We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Emporio Mazatlan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Emporio Mazatlan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Emporio Mazatlan
Ranked #10 of 80 Hotels in Mazatlan
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
San Diego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Emporio Mazatlan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

Just got back from a trip to Mazatlan to plan our wedding for June 2012. We have stayed at the Emporio last year and it just keeps getting better. They finished the construction on a new banquet room and gym. The restaurant is better than we remembered it. The quality of the food was amazing. Location wise we could not have asked for a better spot-the view and convenience to shops & the clubs.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spicegirlmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Revenue M, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Emporio Mazatlan, responded to this review, March 16, 2012
All the Staff appreciate all your comments and we are very happy to know you enjoy your time with us,

we hope to see you again soon as our guest,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    179
    96
    41
    31
See reviews for
181
105
7
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

The rooms are very dirty, had BLOOD SPLATTERS on the bathroom wall, also had MILDEW on the bedroom courtains, it was a very DISGUSTING experience!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Patrush83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Revenue M, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Emporio Mazatlan, responded to this review, March 16, 2012
Our commitment is to serve all our guests and provide the most satisfying accomodations for you to enjoy your trip.

We already fixed details on the rooms mentioned and we really desire you come back and give us another chance.

On behalf of the hotel staff receive a warm greeting.

We hope you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spruce Grove, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for a week, i won a bikini competition and this hotel was the upgraded all inclusive hotel that came with the package. Food and drinks were all inclusive. The first few days we had a strange smell in our room and there was a dead cucarocha in under the sink. Its right on the beach near some nice tide pools. Its located near the end of the gold zone which is the main tourist area. its just a short walk to anything you could want. The food was very goo and the buffet even was good. Dont expect a million options. We had fresh fruit for breakfast and juice and coffee. No complaints, When we asked for a different room we were moved immediately and accomadated nicely, the staff were friendky and helpful. the Hot tub was usually too full tho..

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jackdanielsjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mazatlan_revenue, General Manager at Emporio Mazatlan, responded to this review, March 16, 2011
Thank you very much for your comments about Emporio. we apologize for the inconveniences in your room during your stay wiht us..and let me tell you we offering now a different kind of buffet with more options for you and a renovated Restaurant where you can enjoy a delicious breakfast, lunch and dinner buffet..

Thank you again we really apreciate your comments and we hope to see you soon as our guest.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2010

On my last trip to Mexico, I picked the Emporio Mazatlan based on one thing- it was the lowest price hotel that I could book through expedia at the time. I was expecting a mexican 3 star hotel, and I found it to be much more. The hotel looked a little rough from the outside as my airport shuttle dropped me off, but this was because they were nearing the end of a very big renovation. The rooms, however, were fabulous, if a bit on the small side. There was ample room for me as a single traveller, but I could see how it could be a bit cramped for two. Everything else about the room was excellent. The bed was as comfortable and the bed linens were as luxurious as at the Delta hotels. The hotel has an interesting layout, and a small elevator. However, the staircases were actually ramps that were very accessible. I had purchased the European plan.The meals from the restaurant were reasonably priced, and all the products that were used were very fresh. The bar was closed for renovation, but drinks were served at the restaurant. I didnt find it noisy at all, but my room did not face the street. The staff were all very friendly, there was no one pushing timeshares, and it had great access to the beach. When the renos are finished, this will be an excellent destination. All in all, a very good experience, and I will definitely be staying at the Emporio on my next trip to Mazatlan.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kevin_calvert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmporioMazatlan, Director General at Emporio Mazatlan, responded to this review, August 9, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to comment about your recent stay with us. We greatly appreciate your comment,

We appreciate that you are sharing your experience in Emporio Mazatlan and we hope to see you again.

Than you for you preference,

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chihuahua
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2009

The rooms are fine and all the personnel is very kind. On the other hand its noisy they are constructing all around (it's easy to get a pneumatic hammer pounding at the other side of the window) There was just a small pool available and the parking lot is also very small. The internet is hard to get, no wireless, at the business center only, not available at night and sometimes neather at day.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fernando075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mazatlan_revenue, General Manager at Emporio Mazatlan, responded to this review, January 7, 2011
Dear Fernando,

Thank you for the time to sharing your comments about Emporio, All the personal in Emporio Want to apologize about all the inconveniences in your stay with us, Let me share with you that we have a New Installations, Al the rooms were totally renovated and now we have the 2 pools available and Now we have a New business Center with new equipment and high speed internet.

I hope you give us the opportunity to have you as our guest again.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Arrowhead, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2009

Four days of tranquility, good service, friendly staff, and an overall attitude of accomodation and safety for all us scared visitors who venture to Mazatlan! This hotel is secure! The staff amazingly watchful, caring and sincere. The hotel mgr, Eduardo, makes his guests' needs a priority. From the housekeeper to the front desk to the concierge to the restaurant to the valet to the taxi driver - I never once felt apprehensive. I am a 61 year old single lady who traveled alone. Toured all of Mazatlan (almost always on the "Pulmonia" mobile which is a kick), a financially stable and growing Mexican city that impressed me enough to consider retirement there. Absolutely fabulous seafood for a song! Gone are the pathetic stray dogs, mosquitos, time-share hounds, beggars, and sewer smells. It's not yet overrun with Americans and still is true to its Mexican culture and richness. The coastline is only dotted with high rise hotels. Tipping is actually appreciated. No rip-offs. Spring-breakers few (thanks for the warning US gov) so it was enjoyable all around. Mexican employees still sing to themselves as they work in Mexico which is enough to get me to move there. Three more days was needed!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank brackenfernmanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmporioMazatlan, General Director at Emporio Mazatlan, responded to this review, April 15, 2010
All the staff in Emporio Mazatlan can to thank you for all your comments, we are working everyday to be better and can offer you a hotel renovated where you will can enjoy with your family and friends,

We hope to see soon in Emporio Mazatlan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mpls MN
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2009

A friend and i visited Mazatlan for the first time for a week Jan 31-Feb 7, 2009. I have been to Mexico many times, but enjoyed this first visit to the city. :et me first say that I have read many many of the other reviews about this hotel prior to my stay and i did take the advise of others with regards to earplugs (but as a side note the night club, during non-spring break weeks, is only open friday and saturday nights. So you will need your earplugs those nights, but no others). So here is a lowdown of the good and bad of the Emporio as well as Mazatlan.
The good: The Emporio was excpetional, the staff was outstanding at all times and very friendly. only a few spoke english, so please be patient, they are very nice and genuine people (I have an advantage of speaking spanish so that works in my favor). The pools were very nice, but rarely used as they are not heated and very cold in the "winter" months. the hot tub was great and acutally hot! I did not eat at the hotel, but spoke with several guests who ate their every morning and loved it! The rooms were very clean and done so in a very quick manner. I always left some candies and a few singles for the maids. The beach was great and the security did an amazing job of ensuring that the local kids/teens did not disturb the guests or sit in the "hotel guests' chairs. We ventured off every morning for a stroll along the Malecon, and it was beautiful! Check it out, and the view is free! We ate breakfast about two blocks away at a quaint place called Playa Bonita (across the street from the Ramada), the waiter, jorge, was always welcoming and waiting for us. the food was perfect (taste and price ($4.50 for breakfast including juice and coffee). i would highly recommend checking it out! it is only open for breakfast. We also ate at Tony's on the beach, near the Marina, several times. The portions are very large and the food was excellent and priced very resonably (under $10 for a dinner/per person). Also, there are fruit vendors on the beach i would highly recommend this for an afternoon snack. the best fruit we bought was from a gentleman wearing a red baseball cap (I never caught his name).
The bad: While at the Emporio the warm water was hit or miss for showers, especially in the afternoon. But that is the only complaint I have about the property.

Mazatlan itself is a beautiful city, if you keep and open mind and don't mind a little trash or exhaust/dust. The people as wonderful and embrace tourists. i had a very lenghtly conversation with a beach vendor and he indicated that tourism is down, painfully low. It is about 40% less than what it was one year ago (this was very vivid when looking down the beach at 3pm and only a few people were walking the sand) although it is not advertised as such. So please, shop with the vendors and if you have a little extra money spend with them, you will find a much better deal than you would in a store! By doing this you are supporting another economy and someones family at the same time.

  • Liked — The staff and the view
  • Disliked — Inconsistent shower-water temps.
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank pnutsmommyMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmporioMazatlan, General Director at Emporio Mazatlan, responded to this review, April 14, 2010
We appreciate all your comments. We are really satisfied that your stay we us was great, we hope to have you again as our guest soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
5.3 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay
0.3 mi away
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
#3 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.5 of 5 stars 1,495 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Inn at Mazatlan
The Inn at Mazatlan
#6 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.5 of 5 stars 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Oceano Palace
Oceano Palace
#63 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 stars 817 reviews
2.1 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
#9 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.5 of 5 stars 1,330 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Resort Mazatlan
Ramada Resort Mazatlan
#27 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 stars 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emporio Mazatlan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emporio Mazatlan

Property: Emporio Mazatlan
Address: Avenida Camaron Sabalo No. 51 | Zona Dorada, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Mazatlan
#7 Best Value Hotel in Mazatlan
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Emporio Mazatlan 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With architecture in the contemporary style, the hotel offers a stunning view of the Pacific Ocean and the ideal atmosphere for enjoying a relaxing break in its refurbished facilities. You can also enjoy a wide variety of gastronomic delights, in particular our seafood specialties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Emporio Mazatlan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emporio Mazatlan Hotel Mazatlan
Emporio Hotel Mazatlan
Emporio Resort Mazatlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing