We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“budget option at a great location!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Azteca Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Azteca Inn
Ranked #19 of 80 Hotels in Mazatlan
albuquerque
Level Contributor
178 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“budget option at a great location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

Azteca Inn is a low budget option but in a great location. The beach is across the street through a different hotel (if you do not use their lounge furniture they do not mind you to just pass through) The ocean had wave action most of the time, but only once it was scary to go deeper than waist high. The beds were hard as all the previous reviews mention, but we did not mind that too much. The rooms had enough space and furniture for a longer stay, but we wished they had a mini refrigerator (there is space for it). The shower is good size and the showerhead was a good one; however, if two people tried to use the bathroom at once, it was very tight. Maid was good about cleaning all the sand out and they change sheets every night (unless the regular maid had a day off). Decent towels and shampoo, but no tea/coffeemaker. AC unit worked great and we only used low setting; windows can open too, and there is a ceiling fan. The TV is an oldie, so the picture quality is bad (I’m used to flat screen HD quality), but we only turned it on once to check the weather. There is a “business center” with internet access, but I had problems almost every time I tried to use internet. For some reason, I thought that they had a laundry machine for guests, but no (we found a Laundromat about 3 bus stops away). By the way, the bus system is great! All the bus stops are at the parallel main street “Camaron”; about 3 stops to the supermarket MEGA and a nice ocean view ride to the old town city center (less than 20 min). The only complaint we had is with other guests: for some reason some locals think that it is ok to run around, yell or sing at 3 in the morning. But according to my research noise complains happen at all the hotels; we figured it was a cultural thing. We did complain to the reception a few times, so it least they can close the pool and hopefully that makes folks ether go to their room or go party somewhere else. No elevator, only stairs; filtered water jar for guests at each floor
Restaurants: the one at hotel was ok (the one time we ate there). Our best option was a chain Panama: very low prices, variety of dishes, always a place available, and fresh ingredients (about 2 blocks away). We also tried an Italian Place across Ramada (overpriced and have no idea what Italian should be like) and American bar next door (barbeque ribs were bad but the fish of the day was tasty, the décor and service were nice)
Shopping: absolutely loved Michaels Gallery (1.5 bls away) – artesian pieces rather than cheap “made in china” quality at very low (by American) standards. Seashell city has no AC, so I couldn’t stay inside to check all their displays; bunch of small stalls around at least get breezes. Maya store isn’t worth waiting for them to open, but can be a nice photo op (since it looks like Chichinitza ruins from outside)

Room Tip: first floor near pool can get noisy, but there is no elevator to 2nd or 3d floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank princess_on_the_road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    63
    13
    10
    10
See reviews for
37
32
17
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
178 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2012

This is a simple cheap motel type inn. It is located close to the beach and in walking distance of most of the gold zone of Mazatlan. It was clean and just adequate. I wouldn't go back, there are too many other choices.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chriss z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage la Prairie, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

We stayed in April 2011. It was a place to sleep. No access to the beach except thru the hotel across the street. They say you can use the chairs at that hotel but they kicked us off and we had to rent a beach umberella for 9 dollars a day. The front desk staff were very friendly and the room was clean. Mazatlan is a large city with a few iinteresting places to go. It wasnt that warm. The waves there are incredible with some fantastic boogie boarding. One thing about mazatlan was that I thougth the food would be less expensive as this hotel is not all inclusive. In the end I think our holiday cost more than it would have going AI. Lots of police patroling the beach and armed military as well in groups of 20 or 30 patroling the beach. I would neither go back to the Azteca or back to Mazatlan it just wasnt much of a holiday atmosphere.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jibber_johnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

If you want an affordable stay in a well kept hotel one block from the beach in the Golden Zone, this is the pick for you. The beds were a tad firm, but the rooms were always cleaned very well. TV's are a little small, and there is no fridge or microwave. We stayed for eleven days and enjoyed the pool (tad chilly at times - don't even bother with the hot tub which is not at all hot) and delicious food in the restaurant, which was also used by the locals (a good sign!). Staff was friendly, though helpfulness of the front staff varied from employee to employee. Its location in the Golden Zone meant numerous shops and restaurants were in walking distance. We will be using this hotel again for a trip in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms along the back edge (bordering the pool) also border a road on the other side which can get qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sorajen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

Stayed 3 nights at this small but comfortable hotel in the Golden Zone. Clean, comfortable, very reasonable price. Right in the heart of the Golden Zone so you can walk to all sorts of small shops and places to eat.

This is not a 5 star hotel, but you can't beat it for being convenient and clean. Will certainly stay here in the future.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maz_friendtoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2011

We were there for five days and had a wonderfull time, the hotel is very clean and well kept

everybody was friendly like martha, our room maid, they have a small sportsbar, and the food at the restaurant is delicious, also is very well located across from the beach

we will be back

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank danizatarain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City, AZ
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2011

This is the 4th time to stay here on a car trip to Guadalajara. Very easy to find, friendly staff, and clean comfortable rooms. Many fine restaurants in the area and the beach is directly across the street. Would recommend this motel to all travelers on a budget.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hgrman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
#4 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,595 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel la Siesta
Hotel la Siesta
#18 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Mazatlan
Quality Inn Mazatlan
#29 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Oceano Palace
Oceano Palace
#63 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Inn at Mazatlan
The Inn at Mazatlan
#7 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
0.6 mi away
Costa de Oro Beach Hotel
Costa de Oro Beach Hotel
#24 of 80 in Mazatlan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azteca Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azteca Inn

Property: Azteca Inn
Address: Avenida Playa Gaviotas 307 | Zona Dorada, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Azteca Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cancelon and Hotels.com so you can book your Azteca Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azteca Hotel Mazatlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing