We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Beautiful Plaza at Night!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Plaza Machado

Plaza Machado
Book In Advance
$30*
and up
Mazatlan City Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #3 of 90 things to do in Mazatlan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Central plaza named for Juan Nepomuceno Machado who donated the land.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
105 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Beautiful Plaza at Night!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

This is an absolute must if you visit Mazatlan!
Make sure you go in the evening at eat outside at one of the lovely restaurants there. Listen to all the music surrounding you! Totally romantic! I felt like I was somewhere in Europe.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank JeanieJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    692
    303
    61
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Performances are award winning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We will go see any performance offered during our time in Mazatlan. The acoustics are amazing and prices more than reasonable for any performance! We don't speak fluent Spanish and yet can follow each performance!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BandB08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
110 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“for dinner in mazatlan, a must”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

get a table outside, any of the restaurants will do. this is a must-see in mazatlan. food ranges from mexican to american, and there are occasionally shows, but it's just good for people-watching.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TimTran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“friendly, pretty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We always cruise thru this area for a quick drink at least. We enjoy the atmosphere and the friendly people. Many building have been restored so it is interesting to walk to area to view them.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank tropictree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A Great Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This area of Mazatlan in itself is an education. My wife and I don't do tours, we always have a rental car. That way we can go and see what ever we want. We loved the diversity of the area, the architecture, the colors of the homes. At every street, at every turn there is a new adventure. We went places no tour bus will take you. I love to stop along the way and ask for directions (I don't speak much Spanish) - it's a lesson all of it's own. Sometimes we get lost, which is fun, but we always find our way.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank HubieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plaza Machado also viewed

 
Mazatlan, Sinaloa
 

Been to Plaza Machado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing