were impossible to deal with and never did anything they said they would do. They let the building get run down, likely because the owner was using the money to invest in other projects like the two buildings next to it.

Buyer beware.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank mazatlantraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parksville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2008

We checked into this place and checked out 2 hours later. It was very dirty and the security was nil in out suite. Broken slatted windows, mould was rampant throughout and the air conditioners were so full of mould and rust we were aftraid to turn them on. Our travel agent had no idea of the condition of this place but we took pictures of the unit and sent them to them. I am sure they will never book another client here. No place to eat way out here and no stores,,,felt like we were in the middle of no where. Would never recommend to anyone.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — evrything
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank shelgib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st. paul, mn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2008

Hotel Motto - We spared every expense.

Okay, the cleaning staff are great, but they have a tough hurdle to overcome. We were welcomed to the hotel by unfriendly staff who obvioulsy only wanted to work at one of the higher classed resorts. No good check-in system; just a bunch of keys kept in an unlocked cabinet in the office - protected only by a locked glass door. Yeah, really safe.

We would have had a dip in the pool, but it was green. Not painted green, but filled with disgusting bacteria.

The rooms are falling apart. We never saw a cockroach, but we did have a dead bat in the room.

There is a phone to call the front desk, but you can't call out into the town.

The cable reception is horrible. You can get FOX news and a CBS affialiate from LA.

Seriously, what more do you need? The place is falling apart. It is one of the three lowest rated resorts in Mazatlan. Not worth it. Stay somewhere better, the cost will be worth it.

  • Liked — The restaraunt at the Green Resort (la fonda) about 1/4 mile north of Marina Del Rey
  • Disliked — The entire place was horrible. No megusta!
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank frozenc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
on
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2008

First of all i can not believe WHY is this place a member of RCI there is nothing in the place it is out of ammenities, it is far from everywhere, no restaurant, no gym, no phone to make even a local call, there is nothing and I am going to complain about this.
TV signal is awful, please RCI and other companies do not send more people to risk their lives !!!!!!!

  • Liked — When I was leaving the place
  • Disliked — Whe I checked in
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank ongret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2008

Stay at your own risk! The phone in the 'apartment' we rented only called the front desk. There is no room internet. When the housekeeper takes the dirty towels, you don't get clean towels until those same towels are washed and dried. There was a 6-7 inch lizard in our bathroom that welcomed me one morning just after I woke up!
The bed is as hard as a rock and it feels like the pillow is stuffed with balls of yarn. There is only one phone that allows someone to call your room and that phone is always busy because the receptionist is constantly on personal phone calls. At times, the receptionist answered the phone by saying 'What??!' She was not helpful or friendly. Although, there is a gentleman who did an exceptional job.
If you are used to staying at a higher end establishment, or at least one with a working phone, I would prepare myself for a shock if you have already booked your stay at the Marina Del Rey Beach Club! Good Luck!

  • Liked — The thing I liked most about this hotel was leaving it.
  • Disliked — The thing I like least about the accomodation was its lack of accommodations!!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank speaknoevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
0.3 mi away
Villas El Rancho Green Resort
2.0 mi away
Ocean Breeze Hotel
Ocean Breeze Hotel
#40 of 80 in Mazatlan
3.5 of 5 stars 13 reviews
1.5 mi away
Costa Bonita Condominium & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Quijote Inn
Quijote Inn
#66 of 80 in Mazatlan
3.0 of 5 stars 51 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Royal Mazatlan
Park Royal Mazatlan
#31 of 80 in Mazatlan
3.5 of 5 stars 298 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel de Playa en Mazatlan
Hotel de Playa en Mazatlan
#25 of 48 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 stars 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Del Rey Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Del Rey Beach Club

Property: Marina Del Rey Beach Club
Address: Ave Sabalo Cerritos #1000, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Marina Del Rey Beach Club Hotel Mazatlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing