We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Fun, safe place for family!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Torres Mazatlan Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Torres Mazatlan Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Minnesota
Level Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fun, safe place for family!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We just returned from a week with our three young (ages 5-10) grandchildren at Torres Mazatlan. This resort is amazing. The staff goes above and beyond to make your stay happy. The grounds are very clean.
Most importantly...................We don't know why people are afraid to go to Mazatlan. We never felt in the least bit unsafe. We were never out by ourselves late at night, but we wouldnt do that anywhere. I am so sorry that Mazatlan is getting this bum rap. We would go again and again and take our grandchildren and never worry about it. If you are afraid of Mazatlan..............then this resort is for you. It is gated and the only people you encounter is the staff and other guests. Do yourself a favor.............go to Mexico!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank CAC53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    89
    26
    8
    2
See reviews for
80
85
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

My husband and I went for are 21st anniversary.We loved it!!! Everyone was very nice we met a lot of people that we can call friends.We felt completely safe and next time we will bring are children.The restaurant and bar were fantastic.I truly have nothing to complain about the trip at all.My biggest tip would be to find a driver (plumonia) SP?That will take you around to site see.We had the same guy everyday cause we liked him and he took us to all the local places cause Im not into tourist stuff.Also a must see is The cathedral the only tourist place we went too it was breathtaking.

Room Tip: We were on the bottom floor I'm not sure what tower it was but It was but we were happy.Id love...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
364 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

we spent 5 days/4 nights at this resort, on the 4th floor in tower D, and it was wonderful..the staff was especially friendly, the buildings and grounds clean, and the area beautiful...we had a one bedroom, but chose to sleep on the pull down murphy bed which was fine...then we could listen to the waves with the sliding doors open all night...all tiled and spacious...the double pool was nice and warm with a slide, and an occasional volleyball net...a jacuzzi nestled in the foliage is relaxing...the plants are gorgeous, and there are many activities everyday....the 2/day happy hr, one evening had a thank-you evening with free tecate, margaritas, and dacquires, aling with a mariachi band....the la palapa restaurant had some fine fresh seafood...we ate there everyday...one day we bought fresh shrimp from a man right on the beach in front, and made a huge salad....the hospitality is amazing and both guests and staff very friendly...we walked down the beach many times, and to the marina...it's easy to take a bus or taxi to old town or the seawall....we loved it here!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Teresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Six of us came to Torres Mazatlan upon the reprsentations that our rooms would have WiFi...we could take a week away only if we could stay in touch once or twice a day. But no wifi in the rooms. Extremely weak signal, with frequent drops. After trying different areas like the balcony, standing by windows, standing outside our room, we could not get a decent signal or stay connected. Finally, literally sat outside the general managers office and we could get this signal..two bars, but more consistent. It is a shame management would advertise WiFi in the rooms when there really is not. We would have chosen another place to stay.

Grounds are nice, staff is friendly and you can drink the water. But if Wifi is important to you, you should look elsewhere.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Tweester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
137 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

My wife and I spent Valentine's Week at Torres. What a change from the February weather at home in Oregon! We loved seeing the iguanas around the pool basking in the sunshine -- we did some basking of our own.

Their La Palapa restaurant served some delicious food at a pretty good value for being right on the beach. I'm a vegetarian and even with that limit, I had lots of variety of food; my wife and our friends enjoyed a wider variety of their food. We enjoyed the musical entertainers, including Mundo Sanchez, Sergio Avila, and Rafael Rodriquez. [We bought a CD from each of these performers]. Our friends ordered an Irish Coffee one evening. The preparation of the drink was entertainment of its own -- liquid fire! My wife particularly enjoyed their fruit/yogurt/granola parfait, having that two different times in the course of the week.

We had a fourth story room and could see the beach and the pool from our balcony. The staff was very friendly. I got to the point of saying Hola! to almost everybody! :-)

The only ding that I'd give the resort is that the bed sheets weren't quite the right size for the mattress, so they'd slip off.

Joy and I are already looking forward to another trip south of the border!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rickh57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JABoughton, Director Inventory Management at Torres Mazatlan Resort, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and review. Our La Palapa Restaurant is a gem we are very proud of. We hope to have you stay with us again soon..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Washington
Level Contributor
74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Relaxing, extremely friendly, clean - but with a few bugs... this is the tropics.

As a general statement they try to get to know you by face / name. Your picture is taken when you get there and is placed in the employees meeting area. It make you feel good when they tend to know who you are.

I agree with some of the reviews - the beds are on the harder side; but then I'm sure the same complaint would be seen if they were too soft, no they don't have sleep-number beds.

The restaurant and waiters are great - they cooked some shrimp someone gave us for free plus they threw in chips/salsa.

Sitting under the palapas watching the waves is so very relaxing - gives you time to think...or not. We are already planning another trip.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Williejim07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Had such a wonderful time there this past summer with family that I decided to get away for a week in December (Dec. 15-22). Less crowded, but still the same friendly staff and clean rooms and grounds! Met by Gabby and Betty after checking in to be sure all was in order and room, etc., were OK. I had a one bedrm. in Bldg "D" on the second floor with a nice view of the pool and ocean. Room was very clean and everything worked well.
The Palapa bar/restaurant were again very good with the food and drinks (two happy hours per day) very good. Since my last visit they have corrected the one inch of added wine to the glass by giving a FULL glass of wine during happy hour, very nice to see they pay attention to guest's comments! Richard and Juan were very gracious and helpful especially.
I did go to Playa Bruja several times and took the bus - very easy and did walk back several times - still good food and prices, but 24 hr. happy hour is no longer done. Tried a new, small restaurant called El Rancho just a 3 minute walk from Torres. Is on the 2nd floor overlooking the beach - good food and moderate prices.
several guests that were there last summer were also back again and was nice to see and visit with them.
This resort allows beach vendors on their property and they are so nice and not pushy at all. The fresh fish, shrimp and fruit are my favorites.
I'm already hoping for good health and the opportunity to visit again!

Room Tip: Third floor or higher gives a better view over the trees and Bldg. A is right on the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Funlv1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
2.0 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay
2.4 mi away
The Inn at Mazatlan
The Inn at Mazatlan
#7 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.5 of 5 stars 576 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
#9 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.5 of 5 stars 1,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
#3 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.5 of 5 stars 1,519 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Royal Mazatlan
Park Royal Mazatlan
#41 of 80 in Mazatlan
3.5 of 5 stars 308 reviews
1.6 mi away
El Cid Marina Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torres Mazatlan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torres Mazatlan Resort

Property: Torres Mazatlan Resort
Address: Av. Sabalto Cerritos Esq. Lopez Portillo, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 44 Specialty Lodging in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Torres Mazatlan Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Torres Mazatlan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torres Mazatlan Hotel Mazatlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing