We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”
Review of Oceano Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oceano Palace
Ranked #45 of 79 Hotels in Mazatlan
Reviewed May 30, 2012

We were extremely happy with the hotel staff, the property, and the room. From the front desk, to the waiters, and the housekeepers--each person we encountered were not only friendly but went out of their way to make sure we enjoyed our stay. The manager, Eduardo, took pleasure in making sure we were happy and check in on us daily. The service was 5 star and they spoke English!!! The property: The food was great. You must try the pizza, the buffet and the fresh bread. I really enjoyed the live music during lunch/dinner. From our ocean view room you could see the whole bay. The A/C was perfect, the bed was confortable, and our housekeeper kept our room spotless and you didn't have to worry about leaving your camera or wallet out. The bus to town was only $1 and took 10 minutes, but there are cabs right in front. When you pick a hotel, you read the reviews, look at pictures and pray. If you are traveling on a budget but don't want to sacrafice quality, I recommend you give this hotel a try. We were very happy with our choice!

Room Tip: We stay in room 311. They also had mini-suites wtih a fridge and mircowave.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiamondDuoTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eduardo J, Manager at Oceano Palace, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2012

Dear DiamondDuoTravel:
Thank you very much for sharing this kind review with us. All of us at oceano palace thank you very much for your comments about our property and the good time you had during your week with us. There is nothing more important for us than our beloved guests, this is part of our culture, and we are always striving to make sure our guests are happy and go back home with a good experience. I am sharing this review with all our service staff in our briefings, they will be very happy to have notice from you. Thanks again and we will be very glad to have the honor having you as a guest in the near future.

Looking forward to see you soon, cordially

Eduardo Jimenez
Rooms manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (911)
There are newer reviews for Oceano Palace
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 911 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2012

Everything was clean and neat. Location, price had everything we like do, the staff was super friendly and very competent in English, and I loved the pool. On site restaurant very convenient, food and drink service at poolside was very nice.The price was very affordable since we were in the off season. Weather was perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

The A/C smelled awful! It stunk up my clothes & hair. The sheets on the beds had stains & pubic hair!!!! They never gave us a DND sign the housekeepers walked in on us 2x a day before 9 am. I had to disinfect our room with clorox wipes & purchase new clean sheets. When we asked for anything they treated us like pests & waived us away. But hounded & stalked us to sell us on time shares every morning as we walked out the hotel. They would follow us on our way out to insist we eat @ the hotel daily. It was a dissapointing experience.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allhailevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eduardo J, Manager at Oceano Palace, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2012

Dear allhailevie:
Thank you for providing us with feedback on your stay with us. We would like to extend our sincerest apologies for these issues, and let you know that our front desk department and our manager on duty are always available to help rectify any issue that may arise during your stay, you could feel free to contact us and share this experience with us to make you stay enjoyable. In order to keep follow up to this case I would like to get in touch with you personally to have more information, I don´t see in our history reports that any guest reported this at the front desk or housekeeping, please contact me at ejimenez@oceanopalace.com to handle personally and solve this problems from the root. Looking forward to see you soon.

Cordially

Eduardo Jimenez
Rooms Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

rooms are very clean as the staff very friendly,the onlything i got dissapointed was the tile stools they have at the swiming pool was kind of loosing it and my daughter cut her foot because one of those stools was falling apart,NO FIRST AID KIT HOW SO EVER,SO HOPE THIS PEOPLE FIX THE POOL ASAP !! I WILL COME BACK TO OCEANO PALACE BUT THIS TIME IM GOING TO MAKE SURE THEY HAVE EVERYTHING FIX ! Sincerally Guadalupe Rodriguez de Navarro

Room Tip: the better rooms are the ones facing to the beach !!!!!
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Miguel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

I had an amazing time, the food was amazing! And the staff was very helpful with any request we had. We were supposed to stay there only 3 days but added 2 more nights without thinking twice. Generally pleasant good for families. Beautiful beach and pool area. Enjoyed the breakfast buffet in the restaurant, thank you.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stacey c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

The location is fantastic. The room was clean and beautiful. Good food. Beautiful beach. Heated Pool. Gym was good.

My big con was the staff at the front desk. I checked in early. I left instructions for them to give the room key to my friend who was scheduled to arrive later in the day. I gave them his name and cell phone number. When he arrived - it was apparent the hotel had lost the instructions or hadn't communicated them to the next shift. They spent 30 minutes interrogating my friend!

Besides the check-in situation - it was a fantastic 3 days at Oceano.

---> Eat at Tony's!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teaching85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

We stayed at the Oceano Palace through the Wyndham Vacation Club. We got an excellent deal for the week. There were a number of hotels we could have chosen, but Oceano Palace had a good location and a nice sized unit available.
We had a 5th floor unit, which was actually a studio side and a bedroom side. The airconditioning in the studio side had a bad odor so we never used the A/C on that side. The A/C in the bedroom unit was fine. Actually, we hardly ever even used the studio side since we ate out every day and did not cook.
Our views from the balconies were incredible! I would have liked some outdoor furniture, we dragged a couple dining room chairs out.
The beds were comfortable and the bathrooms were sufficient. A few times, there was not much hot water.
Our coffee pot carafe was broken, and it was replaced after telling the desk twice and finally carrying the broken pot down there.
The pool was small, but never a problem. On the weekend, the hotel was really full with Mexican families so the pool and beach were packed. It was fun to see so many people out.
We never ate at the hotel or went to the bar or used the gym, so I can't comment on those.
Altogether we enjoyed the hotel. As we never mentioned the yucky A/C smell, we can't hold that against the managment for not fixing it. We had a few bottles of water in the unit when we arrived, but it was never replaced. That was surprising.
The beach was beautiful, and the hotel is in a very convenient location. We would stay there again if the price was right.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sioux4noff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
0.9 mi away
The Inn at Mazatlan
The Inn at Mazatlan
#10 of 79 in Mazatlan
688 reviews
1.2 mi away
Park Royal Mazatlan
Park Royal Mazatlan
#64 of 79 in Mazatlan
401 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
#3 of 79 in Mazatlan
1,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Ramada Resort Mazatlan
Ramada Resort Mazatlan
#24 of 79 in Mazatlan
296 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn Mazatlan
Quality Inn Mazatlan
#25 of 79 in Mazatlan
64 reviews
0.9 mi away
Costa de Oro Beach Hotel
Costa de Oro Beach Hotel
#30 of 79 in Mazatlan
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceano Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceano Palace

Address: Av. Camaron Sabalo No. 2601 | Sabalo Country Club, Mazatlan 82103, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range: $64 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oceano Palace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceano Palace is our signature property with 255 rooms, some of them with an equipped kitchenette, that were renovated in 2014. It is available in European Plan and All-Inclusive. It features daily shows, a fully equipped gym, heated pool, daily pool activities and music. Our amenities include a fully equipped gym with the free services of a personal trainer and babysitting services at an additional charge. Our property is located right on the Golden Zone of Mazatlan, overlooking Birds Island. Our location features spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean and wildlife on the island. Our food service includes: La Terraza: Mexican Food Roxy Bistro: Pizzas and Steaks Grand Central Bar: Sushi Bar Our All-Inclusive Plan of their meals at their local restaurant in addition to a set number of dinners at our other restaurants and properties. Details: - 7 Night all-inclusive vacation includes 3 dinners at our other properties & restaurants - 5 Night all-inclusive vacation includes 2 dinners at our other properties & restaurants - 3 Night all-inclusive vacation includes 1 dinner at our other properties & restaurants Location 30 minutes away from airport, 15 minutes from downtown, 10 minutes from aquarium, and 10 minutes from golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Oceano Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceano Palace Hotel Mazatlan
Oceano Palace Mazatlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing