We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Palms Resort Of Mazatlan
Ranked #18 of 78 Hotels in Mazatlan
Phoenix, Az
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Always Great”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We visited at the end of May, early June. This has always been the slowest (and for us, the nicest time) of year. It was busier this year and while I know this is good for Mazatlan, more people, more kids, made for not quite as much serenity. But that is only around the pool, everything else was perfect. You can't get any closer to the ocean than The Palms! The ocean laps up into the resort ocean wall. Rooms, perfect. They did away with their happy hour which was a major bummer. The infinity pool is awesome. I would never stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank csquare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    129
    54
    21
    11
See reviews for
93
110
13
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

If you have never been to Mazatlan, this could be the best option for you. It's very centrally located in the town. The avenue offers a multitude of food options and shops. It also runs along the beach and the entire town. My girlfriend and I had a great time in the hotel pool. The service was fast and efficient.

The room was slightly outdated and had a few "dings" and "dents". There was also an ant situation but this is all over the hotel and I suspect it has to do with the area. I wish I would have gotten a better room, like one of the suites. I would have liked to see more in the way of activities at the hotel, but it is a very "do your thing" type of a place.

It's location makes this hotel a winner in my book. It isn't the greatest spot to stay at, but if you're on a budget like I was, and you don't know the area, this hotel is a very good option for the price.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alexfganem1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosillo, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Slow wi-fi connection, the phone wasn't working, the window for the balcony didn't have lock.. the only good thing was the view to the beach. Not to many options for meals. The decoration seems from early 90's.

Room Tip: choose the rooms at 5th floor, better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marialopezdl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We just loved this resort!! The rooms were very comfortable and well kept. the whole resort had a comfortable, cozy vibe. It reminded me of smaller hotels in Hawaii. Our lanai was big and could accomodate lounges but there were just 2 chairs. the property is smallish compared to the resorts down the beach with a nice infinity type pool and several areas for lounging by the pool or on the beach. We only ate breakfast there once and it was ok but I would go elswhere. Did not have any other meals. I just loved the beds and the linen was perfect. It was very quiet and seemed to be well soundproofed. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Karen5056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We stayed here for one week- Febraury 1-14. Can't say enough good things about this hotel and the staff.

The Oasis restaurant is a hidden Mazatlan gem. Happy hour every day from 4:30 to 7:00 with fill size drinks and the best bartender in Mazatlan! Humberto, the matre'd and his staff of the fabulous RIgoberto, the entertaining Jose and young Luis offer you 5 star service. They recognize us from previous visits and always go out of their way to welcome us back. Manual by the pool also is wonderful and needs to be recognized.

It was distressing to see how some vacationers treat these men. There was an incident on Valentine's day that comes to mind. One table had ordered a cake and balloons for a celebration. Humerto left the restaurant to run to the Panama to pick up the cake and to another place to pick up balloons. Valentines day so everything was busy and backed up. Humberto comes back to the restaurant and delivers the cake and balloons and absolutely was lambasted by the people he picked these up for! Yes, it probably was delivered later than they wanted, but seriously. If it was that important, they should have picked these up themselves. Poor Humberto.

We met many other people who come to The Palms for extended vacations every year. That speaks to just how great this place is.

Location, location, location. Wonderful pool, beach, restaurant, staff, close to other restaurants, ocean at your fingertips. What could be better?


Front desk staff were very informative and efficient. Sometimes a bit of a line up there, but that's just because every person is given wonderful service. Not a complaint.

Arturo, the bell captain, remains the best bell captain in Mazatlan! Friendly, gives great information and helpful. (My glasses broke and he helped fix them for me.) Thanks again.

We will definitely be back and look forward to our next stay.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for ocean view and listen to the waves all night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WinnipegBeverley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledonia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

My husband are I were guests at the Palms Resort from Feb. 1 to Feb. 8, 2014.
We absolutely loved it!! From the cleanliness of the rooms as well as the grounds, to the beautiful beach, to the proximity to many restaurants and shops, this place was the best on the strip. We love to check out new places, but we would definitely come here again, just for the people! They are the friendliest we've seen anywhere. From the staff at the front desk who are more than willing to do anything for you (even take numerous phone messages and patiently pass them along to you), to the friendly doormen, to the friendly Rosa at the coffee bar, to the fantastic Rigoberto serving with a smile in the Oasis outdoor restaurant on the beach, it's the friendly people of the Palms Resort that will make us visit here again. Until next time, Salud!!

Room Tip: Go for the ocean view if you don't mind spending a wee bit more, but really... who wants to spen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wilma b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
0.4 mi away
The Inn at Mazatlan
The Inn at Mazatlan
#9 of 78 in Mazatlan
671 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oceano Palace
Oceano Palace
#46 of 78 in Mazatlan
903 reviews
4.1 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
#5 of 78 in Mazatlan
1,779 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn Mazatlan
Quality Inn Mazatlan
#29 of 78 in Mazatlan
59 reviews
1.6 mi away
Park Royal Mazatlan
Park Royal Mazatlan
#60 of 78 in Mazatlan
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palms Resort Of Mazatlan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms Resort Of Mazatlan

Property: The Palms Resort Of Mazatlan
Address: Camaron Sabalo No. 696 | Zona Dorada, Mazatlan 82100, Mexico (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Mazatlan
#13 Romantic Hotel in Mazatlan
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Palms Resort Of Mazatlan 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palms Resort of Mazatlan is located on the beautiful beaches of Mazatlan, in front of the three islands in the golden zone, and it posses a Mexican architecture with elements of Mexico.Location is the most important for a great vacation. Our guest love our location on the beach, the gardens, the infinite pool, pool bar, and comfortable rooms that invite you to relax.The perfect vacation at Mazatlan starts with a sun set, pacific tropical breeze and beaches with warm and crystal clear water. Rest in your personal oasis of comfort after a sunny day of recreation.All our rooms offer all the comfort that our guest need, with beds incredible comfortable.Enjoy our delicious gastronomic variety and cocktails in our restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Palms Resort Of Mazatlan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sunspree Mazatlan Hotel Mazatlan
Holiday Inn Mazatlan
Mazatlan Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing