We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Had trouble with the staff the whole time.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oceano Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Oceano Palace
Ranked #64 of 80 Hotels in Mazatlan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Had trouble with the staff the whole time.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

Since the first day the staff treated my guests and I very very poorly. The rooms weren't ready, my card key wouldn't open my room door, a/c in one of my other rooms didn't work, guests have to wear a bracelet to be identified(bad move in Mexico, because everybody knows you are staying at a hotel, including the bad guys). Pool side bar was never opened. Inside bar closes at 10 pm (no fun). Very uptight atmosphere, not worth the money, one can find much better service and a more relaxed enviroment for equal or less money. STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE, YOU WILL BE DISAPPOINTED

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ibyaed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eduardo J, Manager at Oceano Palace, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Dear ibyaed:

I would like to thank you for share your experience with us, our goal is to satisfy to all our guests and make their stay enjoyable, in this case we fail, and on behalf of all our staff and myself please accept our sincerely apologies, the hotel guest feedback is very important for us, that´s the only way to know where we are located and to improve our operations plan to make better efforts with our future guests; the use of the bracelets is for your own safe and have the hotel installations exclusive for our guests, Mazatlan is very safe for everybody. I share this comment with the head departments and we agree to improve the service in this matter.
We will be glad to have you with us in the near future and give us the opportunity to offer you the warm service that characterizes Oceano Palace Hotel, I would like to take care of you personally you can feel free to contact me any time.
Looking forward to see you soon

Eduardo Jimenez
Rooms Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    157
    111
    85
    103
See reviews for
310
210
30
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

Great overall stay and experience. The staff was friendly and very helpful and the hotel is located right on the beach!They have a recreation desk and they set us up for a zip line tour which was tons of fun. For 50 dollars a night you would be hard pressed to find a better deal for the location alone. The hotel itself was very nice, recently updated, our room was a nice size and was clean. The beds are a fairly firm. The hallways echo because the floors are marble tile so noise does carry, I was never awakened but there is a noticeable echo. The bathrooms are a bit small but ours had good water pressure and hot water. There was also a/c in our room which helped because it was rather warm when we were there and were not facing the ocean. We ate breakfast(buffet) at the restaurant, there was a nice selection of fresh fruit, fresh juice, a omelet station, and a vast selection of other items. Since the beach is just feet away its great to get beer and apps delivered while you soak up the sun. They have a great happy hour! I will most definitely stay here again and recommend you give it a try as well.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JFlores98136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

We were extremely happy with the hotel staff, the property, and the room. From the front desk, to the waiters, and the housekeepers--each person we encountered were not only friendly but went out of their way to make sure we enjoyed our stay. The manager, Eduardo, took pleasure in making sure we were happy and check in on us daily. The service was 5 star and they spoke English!!! The property: The food was great. You must try the pizza, the buffet and the fresh bread. I really enjoyed the live music during lunch/dinner. From our ocean view room you could see the whole bay. The A/C was perfect, the bed was confortable, and our housekeeper kept our room spotless and you didn't have to worry about leaving your camera or wallet out. The bus to town was only $1 and took 10 minutes, but there are cabs right in front. When you pick a hotel, you read the reviews, look at pictures and pray. If you are traveling on a budget but don't want to sacrafice quality, I recommend you give this hotel a try. We were very happy with our choice!

Room Tip: We stay in room 311. They also had mini-suites wtih a fridge and mircowave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DiamondDuoTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eduardo J, Manager at Oceano Palace, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Dear DiamondDuoTravel:
Thank you very much for sharing this kind review with us. All of us at oceano palace thank you very much for your comments about our property and the good time you had during your week with us. There is nothing more important for us than our beloved guests, this is part of our culture, and we are always striving to make sure our guests are happy and go back home with a good experience. I am sharing this review with all our service staff in our briefings, they will be very happy to have notice from you. Thanks again and we will be very glad to have the honor having you as a guest in the near future.

Looking forward to see you soon, cordially

Eduardo Jimenez
Rooms manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChulaVista, Ca.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

Everything was clean and neat. Location, price had everything we like do, the staff was super friendly and very competent in English, and I loved the pool. On site restaurant very convenient, food and drink service at poolside was very nice.The price was very affordable since we were in the off season. Weather was perfect.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California Hot Springs, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

The A/C smelled awful! It stunk up my clothes & hair. The sheets on the beds had stains & pubic hair!!!! They never gave us a DND sign the housekeepers walked in on us 2x a day before 9 am. I had to disinfect our room with clorox wipes & purchase new clean sheets. When we asked for anything they treated us like pests & waived us away. But hounded & stalked us to sell us on time shares every morning as we walked out the hotel. They would follow us on our way out to insist we eat @ the hotel daily. It was a dissapointing experience.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank allhailevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eduardo J, Manager at Oceano Palace, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Dear allhailevie:
Thank you for providing us with feedback on your stay with us. We would like to extend our sincerest apologies for these issues, and let you know that our front desk department and our manager on duty are always available to help rectify any issue that may arise during your stay, you could feel free to contact us and share this experience with us to make you stay enjoyable. In order to keep follow up to this case I would like to get in touch with you personally to have more information, I don´t see in our history reports that any guest reported this at the front desk or housekeeping, please contact me at ejimenez@oceanopalace.com to handle personally and solve this problems from the root. Looking forward to see you soon.

Cordially

Eduardo Jimenez
Rooms Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloydminster Saskatchewan Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

rooms are very clean as the staff very friendly,the onlything i got dissapointed was the tile stools they have at the swiming pool was kind of loosing it and my daughter cut her foot because one of those stools was falling apart,NO FIRST AID KIT HOW SO EVER,SO HOPE THIS PEOPLE FIX THE POOL ASAP !! I WILL COME BACK TO OCEANO PALACE BUT THIS TIME IM GOING TO MAKE SURE THEY HAVE EVERYTHING FIX ! Sincerally Guadalupe Rodriguez de Navarro

Room Tip: the better rooms are the ones facing to the beach !!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miguel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, Ca.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

I had an amazing time, the food was amazing! And the staff was very helpful with any request we had. We were supposed to stay there only 3 days but added 2 more nights without thinking twice. Generally pleasant good for families. Beautiful beach and pool area. Enjoyed the breakfast buffet in the restaurant, thank you.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stacey c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
#4 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,627 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn Mazatlan
Quality Inn Mazatlan
#28 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Inn at Mazatlan
The Inn at Mazatlan
#7 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Park Royal Mazatlan
Park Royal Mazatlan
#47 of 80 in Mazatlan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.9 mi away
Costa de Oro Beach Hotel
Costa de Oro Beach Hotel
#24 of 80 in Mazatlan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
1.6 mi away
Azteca Inn
Azteca Inn
#19 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceano Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceano Palace

Property: Oceano Palace
Address: Av. Camaron Sabalo No. 2601 | Sabalo Country Club, Mazatlan 82103, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oceano Palace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceano Palace is our signature property with 255 rooms, some of them with an equipped kitchenette, that were renovated in 2014. It is available in European Plan and All-Inclusive. It features daily shows, a fully equipped gym, heated pool, daily pool activities and music. Our amenities include a fully equipped gym with the free services of a personal trainer and babysitting services at an additional charge. Our property is located right on the Golden Zone of Mazatlan, overlooking Birds Island. Our location features spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean and wildlife on the island. Our food service includes: La Terraza: Mexican Food Roxy Bistro: Pizzas and Steaks Grand Central Bar: Sushi Bar Our All-Inclusive Plan of their meals at their local restaurant in addition to a set number of dinners at our other restaurants and properties. Details: - 7 Night all-inclusive vacation includes 3 dinners at our other properties & restaurants - 5 Night all-inclusive vacation includes 2 dinners at our other properties & restaurants - 3 Night all-inclusive vacation includes 1 dinner at our other properties & restaurants Location 30 minutes away from airport, 15 minutes from downtown, 10 minutes from aquarium, and 10 minutes from golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Oceano Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceano Palace Hotel Mazatlan
Oceano Palace Mazatlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing