We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nothing fancy, but clean, safe, and budget friendly” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Costa de Oro Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Costa de Oro Beach Hotel
Ranked #24 of 80 Hotels in Mazatlan
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nothing fancy, but clean, safe, and budget friendly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2010

A very nice budget friendly place to stay. Nothing fancy, but clean and safe. We stayed in the basic room, 2 double beds. Beds were a bit on the firm side, but not uncomfortably so. No fridge in the room unfortuantely, and the hot/cold tap in the shower was a bit tricky to to get set just quite right. But they were clean and roomy. Coffee pot available in room. Standard 2 prong plugins available to power your devices. Smaller TV, but passable for the limitted amount you will be watching it. Don't think they have any rooms with queen beds, just 2 doubles everywhere. Our friends had the room with the kitchenette and living room space. A little nicer, and had a fridge and stove. The timeshare lady never bothered us, but I hear she can be pushy.

Free WIFI internet in the lobby/restaurant and by the pool bar (seemed to have decent speed and quality). Only 1 restaurant, almost all ala carte. Decent food. Bar hours were a little short for our liking. What the hotel didn't have in ammenities, the staff made up for with their eagerness to please. The staff was amazing.

Walk outside the door to the rest of the city. Lots of local shops in walking distance, and the mall is a short and cheap ride away. If you book excersions, go with the guy at the desk in the lobby area not the dude circling the pool area.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jfrench1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    108
    62
    30
    17
See reviews for
83
69
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2010

Found the rooms to be very comfortable, and the staff very friendly. Very good location in the Golden Zone. Easy walk to all the little shops.Food at the restaurant was good, but limited selection. However, there are lots of other places to eat in close proximity if you are staying for more than one or two nights.

Yes, just like everywhere else, the pitch for timeshares is a constant annoyance. Just say "No" and keep moving. I found the problem to be much worst outside the hotel where people at little booths continually hawk the timeshare concept.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maz_friendtoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2010

We stayed here 7 nights in January 2009. Under a lot of stress, we were looking for a relaxing time. We didn't get one. The timeshare saleswoman pounced on us as soon as we checked in. She also would call our room and knock on our door. She was relentless. To leave the hotel, we would sneak out through the gift shop to avoid her lurking in the lobby. I'm a mild-mannered Midwesterner but I finally had to raise my voice with her on the telephone to stop the harassment.

Much of Mazatlan was like this, unfortunately. We couldn't walk down the street without timeshare or excursion salespeople hitting us up. To avoid rabid salespeople, we walked on the narrow median in the busy street, inches away from speeding buses, trucks and taxis. Taxis honk constantly at you for rides.

It's too bad because Mazatlan is gorgeous. We had spectacular weather and ate amazing food. There are two picturesque islands in front of Costa de Oro. I never got tired of gazing at them.

We enjoyed Costa de Oro's pool area. When built, the hotel's pool probably was magnificent. It hadn't been renovated in quite some time when we were there. The pool area is elevated, affording great views. The pool service was topnotch. You never had to wait to order a drink or snack. Drinks were reasonably priced and there was a daily happy hour. You could run a tab on a credit card, which gave us the best exchange rate.

I never swam in the pool. I preferred the ocean. However, we couldn't linger on the beach because vendors would approach us every few seconds. No lie. I would cool off in the ocean and race back to the hotel pool to avoid sales pitches. A Costa de Oro saleswoman approached us once poolside.

The room was adequate. We had a balcony overlooking the garden area. We could see the pool and ocean from outside the front door. The beds were rock hard. It was like sleeping on sandbags. Room service was excellent. Bellboys delivered ice immediately. The shower was awesome.

We ate breakfast at Costa de Oro once. It was the worst meal of the week. Gus Gus across the street was probably our favorite restaurant though. Also Munchkins has the most delicious, meaty ribs.

I read somewhere that Hotel Playa Mazatlan somehow restricts beach vendors. If true, it would be worth the extra money to stay there.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeautySchoolDropout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, MN
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2010

We have stayed at Costa De Oro twice now. It is in the perfect location right in the center of everything. You can walk to restaurants, shops, and entertainment. If you want to eat the best tacos check out tacos luha. Gus Gus across the street has the best live music every night. We only ate breakfast at the hotel and it was ok, nothing great. If you are looking for a good price, great view and friendly staff check out Costa de Oro.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina,SK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2010

I would not stay here again... had problems with the shower water tempurature and when we asked for help to fix the problem we got no where... the water is was either boiling hot or ice cold... had water which looked like iced tea come out of our bathroom tap... Service in the restaurant was slow... ended up going to other places to eat... If you want a great place for breakfast or lunch, Mary's across was great!!! Guy promoting side trips was rude and got angry with us when we didn't want take the ride he has for us to the airport because it was too expensive!!! Pool was dirty and looked like someone puked in it, literally!!! We ended up touring the Inn at Mazatlan so we can book with them next year... If it wasn't for the great Mexico weather this trip would have been a bust!!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dsh76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mazatlan hotels

YYC
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2010

We stayed for 2 weeks and after 2 weeks were very glad to come home because my husband got very sick from eating the food [ended up getting 2 bad bacterial infections] due to contaminated food, according to Health Canada. We had always enjoyed staying at Costa de Oro but next time if we ever stay there it will not be an All Inclusive stay.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UnhappyYyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Liberty, Iowa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2010

I went to Mazatlan on vacation from December 27th thru January 2nd, stayed at Costa de Oro and LOVED IT!!! We booked through Orbitz and paid for Pronaturs to pick us up at the airport, take us to the hotel and vice versa. When we arrived at the hotel the bell boys helped us with our luggage and directed us to the front desk, we checked in and were approached by the time share lady. Now, I had heard how aggressive they can be and was prepared to stand my ground with a NO, not necessary. She was very polite, not overbearing at all and told us if we changed our mind about touring the time shares to let her know. We were taken to our room which was not the room we had paid for, the bell boy called the front desk for us, went down to get our new keys and told the front desk which room to give us. We had the most PERFECT view of the Pacific, the beds were great, not hard mattresses like I had heard about. As we went about our way in touring Mazatlan, we were approached several times by the time share people of the hotel Pueblo Bonito, talk about AGGRESSIVE, they would not take NO for an answer, one of them even cornered my mother and wouldn't let her leave until I called for a police officer who was driving by, now they were aggressive. Costa de Oro is not the newest hotel nor the nicest looking from the outside but the front desk and staff were always at our disposal, so polite and going out of their way to give us the best service they could offer. I would walk the beach everyday and I think Costa had the nicest pool area of all the hotels and I really like the rugged look to it. I will be forever grateful to them for helping the day we left Mazatlan, like I had mentioned before we had booked with the company Pronaturs through Orbitz to pick us up at the airport and take us to the airport, all was well the day we arrived. They picked us up at the airport(even thought they were hard to find) and when they dropped us off, they told us at what time they would pick us up at Costa de Oro on January 2nd, well.....they never showed up! I was beyond furious and worried that we weren't going to make our flight, I know the easy solution was to pay for another cab but we had already paid for the roundtrip transportation. Thankfully, this Angel by the name of Poncho at Costa de Oro(who's job is to book the excursions at the hotel) fixed everything for us. He called Pronaturs, they told him they were coming but he didn't believe them, so he arranged for a taxi, told us not to worry that he would take care of everything. MUCHAS GRACIAS, PONCHO!!! Our stay in Mazatlan was wonderful and I will definitely be staying at Costa de Oro again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iheartmaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Mazatlan
The Inn at Mazatlan
#7 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.5 of 5 stars 568 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ramada Resort Mazatlan
Ramada Resort Mazatlan
#26 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 stars 245 reviews
0.9 mi away
Oceano Palace
Oceano Palace
#63 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 stars 818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Olas Altas Inn
Olas Altas Inn
#32 of 80 in Mazatlan
3.5 of 5 stars 84 reviews
0.5 mi away
Las Flores Beach Resort
Las Flores Beach Resort
#27 of 80 in Mazatlan
3.5 of 5 stars 257 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn Mazatlan
Quality Inn Mazatlan
#37 of 80 in Mazatlan
3.5 of 5 stars 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa de Oro Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa de Oro Beach Hotel

Property: Costa de Oro Beach Hotel
Address: Av. Camaron Sabalo No 710 | Zona Dorada, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Costa de Oro Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Costa de Oro Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa De Oro Hotel Mazatlan
Costa Del Oro
Costa De Oro Mazatlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing