We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Read this before booking”
Review of Oceano Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oceano Palace
Ranked #46 of 80 Hotels in Mazatlan
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Upon arrival I immediately planned to change hotels as this is an older somewhat dumpy looking 2nd or3rd class place. Cheaply furnished with pink dressers,etc. Our suite had twin beds in living room and no couch. My family was ok with it and agreed to stay a couple days and try it and we came to like it for what it is. After all our room had a nice balcony overlooking the ocean.

Great location on the beach with many highly rated restaurants a very short walk away. Plenty of palapas on the beach and no shortage of chaise lounges. Drinks very inexpensive and good menu of poolside fare. The staff is great and it is clean.

So if you want a gold star resort keep looking but if you're comfortable with Mexican funky it has many good points.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
5  Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (928)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 928 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed for 6 days in Oceano Palace, It was directly on the beach, The front desk there was amazing. Always there to help, friendly and willing to chat about anything. Very helpful with directions and things to do. the room was fine, clean and had wifi. The beach was really nice, walking on the beach they had banana boating, parasailing and jet skiing for very reasonable prices. Even though it wasnt the best resort in the world if offered what we were looking for..Thank you!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Our second stay here was more than expected. We had a suite it was basic, but great. The beds were super firm, a kitchenette, with a beautiful balcony. Excellent service and very good fare. has a nice beach. A very restful sleep to the sound of the waves.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ross M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Rooms were plain and simple but provided a comfortable place to sleep with excellent ocean view. The location is fantastic. The buffet breakfast is varied and delicious with lots of authentic Mexican dishes. the staff is friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferordaz, Manager at Oceano Palace, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear Bel L

Thank you very much for you review of you recent stay at Oceano Palace Hotel, we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel.

look forward to see you soon

Fernando Ordaz
Manager
Oceano Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Not likely to come back. The staff was great but the bed not so much. And we had to suffer night after night of someone pulling up outside between 1 and 3 AM and blasting the stereo. Towels? It was carnival and I am sure that was part of the reason for the shortage. The pool and hot tub were cooler than the ocean...the room was either cleaned twice a day in quick succession or not at all. In conclusion, very bare bones, loud at night, with a terribly uncomfortable bed and no towels.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Good points: Everything was clean, locations at the beach are very nice.

Regular points: Partial view to the beach, elevator nor nice neither bad. Beds and bath are ok.

Bad points: Only 2 full-size towels were provided, i had issues with the reservation and the personal was rude when i come, they just told me that my reservation was canceled and i needed to pay twice while they investigated. Pool bar was always closed. In general seems the rooms are old and there are many visual details. I have stayed in many hotels in Mazatlan and this is really close to the worst. TV non-flat.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raymundo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferordaz, Manager at Oceano Palace, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear Raymundo

I Appreciate your comments are very important to us, we will work on the points youre suggesting us.
We hope you give us the opportunity to serve you again

Fernando Ordaz
Manager
Oceano Palace Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Clean beds/sheets, clean bathroom. Lacking in the linens- only 2 full sizes towels are provided, no hand towels, washcloths, or bath mats. This was frustrating to me. Extra toilet paper was not provided, and roll was almost empty upon arrival. Nice balcony, quieter part of town (compared to further north) restaurants nearby, but not much shopping close to the hotel. Beautiful pool, i believe it is heated, great to swim in at night. Friendly and accommodating staff.

Room Tip: "mountain view" isn't bad, just not the ocean, faces to the parking lot/main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BudgetBeachTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
4.8 mi away
Quality Inn Mazatlan
Quality Inn Mazatlan
#25 of 80 in Mazatlan
65 reviews
1.2 mi away
Park Royal Mazatlan
Park Royal Mazatlan
#63 of 80 in Mazatlan
416 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mision Mazatlan
Mision Mazatlan
#30 of 80 in Mazatlan
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Inn at Mazatlan
The Inn at Mazatlan
#11 of 80 in Mazatlan
694 reviews
0.9 mi away
Costa de Oro Beach Hotel
Costa de Oro Beach Hotel
#34 of 80 in Mazatlan
330 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ramada Resort Mazatlan
Ramada Resort Mazatlan
#24 of 80 in Mazatlan
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceano Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceano Palace

Address: Av. Camaron Sabalo No. 2601 | Sabalo Country Club, Mazatlan 82103, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range: $56 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oceano Palace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceano Palace is our signature property with 255 rooms, some of them with an equipped kitchenette, that were renovated in 2014. It is available in European Plan and All-Inclusive. It features daily shows, a fully equipped gym, heated pool, daily pool activities and music. Our amenities include a fully equipped gym with the free services of a personal trainer and babysitting services at an additional charge. Our property is located right on the Golden Zone of Mazatlan, overlooking Birds Island. Our location features spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean and wildlife on the island. Our food service includes: La Terraza: Mexican Food Roxy Bistro: Pizzas and Steaks Grand Central Bar: Sushi Bar Our All-Inclusive Plan of their meals at their local restaurant in addition to a set number of dinners at our other restaurants and properties. Details: - 7 Night all-inclusive vacation includes 3 dinners at our other properties & restaurants - 5 Night all-inclusive vacation includes 2 dinners at our other properties & restaurants - 3 Night all-inclusive vacation includes 1 dinner at our other properties & restaurants Location 30 minutes away from airport, 15 minutes from downtown, 10 minutes from aquarium, and 10 minutes from golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Oceano Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceano Palace Hotel Mazatlan
Oceano Palace Mazatlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing