We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“The absolute best resort stay I have ever experienced!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Cid Marina Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added El Cid Marina Beach Hotel to your Saves list
El Cid Marina Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Av. Camaron Sabalo s/n, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 79 Hotels in Mazatlan
Certificate of Excellence
Livermore, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The absolute best resort stay I have ever experienced!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

The staff at El Cid Marina provides service befitting the Pearl of the Pacific. There is absolutely no better staff in the industry. This includes eveyone from the bell boys, the shuttle drivers, the maid service, waiters, bartenders, front desk personnel, the concierge...in other words, everyone! It was refreshing being greeted with not only with warm smiles and friendly "Holas", but being greeted by name day after day was a new experience for us. All of the staff went out of their way to make sure we had everything we could possibly want or need, and to ensure our stay was not just enjoyable, but a literal paradise. I cannot emphasize enough that the most impressive thing about Marina El Cid is the staff. They make this resort what it is. It is clear that they enjoy their work. If it were possible, I would thank each of them personally for the excellent care they show their guests. All of them are amazing, and none better than concierge Jorge Zendejas.

Room Tip: Pay for the all inclusive for a few days. It is well worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear: Danny K

Thanks so much for your wonderful feedback about our beloved hotel. We are so proud to know that an extensive and exposed traveler like you found our products and services up to the mark. One of the things we are constantly trained on is anticipating our guest's needs and fulfilling them, your comment about how the service staff reacts well to special needs convinces us that we are progressing in the right direction with our service orientation.

Rest assure I will pass all your comments to my staff specialy Jorge Zendejas we are proud to having him working at El Cid.

I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay and every aspect of the hotel.
If there is anything else we can do to make your time with us more comfortable, please do not hesitate to let me or any member of our team know!

Cordially,

Isaias Gomez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,029
    312
    78
    35
    15
See reviews for
525
517
45
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Okotoks, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the El Cid Marina Beach Hotel. It's a beautiful hotel and resort! The staff is very friendly and helpful! They offer a free shuttle to and from their other El Cid resorts in Mazatlan which we used to go to the Alacart restaurants. We also enjoyed the 27 hole golf course. Again the the staff at the golf course way very friendly and helpful! We were also fortunate enough to be there during the baseball playoffs. One of most exciting games we've ever been to! The Mazatlan Venaros beat the Mexicali Aguilas 4 to three. We would recommend this for anyone that enjoys a quiet, relaxing and beautiful holiday!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear: Angie H

Many thanks for your kind remarks relating to your recent stay at El Cid Marina Beach Hotel. Mazatlan is a spectacular city and it's really nice that you went to the beisbol game and support to Venados de Mazatlan in a important game.
.
We are so happy to know that you have stayed with us and have experienced our superior customer service. We are extremely proud of our efforts in maintaining a very high level of customer service, and we want to thank you for your recognition.

When you return, please contact me personally if there is anything I can do to make your stay with us more comfortable. Next time make sure you enjoy the golf again on the 27 holes. You won’t be disappointed.

Kind regards,

Isaias Gomez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We just spent a week at the El Cid Marina. It is part of a three resort complex including Marina, Moro and Castillo. We travelled freely between the pools, restaurants and beaches by a free shuttle. Each trip took only a few minutes. We attended a time share presentation (fairly easy and not overly painful) and received discounted "all inclusive", taxi ride to airport, and discounted tours. The all inclusive was AMAZING food! We could choose between 5 major restaurants and a half of dozen or so bars or beach food bars. Great food, beautiful presentation! Just beware that some restaurants have dress codes, limited times for non-owners, required reservations and days off. We figured it out and managed very well. The whole facility was spotless, and the pools were lovely. The weather was not as warm as we anticipated and the wind was cool. Could have used some warmer clothes for the evening. We took the local bus and did a self guided walking tour of the "old town". We met some of the Mazatlan volunteer aids. They wore blue shirts that have a logo indicating that. They were fun to talk to and gave out maps and helpful info. They were all expats from the US. Interesting day and we always felt safe. Another highlight was the turtle nest hatching. As we were walking along the beach north of the resort we happened upon a group of people watching turtles hatch out of a nest in the sand. Talk about a National Geographic moment! Those little guys just popped out of the sand and made their way down to the surf. They got tossed around a bit and then just disappeared into the ocean. What a experience. They do have a release program here and for $50 you can watch them release baby turtles, but we didn't need to do that. The time share street hawkers are really aggressive and persistent. If you do attend be aware that SOME (not all) have no scruples and lie, lie, and lie. Check things out carefully...if it sounds too good to be true then it probably is. Buyer beware. We also took a guided city bus tour ( that mostly was when they took you to designated shops and restaurants) and the Deer Island boat tour. No to the city tour ...yes to the Deer Island Boat as far as recommending. A great holiday and we would come again.

Room Tip: We chose a ocean view on the fifth floor. Very happy, great view with two sunny decks. The marina vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rvokvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear: Rovokvo

Your descriptive testimony of the impressions and wonderful rating of your recent vacation is dearly appreciated and we thank you for the kind review.

It is wonderful to learn that your expectations were more than met during your last stay. The level of service delivered is a reflection of the pride and dedication our staff takes in each of their duties and we are confident of being able to welcoming many more guests very soon.

I'm glad to read about your pleasant experience with the turtle release , we support this cause occasionally with a supported to aquarium Mazatlan, just for the pleasure of helping this endangered species. I'm pleased to know that you could enjoy the three hotels and what they have to offer, and each one had a pleasant experience.

I am however sorry to hear about the incident with the timeshare rep while outside, unfortunately it’s not much to do in this case, We can not intervene in the street, but we take care to not come to our area. We would like to offer our apologies for these experienced.

Again, thank you for your generous praise and suggestions. On behalf of all of us here, we look forward to serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Isaias Gomez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorafo Springs, CO
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

With out a doubt the most compelling aspect of Marina El Cid are the people that staff the hotel. Yes, the property is beautiful, the rooms are way better then average, the food is wonderful but it's the sincere friendliness and attention to service that makes Marina the extraordinary resort that it is. With me Marina is more of a state of mind then a place - I could go on and on and never convey my feelings toward Marina El Cid, you really need to be a guest here to understand.
John, Catherine and Linda

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear: John G

I would like to thank you for your wonderful comments with regards to your recent stay with us. It was a pleasure to note how much you enjoyed your vacation and would like to take this opportunity to thank you. We appreciate all feedback; but, especially enjoy reading about the great experiences we help make in Mazatlan. I am also glad you found a great service providing to our staff as we work very hard and take pride in insuring proper good service of all our guest. We will pass along your wonderful experience to our employees as a job well done.

Greetings,

Salvatore Sanchez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
90 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Have stayed at El Cid Castilla before and found the Marina a much better facility accomodation wise. The rooms are far better and I find the breakfast and snack bars are more personal. There is a heated pool with a swim up bar and another fantastic pool with slides and caves (not heated). My daughter and husband had no issues with the unheated pool and they played for hours snorkelling in the caves and jumping off the "cliffs." We took the water taxi (free) across to the private beach and had such a peaceful and fun time. Swimming in the sea and building castles and having uncluttered fun was amazing. There are vendors but a simple smile and no thankyou suffices if you do not want to buy from them. We would recommend you take advantage of booking into the a la carte restaurants. We were all inclusive and ate out at the Mexican and Argentinian. We also had the Christmas Eve banquet which was lovely. If you have kids and want the entertainment, there is a free shuttle to the El Castilla resort where you can eat and drink (and its all included). I also stay in Riu resorts and find the entertainment isn't as good as those resorts but it's still good to watch, they are fun. The pools at the Castilla are fun too if you want a more lively and full resort or if you just want a change. I went to the gym at the El Cid Grenada and there are tennis courts and a lane swimming pool for use (included). This is where the golf is if you want to play too (not included).

You cannot get bored here. The views, sunsets and atmosphere are second to none. Maid service was amazing and friendly. The heated pool bar service I found to be a lot more attentive than the cave pool bar, I think if you tip more you get more attention at the other bar which leaves a little bit of a bad taste in your mouth.

I paid $30 for wifi access for the week. It was intermittent and I heard that if you buy a coffee from the coffee shop, you get free wifi there. Depends on how much you want to check, it didn't bother me really, who wants to Facebook when you are in such a beautiful place.

We went to see cliff divers taking a pulmonary taxi - they are a lot of fun. Ask how much before you get in... The cliff dive is amazing (and very scary) to watch... I am still in shock! If you want souvenirs, this is the place to buy them too. My little one bought a keychain for her friend at $2, it was $8 at the hotel! It's also nice to shop with the local people of Mazatlan, especially now the cruise ships sail by (other resorts are more lucrative, they try to blame crime...) Such a shame and I hope they change that soon, it has affected downtown and the "buzz" somewhat.

Usually on all inclusive we wear the wrist band and thats it, we had to give our wrist band numbers AND room number at every meal and for every pool session we had drinks at... slightly annoying that after day three, the number rubs off your wrist band LOL! No biggy but worth mentioning. There are a lot of timeshare owners at the Marina and I did not see them get preferential treatment.. what it does mean is that the restaurants are less of a cattle market than usual resorts as many time share people eat in their rooms (we had a huge kitchen in our room!)...

Only negative for me was that as soon as we arrived, we were trying to board the cart with all of our luggage to get to our room and start our vacation when a timeshare lady (who are located in the lobby of all three hotels in this chain) hounded us with questions. It is obvious they are trying to get you to a meeting and I wish they would not insult your intelligence and tell your children of free trips they can have and free T Shirts. We were polite (she was only doing her job) but were worried we may get hounded our whole vacation - we didn't so that was good but would have preferred to arrive and go straight to our rooms!

I certainly did not want to come home at the end of my week stay, friendly service and a wonderful time was had by all..... So especially to our maid and the heated pool team - thank you so much for making our vacation such a great one (and the water taxi drivers too - lots of fun!!)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ruthiesid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Ruthiesid

Wow!!! Thank you for such great feedback and for taking the time to write such kind comments. I’m glad Marina was better for you and your likes. El Cid has something to offer for everyone’s preference. Marina is quieter and secluded; an advantage you have staying in Marina is you are allowed to use all the facilities of the four hotels which are Castilla, Granda, and Moro as well as the club house as you previously had mention allowing each day to be something new. Im glad you were able to enjoy some of our a la carte restaurants maybe in a future visit you can come out and try some of our other restaurants like Alcazar(Italian) and ban-horu (sushi bar). It is such an honor that you choose to spend your holidays here with us and that we were able to make your Christmas a memorable one. We are very thankful to be able to live in such a wonderful city and enjoy all Mazatlan has to offer, Unfortunately the wifi does have a charger because the internet is an outside service for the hotel. As for the time the time share employees rest assure we have token your comment into consideration and have talked to them and have let them know to try and be more considerate with the guest. My apologies for this inconvenience. It was a pleasure to have been able to assist you, there is nothing more important to us than the satisfaction of the expectations from our beloved guests and knowing they go back home happy about their vacation is the best feeling.

Cordially,

Isaias Gomez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

always enjoy the quiet comfort of the marina, beautiful views, relaxing breezes, private beach. wonderful staff are so helpful and courteous. Close enough to walk to other food and shopping venues. Staff for kids activities, movie night, able to watch the fishing boats bring in their catch.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaRIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear LindaRlowa,

Thank you for your kind comments, Mazatlan has such beautiful scenery and we are lucky to be able to see them on a daily bases such as the wonderful sunsets of the beaches, I am very fortunate to have such great hard working staff I will most definitely congratulate them on their great work they will be thrilled to hear. We always try to come up with fun new ideas such as movie nights in the pool and Poker night so we can have all guest all ages participating so I am glad you enjoyed our activities.

Come visit us again soon!!

Isaias Gomez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maricopa, Arizona
Level Contributor
155 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

The staff at El Cid Marina is very friendly the food is good and the service is GREAT. Can't wait to return. We loved the transportation between sister hotels it just couldn't be better. All their hotels are clean and neat.

Room Tip: You can't get a bad room. We had a room with a view of the marina. If you don't like to wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bpackard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMELCID, General Manager at El Cid Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear,Bpackard,

Thank you for taking the time in letting us know how great your stay was here with us, and for your kind comments,
It is a pleasure to know we did our job and fulfilled our guests expectations and left them with a good feeling about their experience and vacation.
I’m glad our restaurants were at your taste we try hard to make sure everything is always in order and tasting good.

We hope to see you again in the future.

My best wishes,

Isaias Gomez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
0.6 mi away
El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel
0.9 mi away
El Cid Granada Country Club
3.5 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
#3 of 79 in Mazatlan
4.5 of 5 stars 1,445 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Inn at Mazatlan
The Inn at Mazatlan
#6 of 79 in Mazatlan
4.5 of 5 stars 556 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
#8 of 79 in Mazatlan
4.5 of 5 stars 1,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Cid Marina Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cid Marina Beach Hotel

Property: El Cid Marina Beach Hotel
Address: Av. Camaron Sabalo s/n, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Mazatlan
#1 Business Hotel in Mazatlan
#2 Spa Hotel in Mazatlan
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mazatlan
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
#3 Family Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Cid Marina Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the peaceful atmosphere and first class services of one of Mexico's finest beachfront properties located just five minutes from the cultural epicenter of Mazatlan's Golden Zonewith attractive shops, restaurants, nightclubsand El Cid Golf & Country Club. This premier Mediterranean-style hotel is the preferred secluded spot for families who want to reconnect or couples looking for romance. Defined by our unparalleled hospitality, amazing marina-front location, inviting swimming pools, tranquil private beach and tantalizing cuisine, El Cid Marina Beach offers an unforgettable vacation experience. • Beautifully Appointed Suites • European, All-Inclusive & Elite All-inclusive Plans • Upscale Atmosphere • Secluded Golden Sandy Beach reachable by a quick water taxi ride • Two restaurants • Two pools and a spacious Jacuzzi • Two Snack Bars • Full Service Marina with Aries Sports fishing Fleet • Access to facilities of three nearby El Cid hotels and El Cid Golf & Country Club by complimentary shuttle • WIFI Internet Access • Only 20 miles from Mazatlan Airport • Pronatours Tour Desk ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Cancelon and HotelTravel.com so you can book your El Cid Marina Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marina El Cid
El Cid Marina Beach Resort
Marina El Cid Hotel
El Cid Mazatlan Mexico
El Cid Marina Mazatlan
Mazatlan El Cid
Hotel El Cid Marina Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing