We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
El Cid Marina Beach Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel(Mazatlan)(Great Value!)
$110
$94
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel la Siesta(Mazatlan)(Great Value!)
$35
$33
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Playa Mazatlan(Mazatlan)(Great Value!)
$190
$186
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$567
$525
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ramada Resort Mazatlan(Mazatlan)(Great Value!)
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Cid Granada Country Club(Mazatlan)(Great Value!)
$82
$71
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$469
$389
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
The Inn at Mazatlan(Mazatlan)(Great Value!)
$114
$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Luna Palace Hotel & Suites(Mazatlan)(Great Value!)
$172
$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Palms Resort Of Mazatlan(Mazatlan)(Great Value!)
$64
$51
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,725)
Filter reviews
2,725 results
Traveler rating
1,850
648
156
51
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,850
648
156
51
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsiguana poolwater taxifree shuttleone bedroom suiteshuttle servicejose luisgolden zonetime shareother resortsmain restaurantthe entire staffheated poolall inclusive packagecity tourall inclusive planspecial thankstimeshare presentation
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,884 - 1,889 of 2,725 reviews
Reviewed December 9, 2006

Wow, what a vacation! My friend and I went on a girls-only-get-away for a week and were so pleased! We got a junior suite and the all-inclusive plan, which was such a good deal. There's a Pronatours office in the lobby, and they arranged for us to take tours of Mazatlan and a tequila factory, then a sailboat excursion to Deer Island. Even with those activities plus shopping in town, we had a relaxing time. All three restaurants are spectacular and the service was exceptional. The room was clean, the beds comfortable and the water never made us sick. I can't say enough about El Cid Marina Hotel, but I will add that I plan to go back! The best margaritas are served by Carlos in the Lobby Bar. Tell him I said hello!

We did take the shuttle to the other El Cid properties, and really felt that the Marina was the most charming of them. Much more private and removed from town. The beach at the others is more expansive, but I appreciated the privacy much more.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank MissAmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2006

me and my husband went with his mother and father.
The property was very nice, the food was excellent my favorit was pool resturant your food is made as ordered. Everyone there was
so nice they spoiled us. done everything for us, if we tryed to carry food from the buffet to our room, even a banna they would carry it for us. room service was good , we didnt even upgrade,
Service was the best, drinks top shelf.
Tip Tip Tip and respect are the key to this hotel and most when traveling in this area. Even if your agent tells you. you dont have to,
do anyway it really means a lot.

Stayed: November 2006
5  Thank shomy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2006

Timeshare studio Thanksgiving week. We usually go to somewhere different in the caribbean every Thanksgiving but because of last years numerous hurricanes we thought we'd outsmart Mother Nature and try another part of Mexico. Turns out hurricane Sergio was breaking up a day or so before we arrived. Go figure ! It wasn't a factor during our stay and the weather was very comfortable.

In Cancun we stayed at the Royal Islander and use that as our yardstick for Mexico.

Easy 26 USD one-way taxi ride from the airport. Purchased round trip tickets inside airport upon our arrival. Had to call 24 hrs prior for return trip to airport. Takes about 20 minutes each way.

Grounds are pretty but isolated. Pools very nice. Staff friendly and polite. Received the usual hard sell ffom the timeshare folks but we always fight that off easily. Room was okay, beds very hard and we never got used to them. Ultra small balcony. We had coffee maker, small stove and good sized refrigerator. Coffee filters provided. No deadbolts on the door, just the old slide chains, which are useless. Beware, room safe is extra 9 USD per day. A free standard in just about any hotel on the planet. Air conditioner is loud. That can be bad or good if you need "white noise" to get to sleep.

2 Markets on property, one in lobby which is mainly a gift shop and the other down by the fuel dock. which has food, alcohol and such. The one by fuel dock only accepts cash, no credit cards.

Restaurant mix of Mexican and American fare. Thought it was odd they didn't have Lobster when other restaurants in the Golden Zone e.g., Mr. Peppers, Papagayos and Los Arcos had plenty. No Negro Modelo or XX either. Found it everywhere else. Hey, but everything is so inexpensive, except Mr. Pepper ($$$$$), so it's hard to complain much.

We spent our days riding El Cid shuttle tfrom Marina to El Morro to use the beach. Be prepared for vendors every 5 minutes or so but that's typical. These folks not that aggressive actually.

We didn't take any tours or do much of anything but lie on the beach so can't add much in that area. All in all, a relaxing week but not impressed by the El Cid Marina. Would not return.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rdytogo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2006

I guess we are spoiled by stays at the Pueblo Bonito, Emerald Bay and the Royal Villas. The rooms are too small, The room smelled and they act like everyone is a thief. The restaurant had good food and the pool was very nice. Would not have objected except it was listed as a premium hotel and it was in fact below average for Mazatlan.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank NOLEFAN#1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2006

We stayed at the Hotel El Cid Marina right after Labor Day, and were extremely pleased! (Sometimes Mexican hotels are hit or miss). The rooms are clean and spacious. Ours had 2 sink areas, so my husband had his "own" (for once). The staff is extremely friendly and helpful and spoke good English. The pools are beautiful, and clean with caves, diving area, water slide. It is on the "mellow" side, no kegger parties here, but that's exactly what we wanted.

Be prepared to take a taxi if you want to eat anywhere besides the hotel, but they are reasonable (and we loved the "open air" taxi - basically a golf cart).

The time share people begin pressuring you at the airport. You should decide early if you want to partake in their "presentation". We did not, choosing to enjoy our time on our own. Many couples we spoke to attended the presentation and got a ton of free stuff, day trips, boat trips, dinners, taquilla, even cash. They even said they went in the the attitude that they were there for the gifts, and they still got them; the reps even let them go early in some cases.

All in all, an excellent place for couples (and families) to stay.

P.S. This is the first hotel review I have ever written - they were that good!

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
16  Thank Glendalequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews