We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value hotel near the beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel la Siesta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel la Siesta
Ranked #18 of 80 Hotels in Mazatlan
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
46 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good value hotel near the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

I spent a few nights at the Hotel La Siesta. The hotel is very well located right next to the beach and in the old centre of town, which is very pleasant for an evening walk and has plenty of restaurants and bars nearby.
The rooms were clean and well arranged, not particularly stylish but comfortable. The view from the balcony was really great.
The stuff was helpful and friendly. There is internet available, room connectivity was a bit on and off but mostly worked.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chear_up
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    99
    39
    9
    8
See reviews for
46
85
31
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Spent 9 days over Carnival, perfect spot for Carnival, beaches, downtown, etc. and truly an economical option -100% satsified. Friendly staff, especially Ruth who speaks good English. Large and very clean room with everything working fine, just right for a budget stay, unpretentious is the word. Hotel takes security and service seriously. Would definitely stay there again any time.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NziTrap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
78 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

1st of all, I want to thank the front desk staff for honoring my request for a specific room! Everyone at the hotel is very friendly and willing to assist in any way needed. The hotel is older, but our room, the pool area and the bathrooms by the pool were always spotless! The stairs and "hallways" could use some refurbishing, but it's not a deal breaker for us. I do wish the beds were not so hard, though. We'd stay again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank houmomof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

the old town, away from the touristy Zona Dorada, is our preference when visiting Mazatlan. La Siesta is an unpretentious hotel. It sits across the street from the Malecon, and has ocean-facing views with a balcony.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Isaac O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Cons: Beds had hairs all over, stains on sheets, mold in bathroom, the cleaning lady was pissed when we asked for the bedding to be replaced, also asked the cleaning lady on the second day for clean towels, we were told to wait until they washed the towels, and no towels for the pool. We made reservations on line for 2 rooms for up to 4 people each room with one price posted, but then they charge you extra for each person, kids under 12 charged as adults, And night crew had "security" making sure people went into assigned rooms. The shrimp bucket wasn't all that great and talk about cheap on the drinks. The boat tour they offered said all inclusive (food, drinks, with 2 activity options) ok, so the food wasn't good at all!! We picked horseback riding and the banana boat ride, the lady who offered the horse rides was rude and the ride was a total of ten min long! The banana boat ride? Well the boat pulling us stalled 8 times in the ten min ride, I could have swam faster!

Pros: The lady working on days was so nice and helpful! The beach view was amazing! Hotel is in a GREAT location!

We will for sure go back to Mazatlan, however we will NOT go back to Hotel La Siesta!!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seward,Alaska
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I booked online a few months ahead through a travel site with a great rate. I called to verify and requested a corner ocean view room. Check in /out was quick and easy. I enjoyed it there so much I extended my stay and management honored the online rate without a problem.. great service!! Staff was very friendly.

Maid service was top notch. I liked that Martha would always knock after noon so I never had a worry about sleeping late.

The room was large with 2 beds, table, chairs, dresser, walk in closet. A wrap around balcony with 2 glass doors and lots of windows provided awesome ocean views and wonderful sunsets. Air conditioning wasn't working but I was able to get a big fan from the front desk. Combine that with the 2 balcony doors and there was plenty of ventilation.

It was very quiet during the week with nothing open late night for muchies, no stores or restaurants. Weekends has the bar action but the music wasn't overly loud.

Big shower with great pressure and plenty of hot water. I liked the extra light and view from the little shower window.

I bought a cheap cooler at Soriana and got ice daily down stairs at the little store for cold drinks. I'd be willing to pay a little more to have a small fridge.

Never made it in the pool. It seemed that with the wall most of the sun would be during the morning. The area was clean but small and had a nice, clean restroom.

Bus service was limited .. you could get a bus heading out north but none returned without going to centro and then having to pay to get on another..at least they are cheap! Taxis were much easier.

The location is really great for Carnaval if you are into partying and perfect for fireworks. I can picture famous people staying here in it's prime days. I look forward to staying here again next year for a few days for something different from the apt in the GZ.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank glacierlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed at Hotel La Siesta for one night in May 2013. Good value option, excellent location. Quiet if you get a back room. Air-con is either on or off. Good shower and wifi connection - very comfortable bed. Very friendly and professional staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
0.0 mi away
Quality Inn Mazatlan
Quality Inn Mazatlan
#37 of 80 in Mazatlan
3.5 of 5 stars 42 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
#5 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.5 of 5 stars 1,448 reviews
4.9 mi away
Oceano Palace
Oceano Palace
#63 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 stars 811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Azteca Inn
Azteca Inn
#20 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 stars 132 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Inn at Mazatlan
The Inn at Mazatlan
#6 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.5 of 5 stars 557 reviews
2.3 mi away
Olas Altas Inn
Olas Altas Inn
#30 of 80 in Mazatlan
3.5 of 5 stars 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel la Siesta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel la Siesta

Property: Hotel la Siesta
Address: Blvd Olas Altas 11 Centro (Downtown), Mazatlan 82000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Mazatlan
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel la Siesta 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Siesta Hotel is located right in the Historic Centre of Mazatlan, Sinaloa, in front of the beach and the boardwalk. Our location is truly privileged, since we are near the Plaza Machado, restaurants and bars and some other icons like the Angela Peralta Theater, the Cathedral and the Pino Suarez Market. No pets allowed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel la Siesta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Siesta Hotel
La Siesta Mazatlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing