We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good location, nice view and reasonably priced” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel la Siesta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel la Siesta
Ranked #18 of 80 Hotels in Mazatlan
Oliver, Canada
Level Contributor
367 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Good location, nice view and reasonably priced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Stayed here for a week in January. I picked the hotel based on the Tripadvisor reviews. The hotel is an older property in the Olas Altas area and is very close to the centro historico. It is close to bus service, restaurants and bars. My room was on the 2nd floor facing the ocean. It was a very nice view. The checkin process was smooth, they had my reservation and were well prepared. The room was basic, but not as basic as many I have stayed in while in Mexico. The bed was pretty comfortable, the room was clean and the daily service was excellent. There was no fridge in the room so I purchased a small styrofoam container for drinks etc and replenished it with ice regularly. The view was very nice, looks out onto the beach and the malceon. The avenue is very busy and can be noisy late into the night. If you are a light sleeper, this could create a problem for you. There was a/c in the room but it was not really necessary. There is a computer for guest use in the lobby.

Although the property is old is has been pretty well kept up, the staff are hardworking and helpful and the location is excellent.

I would readily recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The street in front of the hotel can be noisy and the rooms in the "interior" do not have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    101
    42
    9
    8
See reviews for
48
88
32
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Culiacan, Mexico
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

I loved my stay here. It is twice the hotel of others that are triple the price. Very clean rooms, although a little outdated. I did not mind at all as i really only care about comfort and cleanliness for business trips. They were very accommodating, and i traveled with my doberman, for only $100 extra pesos a night. LOVE the location, and they upgraded me to an ocean view balocny free of charge, without me even asking! Beautiful, clean pool, Will stay again. Shrimp Bucket is also very good! It is a budget hotel, and i knew that going in, so don't expect the Ritz ;)

Room Tip: Ocean view is worth the upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BudgetBeachTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
77 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

We spent 3 nights at Hotel La Siesta, with our two dogs. Ruth, at the front desk, is very friendly and helpful. The room was large and clean, with a balcony. It is conveniently located in Old Mazatlan, across the street from the beach. There are many restaurants, museums, etc. within easy walking distance.

Room Tip: Room 328 is technically a "patio view" (lower rate), but you can still see and hear the oc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mukilteo, Washington
Level Contributor
92 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

We had a third floor, ocean view, corner room on the Monday of Thanksgiving week for $41 plus the 19 percent tax. A/c, wifi, and tv included

The room was large and the balconies useful. The linen was clean and the beds comfortable. Like a couple of previous reviewers, I found the pillows inadequate (I had the same issue with the Sydney Hilton at 7x the price!) and the bathrooms look like they were built in the 60's (they WERE!). So what?

The on premesis convenience store is reasonably stocked and the legendary Shrimp Bucket restaurant serves up good food.

The lack of a secure parking garage was covered by a night watchman who kept a clise eye on my car parked directly in front of the hotel.

Viditors looking for value will love this. Those looking for a bright and shiny tourist hotel will be happier elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Just remembered about staying here. Our trip was in August of 2010. Nice location, center of everything. We had a great view of the beautiful ocean. Nice and friendly staff, always clean. It was super hot, thank god for the A/C. They had free wifi, nice clean swimming pool. The only thing I didn't like was they didn't have elevators. It was a drag carrying all the luggage up and down the stairs. But overall this is a good place to stay, no complaints at all.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank da m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Great location, great price. The view is phenominal. Restaurant is really good as well. Beds, and bathrooms leave a little to be desired but all in all a great value. I have been coming to this hotel for a few years now and would definitely recommend it for a short stay (1 week max).

Room Tip: Top Floor, ocean view, on a corner
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reese415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit Lakes, Minnesota
Level Contributor
95 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

For just $34 a night you can stay in Mazitlan, I was amazed and at the Hotel la Siesta, it was true. The room was not the Hilton but that’s not where I was at. They offered free internet, a swimming pool, shuttle bus as well as a restaurant. My room was clean but the bed and pillows needed replaced. One thing I did find that I enjoyed was the Shrimp Bucket restaurant it was great and very popular.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tabitha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
3.3 mi away
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
#4 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,595 reviews
3.4 mi away
Azteca Inn
Azteca Inn
#19 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
3.3 mi away
Quality Inn Mazatlan
Quality Inn Mazatlan
#29 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Inn at Mazatlan
The Inn at Mazatlan
#7 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
4.9 mi away
Oceano Palace
Oceano Palace
#63 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
8.4 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel la Siesta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel la Siesta

Property: Hotel la Siesta
Address: Blvd Olas Altas 11 Centro (Downtown), Mazatlan 82000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Mazatlan
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel la Siesta 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Siesta Hotel is located right in the Historic Centre of Mazatlan, Sinaloa, in front of the beach and the boardwalk. Our location is truly privileged, since we are near the Plaza Machado, restaurants and bars and some other icons like the Angela Peralta Theater, the Cathedral and the Pino Suarez Market. No pets allowed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel la Siesta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Siesta Hotel
La Siesta Mazatlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing