We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to sit and enjoy”
Review of Playa Brujas

Ranked #11 of 103 things to do in Mazatlan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Situated at the northern end of Mazatlan, this beach is great for surfers and beach bums alike.
The Dalles, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great place to sit and enjoy”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

The whole Cerritos Beach area is a great place. The food is way better than the resort food. Playa Brujas is mid range on the expense catagory but the food is great. I have been going every year for 6 years now to enjoy the music, surfing, food, and shopping.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank tvpv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    131
    49
    18
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best food we had on our trip”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We enjoyed Bruja restaurant; we went at night so our visit did not include the beach. We came on the early side, maybe 6:30, and were seated immediately. It took a long time to get our drinks, but then we were surprised to have two drinks delivered when we only ordered one. It turned out to still be happy hour! There were live musicians, but we sat on the perimeter, so it was not too loud to continue our conversation. They also came to our table but were not pushy. Our food choices, chicken and shrimp, were excellent; the best we had on our trip.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank IslandHopper011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciudad Mazatlán, Sinaloa, Mexico
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“relaxing, good food”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

love the laid-back atmosphere, the mariachi band can get a little pushy but the servers are friendly. nice view, but can't see the sun set into the ocean, it goes behind a rock. drinks- ordered a fresada (frozen strawberry slushie) and it was sickeningly syrupy sweet. ordered a coco natural and it was awesome- they just stick a straw in a coconut. they'll slice it up for you and bring limes & toothpicks to eat the coconut after you're done drinking the water. we love the coconut shrimp, but skip the empanadas, which tasted like old grease. we've eaten there 4-5 times in the past 9 months.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank daynamite79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theresa,wi
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“get there quick”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Quaint little place off the beaten path. Great, fresh shrimp reasonable prices. I'm afraid it will soon disappear because of the building boom in the Cerritos area so get there while you can.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank mikewolter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level Contributor
144 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A once a week must!”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We had dinner here twice during our recent 3 week stay and were sorry we couldn't find time for another visit. The food is good, varied and extremely reasonably priced. There is a "fun" atmostphere to the restaurant and they have live music. We heard that there are long waits for tables, but we had no problem on either visit (around 7pm).

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank 13Ezra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Playa Brujas also viewed

 

Been to Playa Brujas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing