We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of great features, but a few things to know...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
El Cid Marina Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 80 Hotels in Mazatlan
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed January 6, 2012

My husband and I and another couple spent 6 days and celebrated New Year's Eve at the El Cid Marina Mazatlan. The staff that works for the hotel itself is really great. Special mentions to Fidel and Carlos at the Iguana Bar, Jesus in the Lobby Bar, Javier in the restaurant and Armando at the front desk. They were so much fun and also very attentive! These people really understand customer service! We found the food to be really good, especially around the pools. Everything is fresh and very tasty!

The beds are ridiculously hard and be careful if you are sharing a room and it says for 4 adults...One couple has to sleep on a pull out sofa in the living room. No one could get any sleep on the pull out sofa so don't think that can take the place of a bed even for your kids. That was one of the main complaints we had and we heard it every day from someone around the pool. The maid service is great and the rooms are always clean. Certain times of the day, there would be no hot water for showering.

There are other people that looked like employees milling around that are part of the "time share" or "vacation club" piece of El Cid. If you ask then a question, they will give you an answer. 99% of the time it is not the truth. These are definitely salespeople and will tell you anything to try to get you to their presentations. They told us we had elite wrist bands (so you can have lobster and steak dinners and premium liquors), had been upgraded to a 2 bedroom suite and were getting a city tour one day. None of those items ever happened and we spent many hours trying to get the items promised. Of course, the salesmen promised, but then the poor hotel employees got stuck dealing with us many times a day trying to get what we had been promised (and they did everything they could to make us happy, but their hands are tied!)

Overall, it was a great trip and the 4 of us travel together a lot and make our own fun (there were NO activities...except Bingo once a day).

I probably wouldn't go back to this hotel because of the beds (and no sleep made everyone grumpy), but if they get new mattresses, it would be a much greater hotel!

Room Tip: Do NOT get a room with a sofa sleeper if someone really has to sleep on it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luv2Csites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSElCid, General Manager at El Cid Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2012

Dear Luv2Csites

Thanks a lot for selecting our hotel to stay. We are constantly striving to improve the service at our 6 hotel properties and we thank you for posting a review that will help us to reinforce our product and services.

We appreciate the comment in regards to the staff´s members you mention, i agree, they are very attentive and are always making their best to go beyond expectations, by the other hand, I am very disappointed to read that we did not meet your expectations at all, as you can read on this website, most of our guests mention how pleasant their stay with us.

I would like to share with you that we have an Activities department which offers daily activities by the pool from 10:00am to 5:.00 pm and since 6:00pm we have the Casino night at the Lobby bar. In regards to beds, I would like mention as well that we have completely updated some buildings and we still continue until to have a complete renovation, for that reason i appreciate your perception and have shared your comments with the executive team.

We really appreciate when our guests bring to our attention any concern they may have while on vacation in order to take the appropiate actions immediately to ensure that our guest are coming back home with great memories of the stay.

We do hope you will give us another opportunity, we are confident that you will have a more positive experience during your next stay.

Best regards,

Isaias Gomez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,651)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,440 - 1,446 of 2,651 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2012

Stayed at the el cid marina Mazatlan for Christmas 2011 with a group of 7. The rooms were clean and well appointed, we had two one bedroom suites, that had a kitchenette in each of them. The kitchenettes were tired and dates as was much of the hotel.

The beds were terribly hard and you are literally sleeping on a slab of concrete. There is a thin mattress thrown on top of the concrete, but it may as well not be there. However, there is a white douvet on every bed that is a nice touch. The murphy bed in the living area is the two couched pushed together. There is nothing to keep them from sliding apart, except for the coffee table, which also slides across the smooth ceramic tile easily. On your arrival to the unit, you can contact house keeping to come and make the murphy bed and they do so promply and curtiously. There is no tub in the room, just a shower. But there were two vanities which were a nice touch if you had two women staying in the same room. The bottled water in the room is not free and if you drink it, it will be on your bill at check out.

Meals, your dining option for breakfast was the buffet. Service was hit or miss here, but mornings when we had Octavia or Fidel the service was much better, and the coffee was quicker to arrive. There is an omlet station which was awesome. However, if you wanted baccon, you had to ask for it and you were handed a plate with three strips. This is the first resort I have ever stayed at that baccon was hidden. There was one two slice toaster for everyone to use and the bread selection was the pits. I was quite disappointed with the selection at the buffet. It was one counter that was maybe five to eight feet long.

Lunch was the best meal of the day in my opinion, and you coud grab fare at the buffet, the bar, or one of the two pool snack bars. The snack bars had the usual fare of french fries, burgers and chicken nuggets, however one day we saw some people being delivered chicken wings and nachos pool side. I have no idea how they got that. On one occasion I asked for coconut ice cream, and on another occasion my sister asked for chocolate cake. We are still waiting. The good desserts, like the baccon were hidden, and had to be asked for.

Dinner, was either the bar or the buffet. Daniel was our usual server and went above and beyond, but the selection was terrible, and even though you could order off the menu as well there was an upcharge for certain cuts of meat.

All of the al la cartes were located at the castella. Those were your only options at the Marina.
We tried to eat at the bar one night, but there were no kids allowed, so we didnt go there. There was no loby bar where you could go, hang out listen to a band and let the kids hang out as well.

The resort was very quiet, so we went to the castilla to the night show and the bigger buffet over there quite a bit. But the food at the big buffet, was absolutely terrible. I have never eaten so many hot dogs and french fries in all my life.

If you wanted to take a can of pop to your room, you needed to go into the bar, ask for the pop. Only two cans per person, and show your wrist band so they could track your number, and you had to sign all of the bills. I have never encountered this before and I have no idea why they do it, but if you eat or have a drink they take your wrist band number, room number, print you a bill and you sign it.

Yes, there are quite a few Mexicans vacationing at this resort. We were one of very few white families. We had no issue with this, but if your looking to meet friends and speak english to them, this may not be the place to do it.

The water taxi to the private beach was quick and efficent. We didnt get to enjoy the water, because the tides were too high and the red flags were out every day.

All in all. We stayed last year at The Bahia in Jamica, and the year before at the Riu in Cancun. The El Cid family of resorts were no where near the caliber of these resorts. If you are accustomed to the five star amenities the riu and Bahia have to offer, its best to stick with thise brands.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GypsyGirl0629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSElCid, General Manager at El Cid Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2012

Dear Gypsygirl0629

Your contribution on Tripadvisor is appreciated and we thank you for your comments.
I am very disappointed to hear that your stay was anything less than a 100% positive experience. I would like to personally apologize for any inconveniences you may have experienced during your stay; our objective is to adjust to the diverse needs of our guests, which can only take place by establishing open lines of communication.

Please allow us to host you again and pamper you beyond the extreme giving to El Cid Marina a second opportunity to change your first impression.

Kind regards,

Isalas Gomez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We just spent another four weeks at the El Cid Marina. To say that we are insanely happy there is an understatement. The staff is absolutely fabulous. I mean we’ve always loved everything about the Marina: its quiet location, serene ambience, wonderful restaurant and snack bars, beautiful grounds, our spacious upgraded one bedroom suite; but it is the staff that makes El Cid such a fun place to be. From the managers to the maids they are our family, our friends, our advisors, and our assistants. We didn’t think it was possible, but this year in becoming part of the Millionaire’s Club, we were spoiled and catered to even more. A personal butler, fancy robes, high-end toiletries, and stocked fridges were just some of the examples of this enhanced service.
There are a number of people we would like to give special kudos to: Jorge Zendejas (our butler), Javier Orozco (captain, La Marina Restaurant), Pedro Rios (chef, La Marina Restaurant), Fidel Valenzuela (captain, Las Iguanas Snack Bar), Rigoberto (Rigo) Zatarain (server, La Marina Restaurant), Rogelio Rueda (front desk), Josue Navarro Zamudia (La Marina Bar), Juanita Tirado (Cleaning), Olivia Vazquez (maid) and all the lovely ladies at the Information desk (Teresita, Lupita, Maricarmen, Carmen, Carmelita, Anna). They are always extremely kind and have always treated us as if we were part of their family.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveMexicoMucho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSElCid, General Manager at El Cid Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2012

Dear LoveMexicoMucho

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments and share this review; it is greatly appreciated. I am extremely grateful with you for so many praises.

Service is the heart and soul of El Cid Marina, and knowing that you went back with a wonderful vacation memory, delivers team motivation and job satisfaction. The most rewarding connection with guests is made one-on-one so be sure that every single person and specific area that you mention in your review will be share.

Congratulations!!! I am happy to read that you have become part of the millionaire club, and have allowed us pamper you with additional amenities in your room, amenities which have been designed just for you. We always are thinking in how renew ourselves with the main goal of going beyond your expectations.

On behalf of everyone at El Cid Marina we look forward to serve you again soon, and please, if you need any assistance for future trips feel free to contact me.

Kind regards,

Isaias Gomez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

My wife & I enjoyed our stay at the El Cid Marina Hotel. The room was spotless and well maintained. The staff was always helpful and greated you with a big smile. We were impressed with the management of this resort. K&D Mitchell

Room Tip: ask for a patio, one bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSElCid, General Manager at El Cid Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2011

Dear Ken M

Firstly, many thanks for taking the time to post this encouraging review. Secondly, I am greatly pleased to read that our facilities and service exceeded your expectations of stay. All of us here appreciate your praises and your appreciation in regards how this hotel is managed. We all are committed in provide excellence in every aspect.

We look forward to serve you again soon.

Receive our best wishes for this New Year!!!

Isaias Gomez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2011

I spend another 6 weeks in Marina El Cid and have a hard time to leave this beautiful place!
The staff is so friendly, everything is clean and Food and Service was excellent like always!
I will be back for shure!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Canimlake_Rudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSElCid, General Manager at El Cid Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2011

Dear canimlake_Rudy

I am pleased to read that you consider us you home away from home, that is why we work hard day to day, and believe me, we all of us miss you. All of us are delighted as well to read that once more your expectations of stay were met. I will share your comments with all the staff.
We do hope to have the honor of serving you again and treat you with the same service of excellence that characterizes us.

We wish you the best for this 2012!!!

Sincerely,

Isaias Gomez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2011

Nadia cheked us in and she was great - 1st impression from her was that we were home.
Jamie at activities does a good job. Water volleyball was great and he started having additional activities for younger kids - the two girls who work with him did a great job with water arobics and helped out with volleyball - night time movies were also great with free popcorn. Bingo was fun and free with give aways for winners. Daily 50 Peso Black Jack winner take all. The bellman were great in shuttleing us in the golf carts from one end of teh resort to the other.
All staff was so friendly and helpful during our 2 weeks there. This was our 2nd year there and we will be back agian - Thank you Jamie & Nadia
El Lobo

Room Tip: All rooms are great - all face ocean or marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank El1Lobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2011

We have gone to Mazatlan and stayed at the El Cid Marina Hotel each time. Slowly over the years we have increased our stay and now are up to 6 weeks. We look forward to increasing that even more. Every year we are recognized by the staff at the front desk, the bell desk and of course the pools and restaurant and even Gilbert who captains the water taxi. The service is superb by all. We also have an opportunity to see several returning guests each year and look forward to our trip every year. A wonderful time was had by all.
Donna & Sandy North Vancouver B.C. Canada

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSElCid, General Manager at El Cid Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2011

Dear Donna A

Greetings to Vancouver !!!

I thank you for giving us the opportunity to pamper you once more. Believe me when I say that the best reward we can have from our beloved guests to our daily efforts, it is your preference and having repetitive guests, like you. We are aware that a “touch” makes diference between companies and for that reason we do our best to provide you the best service ever.

For your next visit, we would like to have you with us for longer, we feel honored that you consider us as part of your family, it is reciprocal. Gilberto and all of us will be waiting for your return.

Happy New Year!!!!

Isaias Gomez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
3.2 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay
1.1 mi away
El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel
2 mi away
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
#3 of 80 in Mazatlan
1,903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
#5 of 80 in Mazatlan
1,659 reviews
1.2 mi away
El Cid Granada Country Club
1.3 mi away
The Inn at Mazatlan
The Inn at Mazatlan
#15 of 80 in Mazatlan
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Cid Marina Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cid Marina Beach Hotel

Address: Av. Camaron Sabalo 1705, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Mazatlan
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Mazatlan
#1 Business Hotel in Mazatlan
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mazatlan
#3 Family Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range: $108 - $359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Cid Marina Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the tranquil atmosphere and impeccable luxury of one of Mexico's finest beachfront properties located just five minutes from the cultural epicenter of Mazatlan's Golden Zone with attractive shops, restaurants, nightclubs and El Cid Golf & Country Club. This premier Mediterranean-style hotel is the preferred secluded spot for families who want to reconnect or couples looking for romance. Defined by our unparalleled hospitality, amazing marina-front location, inviting swimming pools, peaceful private beach and tantalizing cuisine, El Cid Marina Beach offers a memorable vacation experience. • Beautifully Appointed Suites • European, All-Inclusive & Elite All-inclusive Plans • Upscale Atmosphere • Secluded Golden Sandy Beach reachable by a quick water taxi ride • Two restaurants • Two pools and a spacious Jacuzzi • Two Snack Bars • Full Service Marina with Aries Sports fishing Fleet • Access to facilities of three nearby El Cid hotels and El Cid Golf & Country Club by complimentary shuttle • WIFI Internet Access (fee) • Only 20 miles from Mazatlan Airport • Pronatours Tour Desk in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your El Cid Marina Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marina El Cid
El Cid Marina Beach Resort
Marina El Cid Hotel
El Cid Mazatlan Mexico
El Cid Marina Mazatlan
Mazatlan El Cid
Hotel El Cid Marina Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing