We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel la Siesta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel la Siesta
Ranked #18 of 80 Hotels in Mazatlan
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Just remembered about staying here. Our trip was in August of 2010. Nice location, center of everything. We had a great view of the beautiful ocean. Nice and friendly staff, always clean. It was super hot, thank god for the A/C. They had free wifi, nice clean swimming pool. The only thing I didn't like was they didn't have elevators. It was a drag carrying all the luggage up and down the stairs. But overall this is a good place to stay, no complaints at all.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank da m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    101
    42
    9
    8
See reviews for
48
88
32
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Great location, great price. The view is phenominal. Restaurant is really good as well. Beds, and bathrooms leave a little to be desired but all in all a great value. I have been coming to this hotel for a few years now and would definitely recommend it for a short stay (1 week max).

Room Tip: Top Floor, ocean view, on a corner
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reese415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit Lakes, Minnesota
Level Contributor
95 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

For just $34 a night you can stay in Mazitlan, I was amazed and at the Hotel la Siesta, it was true. The room was not the Hilton but that’s not where I was at. They offered free internet, a swimming pool, shuttle bus as well as a restaurant. My room was clean but the bed and pillows needed replaced. One thing I did find that I enjoyed was the Shrimp Bucket restaurant it was great and very popular.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tabitha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

Nice location very close to the Plaza Machado and is on the Malecon. However, I stayed on the "backside" of the hotel. No window with any view (I could see the back of the building next door, and the window could not close because the TV cable wire was draped through the opening.) The closet door and the bathroom door were just one big flat 1/2" plywood board. No door handle. Bathroom looked like it was from the 1950's.

Maybe if you pay the price to stay on the ocean-view side the rooms are a little more upscale. However, I don't think I'll bother to try the place again.

The pluses were the room was cheap. The room was clean. And, you have the restaurant "The Shrimp Bucket" right next door!

Room Tip: Try the ocean-view side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maz_friendtoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

I just returned from 7 nights at La Siesta. It is in a good location if you like being near the old part of Mazatlan. I went swimming in the beach right across the street-although in August it was too hot during the day-everyone came to the beach around 7 pm. My only gripes are that the pillows were really awful-they need to throw them away and get new ones- they were totally lumpy. The mattress was also lumpy-I couldn't sleep on m side because it poked me. The room was huge though and it was nice and clean. It would have been nice to have a mini fridge and a larger TV but I only paid about 48 bucks the first 5 nights and about 35 the last two since that was the start of low season.
In sum, it is ok for 3-4 nights but you might want to then go to somewhere a little more comfy.

Room Tip: I had a room on the outside and it was nice to be able to see the ocean, especially during the storm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

My family and I stayed at the la siesta last summer and we did have a great time there ! The hotel is right on the beach with a great view of the ocean .The hotel is located in the historic district .The rooms are very clean , the shower was large and lots of hot water .The room had two double beds .Over all a great value for the money .The hotel is good for people on a budget we had a great first visit to Mazatlan staying here !!!!

Room Tip: Choose the ocean view rooms we really liked the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DrDetroit_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldergrove, Canada
Level Contributor
120 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

Stayed here in first time 2007/2008 New Years, it is the real thing as far as a Mexican hotel goes, family run, clean, good value, on the main street looking out on the ocean. It's in the center of everything.
If you're looking for 5 stars go down the street, this is Mexico!

Room Tip: The side rooms can be a little noisy at times, especially for New Years.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oranya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
3.3 mi away
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
#4 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,595 reviews
3.4 mi away
Azteca Inn
Azteca Inn
#19 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
3.3 mi away
Quality Inn Mazatlan
Quality Inn Mazatlan
#29 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Inn at Mazatlan
The Inn at Mazatlan
#7 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
4.9 mi away
Oceano Palace
Oceano Palace
#63 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
8.4 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel la Siesta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel la Siesta

Property: Hotel la Siesta
Address: Blvd Olas Altas 11 Centro (Downtown), Mazatlan 82000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Mazatlan
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel la Siesta 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Siesta Hotel is located right in the Historic Centre of Mazatlan, Sinaloa, in front of the beach and the boardwalk. Our location is truly privileged, since we are near the Plaza Machado, restaurants and bars and some other icons like the Angela Peralta Theater, the Cathedral and the Pino Suarez Market. No pets allowed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel la Siesta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Siesta Hotel
La Siesta Mazatlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing