We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good location, but...........” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Azteca Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Azteca Inn
Ranked #20 of 80 Hotels in Mazatlan
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
170 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Good location, but...........”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

This is a simple cheap motel type inn. It is located close to the beach and in walking distance of most of the gold zone of Mazatlan. It was clean and just adequate. I wouldn't go back, there are too many other choices.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chriss z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    62
    12
    10
    10
See reviews for
36
31
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portage la Prairie, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

We stayed in April 2011. It was a place to sleep. No access to the beach except thru the hotel across the street. They say you can use the chairs at that hotel but they kicked us off and we had to rent a beach umberella for 9 dollars a day. The front desk staff were very friendly and the room was clean. Mazatlan is a large city with a few iinteresting places to go. It wasnt that warm. The waves there are incredible with some fantastic boogie boarding. One thing about mazatlan was that I thougth the food would be less expensive as this hotel is not all inclusive. In the end I think our holiday cost more than it would have going AI. Lots of police patroling the beach and armed military as well in groups of 20 or 30 patroling the beach. I would neither go back to the Azteca or back to Mazatlan it just wasnt much of a holiday atmosphere.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jibber_johnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

If you want an affordable stay in a well kept hotel one block from the beach in the Golden Zone, this is the pick for you. The beds were a tad firm, but the rooms were always cleaned very well. TV's are a little small, and there is no fridge or microwave. We stayed for eleven days and enjoyed the pool (tad chilly at times - don't even bother with the hot tub which is not at all hot) and delicious food in the restaurant, which was also used by the locals (a good sign!). Staff was friendly, though helpfulness of the front staff varied from employee to employee. Its location in the Golden Zone meant numerous shops and restaurants were in walking distance. We will be using this hotel again for a trip in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms along the back edge (bordering the pool) also border a road on the other side which can get qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sorajen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

Stayed 3 nights at this small but comfortable hotel in the Golden Zone. Clean, comfortable, very reasonable price. Right in the heart of the Golden Zone so you can walk to all sorts of small shops and places to eat.

This is not a 5 star hotel, but you can't beat it for being convenient and clean. Will certainly stay here in the future.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maz_friendtoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

We were there for five days and had a wonderfull time, the hotel is very clean and well kept

everybody was friendly like martha, our room maid, they have a small sportsbar, and the food at the restaurant is delicious, also is very well located across from the beach

we will be back

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank danizatarain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City, AZ
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

This is the 4th time to stay here on a car trip to Guadalajara. Very easy to find, friendly staff, and clean comfortable rooms. Many fine restaurants in the area and the beach is directly across the street. Would recommend this motel to all travelers on a budget.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hgrman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

Good location at the end of the tourist zone if you're wanting to tour the city and spend time outside of the Golden Zone. Beach is easily accessed across the street at Playa Mazatlan. Pool and hot tub are decent as is restaurant. Staff are wonderful and friendly. No frills but a great place to stay if you're not planning to spend much time lounging around your hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AngLanePhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
#3 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.5 of 5 stars 1,519 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel la Siesta
Hotel la Siesta
#19 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 stars 226 reviews
1.6 mi away
Oceano Palace
Oceano Palace
#63 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 stars 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Inn at Mazatlan
The Inn at Mazatlan
#7 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.5 of 5 stars 576 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Mazatlan
Quality Inn Mazatlan
#32 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 stars 44 reviews
1.4 mi away
Olas Altas Inn
Olas Altas Inn
#37 of 80 in Mazatlan
3.5 of 5 stars 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azteca Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azteca Inn

Property: Azteca Inn
Address: Avenida Playa Gaviotas 307 | Zona Dorada, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Azteca Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Azteca Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azteca Hotel Mazatlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing