We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“The added touch of service with excellent location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Costa de Oro Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Costa de Oro Beach Hotel
Ranked #24 of 80 Hotels in Mazatlan
Emerson, Manitoba
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The added touch of service with excellent location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

The Costa is years old now and not a 5 Start rating... but its still excels in what many places don't offer.. SERVICE with a smile.. and happy your staying with them. Unlike some other hotels who discriminate against hosting my Mexican friends.... the Costa doesnt mind if friends join you around the pool for happy hour. The pool bar waiters are veterans and work their tails off and know your drink as soon as you walk in the pool area. The view is gorgeous off the west facing balconies.. Nice beach access. Has small shops in the hotel.. bank across the street.. restaurants all close. Why stay miles away and have to pulmonia everywhere. Its modestly priced and worth checking out.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    108
    64
    32
    17
See reviews for
86
69
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed in a suite with a kitchenette. Even though we didn't cook anything is was nice to have a table and a refrigerator and a coffee maker. The view from the balconly was breathtaking. I liked the decor of the premise but I did not explore the whole property. The staff was exceptionally polite and helpful. Only one complaint. I saw a roach on a towel in the room. I don't know if it was alive, but it wasn't moving. I swatted it anyway. Only complaint.

Room Tip: The one bedroom suite with kitchenette was very spacious and comfortable with a dynamite view. I wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daraliine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

From the moment we stepped into the airport we enjoyed our trip to Mazatlan. Javier from the Costa de Oro and Prono tours greeted us and was attentive throughout our stay. He suggested a time share presentation at the El Cid, Which gave us 3 free tours and an evening at a Mexican Fiesta. Time share presentation was not pushy. The Stone Island Tour was my favourite! The room was basic, but clean, comfortable and we had a lovely view of the ocean from our balcony. The staff were attentive, and we lacked for nothing. We liked the daily happy hour by the pool, the restaurant, spa, and easy access to the ocean. Next time I will book through RCI and stay in the spacious tower rooms. I looked at the other hotels nearby, but the atmosphere at the Costa de Oro really sets it apart from the nicer hotels. I will definitely return there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a ocean view room, # 360 or 460, best views. If using time share, ask for ocean view. The hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marion O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I, along with friends and family sometimes, have been coming to Mexico since 1986. This time we went to Mazatlan, Mexico with friends and stayed in the timeshare area of Costa De Oro from the end of August thru early September 2012. It was very quiet, not tourist season but it was very enjoyable and relaxing. All the staff was very attentive to our needs, from the front desk clerks, the maids, the wait staff to the bartenders. We didn't want for anything. It was hard to leave at the end of the week but we will be back again next year.

Room Tip: We like the older timeshare area right on the beach - 5th or 6th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Colleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victorville, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

This is our third trip to Mazatlan and our first stay in Costa De Oro, it was amazing. All the staff was super nice and friendly. Our room was really clean and unlike other people who have commented, we didn't see one single cockroach. The beds were comfortable and I'd definetly stay there again.

Room Tip: Our suite (Suite Paola) on the 6th floor with oceanview was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sprite55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Costa de Oro was the first place we stayed when we started going to Mazatlan in 1999. We had such a great time, we bought a timeshare here, although lately we have been donating it to charity auctions for their use since we like to stay at Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay.

Costa de Oro is in the heart of the Golden Zone, where all the action is and consequently so is the noise. The timeshare units, while very nice, are directly across the street from Gus Gus and they do like to play their loud music late into the night which makes it hard for us to sleep.

I don't remember the beds being very comfortable [they are very hard] but for some that isn't a problem. We have generally enjoyed our stays at Costa in the past and have great memories.

Areas we enjoyed: being within walking distance to restaurants and shopping. We liked the swimming pool and being able to order food & drinks at the pool. The view of the ocean from our balcony was perfect.

Areas we didn't enjoy so much: relentless beach vendors, relentless Costa staff trying to get you to attend a timeshare presentation. The on site restaurant, not so good.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lanningslee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, AZ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

I've been going to Mazatlan since 1984 and have spent each time at the Costa. Everyone there has been wonderful to me. The hotel is beautiful. If you have a funny smell from your water, you should smell the water in AZ. I have been brushing my teeth with the tap water for all those years and showering in it and not a thing has happened to me. I just don't drink it. Also, there is free water in jugs all over the hallways of the hotel. Just take your little pitcher from the room and fill it up. You don't have to buy it. If you don't feel the front desk is trustworthy with jewelry..ask me. I had an accident, they took all my rings, necklaces and diamond studs off me before they took me to the hospital. When I got out they were all there. Now who else would do that for you?! This hotel is just amazing. The people are my friends. AND I miss them terribly. I'm not afraid to go there, it's just my money matters aren't the same as they were a few years ago. Trust these people..ALL OF THEM. From the restaurant to the pool bar to the front desk to the maids. They are all great people.

Room Tip: who sleeps?? Fitness Center.. didn't know they had one. LOL
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mazatlanlb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CostaMargaritas, e-Commerce Manager at Costa de Oro Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Dear valued guest (Mazatlanlb),

We at the Costa de Oro Beach Hotel wanted to take the time to thank you for taking the time to make such a wonderful post about our Hotel and your loyalty to our brand and port. We would be happy to hear that we will be able to serve you soon; please do not hesitate to contact us directly if We can assist you in any service.

Best Wishes, Safe and Happy Travels,
Francisco Duarte
e-Marketing Manager
Costa de Oro Beach Hotel
fduarte@costaoro.com
+52 669 913 5444
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Mazatlan
The Inn at Mazatlan
#7 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.5 of 5 stars 576 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ramada Resort Mazatlan
Ramada Resort Mazatlan
#27 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 stars 251 reviews
0.9 mi away
Oceano Palace
Oceano Palace
#63 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 stars 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Olas Altas Inn
Olas Altas Inn
#37 of 80 in Mazatlan
3.5 of 5 stars 87 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn Mazatlan
Quality Inn Mazatlan
#32 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 stars 44 reviews
0.5 mi away
Las Flores Beach Resort
Las Flores Beach Resort
#29 of 80 in Mazatlan
3.5 of 5 stars 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa de Oro Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa de Oro Beach Hotel

Property: Costa de Oro Beach Hotel
Address: Av. Camaron Sabalo No 710 | Zona Dorada, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Mazatlan
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Costa de Oro Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Costa de Oro Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa De Oro Hotel Mazatlan
Costa Del Oro
Costa De Oro Mazatlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing