We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel I've ever stayed at”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Sands Las Arenas
Ranked #52 of 78 Hotels in Mazatlan
Burnaby, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best hotel I've ever stayed at”
Reviewed March 6, 2012

My family and I have been visiting mazatlan almost ever year since 1999 and we have always stayed at this hotel. the staff is so warm and welcoming and we have become friends with many of them as well as the other guests there. We have made friends with so many wonder people from all over the world. We could stay at other places but we would truly miss the friendships you make there. The hotel is locateded in a perfect location between old town and the gold zone but is a bit closer to the gold zone. The beach is located right across the road and because it is not right in the gold zone you don't have as many venders bothering you. My uncle and my fathers ashes were both spread in the ocean here and the hotel was so supportive and helped us so much as well as many of the staff members came with us on the boat to spread my fathers ashes as well as helped us by booking the boat for us.

You can view the video at http://gomazatlan.com/Mexico/Mazatlan/Media-Center/Video-Gallery.html#inicia_video and click the link Dave Freemantle in Mazatlan forever.

It was a wonderful day thanks to the love and support from our wonderful friends

Room Tip: I would say main floor but if you want a nice view then higher floor would be good for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JeniferFreemantle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    17
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
19
6
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
oregon
Level 4 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2007

My family and I stayed at this hotel for 5 days as we were having a sort of family reunion vacation. We had 3 rooms total and the staff were very friendly. The rooms were very clean and the pool was great, I couldn't keep the kids out of it. Nice patio area by the pool to just relax. Right across the street from the Ocean and not noisy like at the golden zone. I would highly recommed this place to anyone traveling on a budget.

  • Liked — cleanliness and easy access and parking
  • Disliked — AC not working properly but did not need it cause we had the ocean breeze
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bjaime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 315 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2006

Comfortable hotel along the main drag. Good sized pool which the million kids used at all times. The decent A/C sure was a relief from the horrible sun, heat, and humidity during my stay. My room had a balcony--like most that have a view of the ocean. 800 pesos per night was a little steeper than other hotels in the near vicinity. Green Sabalo bus goes to the area where the night action takes place & also where I went parasailing (at my own risk) and later borrowed the life jacket to go into the strong currents of the ocean. The restaurant connected to the hotel's lobby had good breakfasts, "OK" lunches & dinners. Next time I go to Mazatlan (which WON'T be in or near July), I'll look for a cheaper alternative to this pricey but comfortable hotel.

  • Liked — Very easy to reserve room via the hotel's website & email communication
  • Disliked — Too pricey, pool wasn't the most cleanest/inviting place to cool off
  • Tips/Secrets — July's heat & humidity were near unbearable!!
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank funnychap24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2005

my family ie my brother and i love the sands and wontstay anywhere else my brother passed away a few years ago and wanted his ashes spread there. the hotel was great to my family then and till present.welove it there.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank maha2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 21, 2005

This quaint hotel is nothing fancy. Friendly staff, clean rooms and a pool that's cleaned daily is what has brought us to this hotel time and time again. Great ocean views and within walking distance of Senor Frogs (you can get wasted and not have to worry about driving), the aquarium and the Plaza Ley supermarket. We have been staying at Sands Hotel for the past 20 years and will keep staying there. The restaurant has had several owners some good and some bad. However this is a nice hotel for the money.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel la Siesta
Hotel la Siesta
#17 of 78 in Mazatlan
251 reviews
0.6 mi away
Olas Altas Inn
Olas Altas Inn
#40 of 78 in Mazatlan
99 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aguamarina Hotel
Aguamarina Hotel
#42 of 78 in Mazatlan
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Azteca Inn
Azteca Inn
#20 of 78 in Mazatlan
150 reviews
0.9 mi away
Don Pelayo Pacific Beach Hotel Mazatlan
3.6 mi away
No photo provided
Blue Pacific Suites
#69 of 78 in Mazatlan
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sands Las Arenas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sands Las Arenas

Property: Hotel Sands Las Arenas
Address: Avenida Del Mar 1910, Mazatlan 82010, Mexico (Formerly Sands Mazatlan Las Arenas)
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 78 Hotels in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sands Las Arenas 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Sands Las Arenas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Hotel Mazatlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing