We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel la Siesta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel la Siesta
Ranked #18 of 80 Hotels in Mazatlan
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

My family and I stayed at the la siesta last summer and we did have a great time there ! The hotel is right on the beach with a great view of the ocean .The hotel is located in the historic district .The rooms are very clean , the shower was large and lots of hot water .The room had two double beds .Over all a great value for the money .The hotel is good for people on a budget we had a great first visit to Mazatlan staying here !!!!

Room Tip: Choose the ocean view rooms we really liked the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DrDetroit_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    99
    39
    9
    8
See reviews for
46
85
31
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aldergrove, Canada
Level Contributor
119 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Stayed here in first time 2007/2008 New Years, it is the real thing as far as a Mexican hotel goes, family run, clean, good value, on the main street looking out on the ocean. It's in the center of everything.
If you're looking for 5 stars go down the street, this is Mexico!

Room Tip: The side rooms can be a little noisy at times, especially for New Years.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oranya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Region, Australia
Level Contributor
360 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Mazatln can be put in two catagories... those visiting for sun, booze and nightlife.. and those looking for the real Mexico. La Siesta is right on the waterfront in the old town, only 400 metres from Centro Historico and it is where we like to stay. The bus outside the door can take you to the Zona Dorada every 10 minutes for US80cents. Most visitors tend to forget that Mazatlan was here for a long time before the development of the Golden Zone , and the is a lot of Historic places to visit. Also, the staff here are great.

Room Tip: Rooms # 214 and 314 are by a long way, the best, right on the corner with two large balconies overlo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Badbones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comox,B.C.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

We loved staying at the La Siesta..the rooms were sparse but clean,the staff were amazing and the location was the best..while in Mazatlan,venture into centro Mazatlan to find Cafe Maya for the best burritos and coffee.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Comox_B_C_Shelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinton,Iowa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

We stayed March 15-25th 2012. Third year in a row,great basic hotel. Great maid service,rooms were clean. The front desk staff are wonderful and helpful. You are in walking distance of the central market,great places to eat, and alot of cultural events. We always get an oceanview room expect traffic noise , it's part of Mexico. By the way, we take the public bus alot and walk to many places, at no times did we ever feel unsafe. Go to Mazatlan and stay at
the La Siesta and enjoy Mexco.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IowaSpeidel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

Fantastic location right on the seafront. Good restaurant attached. Ocean view rooms are terrific but if you can't get one of these...the rooms on the side on both floors have an ocean view as well and you can still see the sunsets. The pool is quiet and a sun trap. It's basic...but it didn't bother us. The rooms are clean, the showers are hot and the beds comfortable. Free internet for guests at reception, lots of knowledge about trips..(use ONCA whalewatching as he's a marine biologist and really knows his stuff). No lift...not a problem unless you are disabled.Really quirky middle section too with trees growing in the central courtyard over and above the building.

Room Tip: Ask for 213,313,228,328 if you can't afford an official ocean view room. Look around on hotel we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harryzack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thames Ditton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

We stayed here Jan/Feb 2012 for 11 nights, it is great. A very clean and friendly place with amazing views if you get a beach view room. The restaurant below is wicked for breakfast and all meals, really nice staff and a good bar. The reception staff are really helpful. It is in the old town which is so different to the Zona Dorada, much more relaxed. We booked a whale watching tour through Onca explorations which I would also recommend.
Jane & Marc UK

Room Tip: Rooms inside are quiter but no view :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
3.3 mi away
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
#3 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.5 of 5 stars 1,495 reviews
3.3 mi away
Quality Inn Mazatlan
Quality Inn Mazatlan
#33 of 80 in Mazatlan
3.5 of 5 stars 42 reviews
4.9 mi away
Oceano Palace
Oceano Palace
#63 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 stars 817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Inn at Mazatlan
The Inn at Mazatlan
#7 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.5 of 5 stars 566 reviews
3.4 mi away
Azteca Inn
Azteca Inn
#20 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 stars 135 reviews
8.4 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel la Siesta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel la Siesta

Property: Hotel la Siesta
Address: Blvd Olas Altas 11 Centro (Downtown), Mazatlan 82000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Mazatlan
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel la Siesta 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Siesta Hotel is located right in the Historic Centre of Mazatlan, Sinaloa, in front of the beach and the boardwalk. Our location is truly privileged, since we are near the Plaza Machado, restaurants and bars and some other icons like the Angela Peralta Theater, the Cathedral and the Pino Suarez Market. No pets allowed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel la Siesta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Siesta Hotel
La Siesta Mazatlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing