We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh seafood”
Review of Playa Cerritos

Playa Cerritos
Book In Advance
More Info
$84.99*
and up
Los Cabos Surf Lesson at Costa Azul or Cerritos Beach
Ranked #12 of 103 things to do in Mazatlan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This beach, with grass growing atop its dunes, is quiet and undeveloped.
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fresh seafood”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Playa Cerritos is a good 15 min walk from the Riu resort which I stayed at. So my friend and I would walk here to excercise off all the food we had at the resort. This place has a cool coffee shop and souvenier stores. If you walk to the end of the block youll find fisherman bringing their fresh pick of the day. I had some fresh oysters here...amazingly fresh. Cant wait to go back!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jazmin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    49
    10
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Beatiful beach, walk for miles”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We loved this beach. Not much to do apart from enjoy the sun, sand and waves, or search for seashells. Soft sand, intense sun. Lovely.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank irispiral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“World Class Beach”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We spend about 5 months each year on this beach. It is a wide sandy uncrowded beach and one of Mexico's best kept secrets. A few years ago it won an award for the cleanest beach in Mexico. Popular with the local Mexicans on Sundays and holidays but still not crowded. Stay late and enjoy the sunset.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ralph209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterton Lakes National Park, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place for the RV crowd.”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Playa Cerritos was the destination we walked to from our resort at Emerald Bay. The value was in the journey not the destination. Nice deserted beach with birds and tidal pools to enjoy. Lots of debris, typical of deserted beaches of course, which is the result of our throw away mentality but overall an enjoyable walk. The beach at Cerritos though has the usual assortment of seafood restaurants. If you want a laugh, look at the deck construction under the beach front places. It will make you think twice about your table selection. For another treat, walk down to the water, turn left and look for the fishing boats. Don Rafael, a local fisherman will probably approach you to sell you some fresh seafood. If you have a barbeque, get some lobster and grill em up for a great meal. So except for those living in the RV park, there are better places to be.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 369Canuck963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Partial review”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Only stayed for a few hours and did not go to walk on the beach to give a review. But food was cheap (lobster and oysters! yummm). great little place to have a drink and do some lite shopping!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GypsyAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Playa Cerritos also viewed

 

Been to Playa Cerritos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing