We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Mazatlan” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Palms Resort Of Mazatlan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Palms Resort Of Mazatlan
Ranked #18 of 80 Hotels in Mazatlan
Lake Chapala
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Mazatlan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This hotel is right on the beach in Mazatlan Mexico. It is safe, beautiful, and has a wonderful staff. The man who checked us in, Edwardo, was helpful and had a contagious smile. If you're tired and grouchy, I guarantee that he will improve your mood.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Charles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    115
    46
    19
    11
See reviews for
84
98
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

A nice hotel not so good beach since the tide is strong,(which makes it also cleaner) but, an infinity pool compensates it, with amazing sunsets.
In process of restoration, the hotel is 1 km from the main discos and restaurants, in the middle of Zona Dorada. Nice attention, and great facilities.

Room Tip: Choose the ocean view rooms in the last floor. Amazing sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoelVargas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aguascalientes
Level Contributor
113 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Me And my Family Have visited This hotel since the last 35 years When it used be a Holday Inn.
Still is a veryvgood Hotel, Nice Rooms, Clean, Well maintained.
Pretty convenient size Hotel Layout, confortable, with good Swimming Pool, Restaurante, And Lobby Bar.
Excellent Location And Fair Reasonable Price at $ 80 USD Room Rate.
I am Still planning to come back !

Room Tip: All Rooms are Ocean View. Senior Citizens Should Ask the closest ones to the Lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jesus E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

well, we arrived Friday afternoon and w left Sunday, we have changed the room for 3 times;
first, our room was in the 6th floor ( the last floor) we couldn t sleep with the noise of the air conditional it was very strong:((
second, we change the room but we stay in the same floor, unfortunately we could stay in this room because of the bad smell, it was very bad, i think there is a problem of humidity or some thing like this,
finally, the last room was in the third floor, and it was dirty, the bed was horrible, and a lot of noise.
we liked only the view, the location and the staff.
the buffet was so poor.
the swiming pool was so dirty

Room Tip: i ll never come back to this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank soolfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The staff at The Palms are the most pleasant and helpfull people you could ever meet anywhere. This Hotel has the largest lobby of any Hotel that I can think of at this time. In this open air lobby is situated a coffee bar with the most pleasant and friendly lady by the name of Rosy. She is more than willing to help you with your Spanish and in return she learns English.
The grounds are exquisite, with a large frontage on the ocean.
At the Oasis resteraunt they serve one of the best rib-eye stakes in Maz. along with a suffed potatoe or fries whichever you prefer.
Our maid kept our room clean and tidy. For us our bed was perfect, we slept like logs, which is not to say that someone may find the bed to hard or to soft, which is a personal preference.
Our stay for the last ten years has always been a pleasant one.
George W. (not Busch)

Room Tip: Ocean View rooms overlooking the grounds and pool areas
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank George W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Maine
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

$80 bought a 4th floor ocean front room with a balcony. Plenty of hot water and pressure made for a great shower. Good internet service, friendly staff. The manager met us when we arrived. The staff are always cleaning and working on the grounds.
Sadly, Mazatlan has had a drop in tourism - this resort was much less busy than when we were here 6 years ago.
There's a nice pool, swim up bar, laundry, coffee makers in the rooms. I'll come back again and stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winnipeg
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

My wife and I (both seniors) have just had another wonderful month's vacation at The Palms Resort (previously Holiday Inn Sunspree). We've been going to Mazatlan for 25 years to escape our Winnipeg (Canada) winters and discovered this hotel 10 years ago. We wouldn't stay anywhere else now! Our children and grandchildren have vacationed with us also at this hotel and they all love it. Something to do for every age. The location is great, no noise, the hotel is always quiet after dinner, pools and grounds are immaculately maintained, the beach is good, sunsets are magnificent, staff are friendly and guaranteed you'll never regret staying here. One criticism - the beds are hard. The breakfast and lunch menus are very good but the dinner menu is, let's say, adequate but the hotel is trying to improve on this point. Rates are very good so splash out a little more and get an ocean view room.

Barry Hadfield and family
Winnipeg, Manitoba

Room Tip: Room rates are very affordable so splash out and get an ocean view room. You'll never regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank barrington h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
0.4 mi away
The Inn at Mazatlan
The Inn at Mazatlan
#7 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.5 of 5 stars 576 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
#3 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.5 of 5 stars 1,519 reviews
3.9 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Oceano Palace
Oceano Palace
#63 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 stars 825 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn Mazatlan
Quality Inn Mazatlan
#32 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 stars 44 reviews
0.5 mi away
Costa de Oro Beach Hotel
Costa de Oro Beach Hotel
#24 of 80 in Mazatlan
3.5 of 5 stars 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palms Resort Of Mazatlan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms Resort Of Mazatlan

Property: The Palms Resort Of Mazatlan
Address: Camaron Sabalo No. 696 | Zona Dorada, Mazatlan 82100, Mexico (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Mazatlan
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Mazatlan
#13 Romantic Hotel in Mazatlan
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Palms Resort Of Mazatlan 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palms Resort of Mazatlan is located on the beautiful beaches of Mazatlan, in front of the three islands in the golden zone, and it posses a Mexican architecture with elements of Mexico.Location is the most important for a great vacation. Our guest love our location on the beach, the gardens, the infinite pool, pool bar, and comfortable rooms that invite you to relax.The perfect vacation at Mazatlan starts with a sun set, pacific tropical breeze and beaches with warm and crystal clear water. Rest in your personal oasis of comfort after a sunny day of recreation.All our rooms offer all the comfort that our guest need, with beds incredible comfortable.Enjoy our delicious gastronomic variety and cocktails in our restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your The Palms Resort Of Mazatlan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sunspree Mazatlan Hotel Mazatlan
Holiday Inn Mazatlan
Mazatlan Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing