We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Overall Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Las Flores Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Las Flores Beach Resort
Ranked #28 of 80 Hotels in Mazatlan
Grand Rapids
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Overall Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Clean rooms, nice beach. Housekeeping was fantastic! Beautiful ocean view.
Safe streets. Decent weather. Cooler at night. Had fun. Would go again.
Had trouble finding a money exchange and they are only open for exchange from 9 till 2.
We were traveling with a Visa travel card.

Room Tip: Pick ocean view. Beautiful sunsets. Get a kitchenette so you can cook if you want. Kitchen had ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pepsiface1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    81
    49
    37
    18
See reviews for
69
85
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Last day beachside at Las Flores, and the hotel is very much as expected. Except for some renovated rooms (big upgrade charge), the hotel is charming, dated, and clean. Never saw a bug, though that cannot be guaranteed in the tropics. Had an oceanfront studio kitchenette, large (350ft2), right overlooking the lovely beach, constant sound of waves, 2 double beds, hard but fine. Did take tip from reviews, and brought my own pillow! Though supplied pillows were ok. All kitchen and bath facilities were just fine! It is a modest Mexican resort, the age shows. But I was very happy here. Very solidly built back in the day, minimizing noise from adjacent suites All the staff were very professional and helpful. I chose the location over Oceano Palace as closer to historic zone, and more restos. An abundant selection. Panchos next door the best, but many other good ones very close by. I recommend this resort highly for decent, budget accomodations

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chillaxToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D'Iberville, Mississippi
Level Contributor
106 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I chose the Las Flores because of location in the Golden Zone. From the outside it looks ok and seems to be kept quite well. The staff is friendly and accommodating. The room was fairly clean but the tile on the walls was shabby at best and the dresser for clothes barely worked and was no less than 30 years old and small. The bathroom shower was tile and no tub. It had old jealousy windows and you just didn't feel like it was clean. The television only had spanish channels so unless you had the internet you had no news or information available to you. They have two lovely pools but both are not heated so they are to cold to get in. The hot tub is ok I guess if you can use it because it is always filled with little kids. The room is far from sunny and airy, you need the lights on to make it feel bright. I could deal with the place if the pools were heated and you could watch tv at night. The beds are harder than sleeping on a park bench. Believe me I am not picky and always looking for value. I only ask for bed that is halfway comfortable, tv with english speaking channels and warm water in the pool. Teh beds consist of a matterss on a slav of concrete with no box spring. I love Mazatlan but if Las Flores expects return customers they need to seriously look at what they have to offer. There are way to many better places for $10 more per night. I am pretty darn honest with my reviews and I am not stretching this review in anyway. I always read the negative reviews 1st and I had a feeling I may be disappointed. This place makes Motel 6 look like the Hilton

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NormS579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mazatlan hotels

Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
110 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Sure, there's a "spa" and a "pool", but temper your expectations. This is a decent hotel, with a bar and kitchen that you'll dine at once, and has two pools, one of which is perpetually in the shade, and hundreds of kids flocking about thanks to the very good deals... but is still a nice place nonetheless. Our beds were definitely Mexican (I live here) - rock-hard with a wisp of a pillow. Everything was clean. No heating/AC, so keep that in mind - but the nights were cool and days were warm, so we never had problems. The restaurant was fine. Breakfast was good, and we once ordered the $299 peso shrimp/beer combo they advertise - a great deal if you don't mind peeling your own shrimp. Anyway, good for the price considering the rest of the options in the area. But if you're looking for a resort to US standards, try the Pueblo Bonito. Or, if you're looking for something centrally located and off the tourist path, try Old Mazatlan downtown, which is much more quaint and has great food.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimTran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youbou, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

fantastic ocean view kitchenette, just as I booked. what a view...WOW! Older hotel but full of character in the ceiling of our room (all the brickwork!!!) This resort was within walking distance of the Camaron Sabalo (main drag in the Golden Zone IE: the tourist zone...tons of vendors) We ate elsewhere so cannot review the bar/lounge or the restaurant areas. However, the live music on Friday & Saturday was great .......so typical of Mazatlan!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed on the top floor, fantastic view from our balcony! Older hotel, but had everything we needed, full kitchenette, on the beach, close to shops... Nice, helpful staff. Great price. We'll stay at Las Flores again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michele D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Stayed at Las Flores in March. The hotel is older (but is well kept and clean). So, expect the hotel to be of the era it was designed and built. We had an ocean front kitchenette -great view of the ocean and the beach. The staff were all great and accommodating. The food at the hotel restaurant was average -nothing spectacular. But, the food served around town was pretty darn good. Previously I was reluctant to eat Mexican steak, but had the best t-bone ever in a local eatery.

First time to Mazatlan for my wife and I despite the rumors of violence (between cartels). There is a large patrolling military presence in the way of what I understood to be marine convoys. Or, troops of soldiers riding shotgun on the backs of military trucks and vehicles. At first this was a little alarming as it makes you wonder if there's something about to go down. You get used to it and appreciate what is going on and that these people are doing a good job. In Canada and USA there is plenty of crime that is not selective. That is, in Mexico, the crime is mostly (not always) between the cartels. Unfortunately, sometime innocent people get caught in the crossfire. This happens in Canada and USA too. Worse though, is that in Canada or USA it's often some lunatic that decides to open up on a crowd of innocents. Enough about the violence.

We thoroughly enjoyed Mazatlan. It is a wonderful city. The malecon is second to none for it's fantastic expanse. It bridges a distance all the way from the Golden Zone to El Centro capturing a beautiful view of the seascape. The Golden Zone is a great mix of hard working locals. There is everything you would ever need from great food to your basic needs available. For example, in the Golden Zone an embroidered tee-shirt costs you $20.00, you can get the same in El Centro for $5.00.

We befriended a local pulmonia driver and arranged a private tour with him to the surrounding areas. What a fantastic trip! We drove to the colonial town of Concordia where we enjoyed a beverage at the saloon with the locals, and Copala where we enjoyed a tasty meal followed by the best banana-coconut cream pie in the world. Along the way we visited brick, furniture, bread and pastry, and tile makers.

The weather and people of Mazatlan are great. The weather tended to be wonderfully warm during the day and perfectly cool in the evening during this time of year. The people, a little cautious at first, but very friendly once you open up to them.

The four star rating we gave is based on this resort being a budget friendly hotel and that it is clean and well located. Overall a great trip, we look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Las Flores is an older but well kept resort. It is a more-than-reasonable accomodation especially if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BPH33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
0.5 mi away
Costa de Oro Beach Hotel
Costa de Oro Beach Hotel
#24 of 80 in Mazatlan
3.5 of 5 stars 280 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Mazatlan
Ramada Resort Mazatlan
#27 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 stars 245 reviews
1.5 mi away
Oceano Palace
Oceano Palace
#63 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 stars 817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Inn at Mazatlan
The Inn at Mazatlan
#6 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.5 of 5 stars 565 reviews
0.2 mi away
Azteca Inn
Azteca Inn
#20 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 stars 134 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Posada Freeman Zona Dorada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Flores Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Flores Beach Resort

Property: Las Flores Beach Resort
Address: Avenida Playa Gaviotas 212 | Zona Dorada, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 80 Hotels in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Las Flores Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Flores Beach Resort is located directly on the beach in the Heart of Mazatlan's Golden Zone, across from Deer Island. Las Flores Beach Resort is a family hotel on the best beach in Mazatlán! The hotel is 25 minutes from the Mazatlan International Airport (MZT). It has exactly the combination that most people are looking for, a beach location, great prices, beautiful views, experienced staff, and excellent service; The beach is beautiful and quiet and safe for swimming, with palapas and loungers on the beach, Motorized and non motorized water sports are available as well as massages ($) on the beach. There is a family pool with a waterful a and a separate area for the children. and in the other side of the hotel, there is a quiet pool area. The main restaurant, bar, gym sundry shops are at main lobby level. In the Golden Zone you will find night clubs, restaurants, airline offices, banks, cinemas, jewelry stores, handicrafts, all within walking distance from the hotel. The lobby bar " Las Rejas " will DELIGHT you with the most beautiful sunset view as it is located on the beach front. The bar offers happy Hour daily , live music and dancing every night. Enjoy your favorite drinks like a Piña colada, a traditional margarita, or a Pacifico beer from the local brewery. The restaurant Las Rejas is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner, as well room service from 7 am to 9:30pm. The restaurant offers indoor and terrace seating wich is located on the beach front. The hotel offers FREE wi-fi access . Las Flores Beach Resort offers 43 one-bedroom suites with kitchenettes and a terrace with an ocean front view , 61 studios with kitchenettes and a terrace with and ocean view and 15 standard rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotwire, Otel, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Las Flores Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Flores Beach Hotel Mazatlan
Las Flores Beach Mazatlan
Las Flores Mazatlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing