We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“We had the breakfast buffet” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Cid Golf & Country Club

El Cid Golf & Country Club
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Situated in the heart of the Golden Zone of Mazatlan, El Cid Golf & Country Club is the perfect option for an afternoon of indulgence or outdoor action. Offering exclusive, outstanding golf and tennis amenities and services, this private club features a 27-hole Championship style golf course designed by Lee Trevino that hosts international and national annual tournaments; nine tennis courts facilities, a full service Spa & Salon, a fitness center and an outdoor lap pool. In addition to these sporting facilities, visitors may also enjoy wonderful, exquisite meals at the club house. Whether you are in a mood for deliciously cooked grilled steaks or sushi specialties, El Cid Country Club offers first class services for a relaxing day experience.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We had the breakfast buffet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

The food was very good. The resort is fabulous, but not where I stayed. They offer tours as you leave the airport and some other travelers took them up on the deal and got tons of benefits including 3 tours and 2 meals.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Moneyindbank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    34
    9
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great course and pro”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

We visited the El Cid course 4 times during our last trip and took 2 lessons from Jose who is their pro. We are basic beginners and he was very patient and a great teacher.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank ChrisL99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Washington
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good day in the sun chasing my dream”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Nice course which is well groomed. 40+ years old. Our caddie Caesar was fantastic. He has been caddying for over 43 years.
Greens were tight and fast.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robusto1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good golf and great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

I played 5 rounds and my wife played 3 rounds and we both had a great time here. The course itself was not overly difficult as it was pretty wide open - it helped having a caddie to spot the ball all the time. I lost a few balls but not because of the difficulty of the course, more so because of my shankopotomous swing. It's nice to have 27 holes there which is great because playing 5 rounds in 5 days at least I got a bit of variety. The only knock on it would be that the facilities weren't as readily available but I believe it could be during off-time (there weren't many golfers). I'd recommend stocking up on drinks/snacks as you go out because you may not get a snack shack or snack cart.

The best part of the golf I felt was the caddie that I had. Martin (pronounced Martine) was great, he really took the time to learn my swing tendencies and understood my distances quickly where he would just give me the right clubs and 99% of the time he was bang on (assuming I hit it right). He wasn't like some other caddies I've had who were more overbearing with advice. Definitely did his best to make the golf experience as comfortable as possible. If you do go, I'd recommend asking for him if he's working!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank aknguyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mpls, Mn
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Challenging”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Got to play 45 holes. Tremendous variety of hole layouts to challenge all handicaps. Went during dry season, will need to come back when it has rained and the course is lusher. Staff is very friendly and caddies are very helpful.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank hubnwiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Cid Golf & Country Club also viewed

 

Been to El Cid Golf & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing