We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay at the Pueblo Bonito!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
Ranked #8 of 79 Hotels in Mazatlan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 4, 2007

Stayed at the Pueblo Bonito 4/16/-4/23/07. Our first time in Mazaltaln and we loved our week and didin't want ot leave. We found the resort to be very beautiful, on a great beach location! The grounds are beautifully maintained. The pools sparkling clean and inviting! The suites are lovely, roomy with a charming Mexican style. All with great ocean views. The housekeeping is top notch! All employees are very prompt, courteous and eager to please! We enjoyed picture perfect weather while here! Great for the R&R we where looking for. The beach is great with a nice island view and terrific sunsets. The restuarants here are very good. We enjoyed the pulmonias and found the drivers helpful for dining suggestions. We toured the old city and malecon with our own pulmonia driver and enjoyed that since we could go a our own pace. We visited the sister resort at Emerld Bay. Worth the visit. A very beautiful place! But found the Mazatlan PB to be in better location and more friendly and inviting! Would highly recommend this resort and Mazatlan for a great vacation.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank htmsnag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,550)
There are newer reviews for Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

805 - 811 of 1,550 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2007

We stayed at PBM the end of March. This is probably one of the best resorts we have stayed at in Mexico. Temps were in the high 80's and evenings were prefect!!! The pool was nice and warm!! The ocean was great for boogie boarding. You may want to wear water shoes. Every once in a while you would step on a rock. The beach front was huge. There’s lots of room to move around and not worry about the vendors being on top of you. As for the vendors, there are definitely less of them because the resort is at the end of the golden zone (but Mazatlan wouldn't be Mazatlan without some vendors.) There were enough beach chairs that you never had to get up early to reserve. We would get to the beach around noonish and there were always chairs available.

We had a Jr. Suite. It was prefect for our family. The beds were very comfort!!! Room was very nice. We took a trip to the Gigante to stock up the frig. We ate breakfast and lunch on the balcony and enjoyed watching and listening to the ocean. Wednesday night the resort has a firework show. It was beautiful watching the fireworks over the ocean.

This is a quiet resort. It’s a great place to relax. It's definitely a great place for a family vacation. You don't see all the drinking you would at an all-inclusive. We were there during spring break and you would have never known.

We ate at Cilantro's restaurant. Food was okay. We enjoyed eating out at the local restaurants. We ate at "The Place", Purple Onion and The Chili Pepper. All had great food and had a great time. The people were incredible!!!

We will definitely be returning next year!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank beachgirl95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2007

My wife and I spent last week of March at the Pueblo Bonito through an exchange with RCI.
We were assigned a studio unit, consisting of a large room with 2 twin size beds, kitchenette, livingroom area, bathroom and balcony with a great wiew of the Ocean. The kitchenette contained a small refrigerator, microwawe, a 2 burner electric stove, coffe maker, blender and all accessories for cooking.
A very large bathroom, plenty of closet space, armchairs and sofas made the unit very confortable.
The hotel is 25 years old but it is kept in tip top shape thanks to the great care given to the outdoors and cleaniness of the establishement. The made service is excellent. Two large swimming pools can get quite crowded because of the large number of families with children hosted here.
Of the 3 restaurants of the resort we tried only The Chilantro for lunch. It was excellent and with reasonable prices. Other services available are an internet cafe', a small exercise room, a souvenir shop and a small grocery store. Since the hotel is very close to the Golden Zone you can have access to restaurants and entertainment by a bus or taxi short ride. The only disappointment was the beach in front of the resort: Quite narrow and rocky. Beaches in the Sabalo and Golden Zone areas are much more appealing. Overall we enjoyed our stay in this charming resort .

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank psolferini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2007

I've been to Mazatlan, Mexico five times and my preferred hotel is the Pueblo Bonito. Everything about this hotel exudes class, style and comfort. The location at the far end of the Golden Zone is perfect because you are near the action, yet not completely in the middle of it. One of the best aspects of Mazatlan is the friendly people. The staff at the Pueblo Bonito provides exceptional customer service. Everyone at the pool, restaurants, concierge desk and check in is so welcoming and cordial. I like the colonial architecture and all the guest rooms are spacious and the beds are always comfortable. I had the opportunity to stay in one of the timeshare units with a balcony facing the Pacific Ocean and the added feature of two bathrooms turned out to be a real plus. The beachfront and views of the three islands are always magnificent at sunset. All of the pools are always clean and the tropical landscaping only adds to the terrific ambiance. When in Mazatlan be sure to check out Plaza Machado, the view from the Freeman Hotel, Stone Island and the lighthouse. I highly recommend Mazatlan Frank as a personal tour guide. I've visited the beautiful mining towns of Copala, Cosala, Concordia and Rosario in the foothills of the Sierra Madre Mountains as well as San Blas and they are all worth exploring. My favorite part of Mazatlan is the historical district around the Plaza Machado. Mazatlan is still one of the hidden gems of Mexico. If you love seafood, check out the following restaurants: La Puntilla near the Stone Island ferry docks, La Bahia and Mamucas which are all downtown. Heather's Place, The Purple Onion and the Sports Saloon are local places that are good for comfort food and some local specialties. For a splurge dinner, you can dine out at La Casa Loma and have stuffed shrimp. Mazatlan and the Pueblo Bonito are my all time favorites!




  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Kayla2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2007

I am a time share owner at Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan. Our family and my parents travelled there from March 5-19th 2007. I had extra weeks, so my parents got a junior suite, and we did as well. The staff are extremely accomodating. They moved our suites to the ground floor, one room apart from the other. This was extremely handy when the kids wanted to see their grandparents. The floor level Junior suites are the best since they include a big square fenced off patio area that is big enough for the kids to kick a ball around while we sat on the chairs and table provided on the deck. The room was clean and kept up well. The maid did a wonderful job every day. We ate at all 3 of the resturants at the resort and they were all good. We enjoyed Angelo's the best as the food and atmosphere was 5 stars. I found that the drinks had gone up from previous visits as a mixed drink was about 6 dollars. Happy hour is 2 for 1 from 4-6pm daily. Having ones' own fridge cuts down on using the resort bars. My children attended a day's worth of the kids' club where they included such activities as tye dying t shirts, making masks and shell jewellery. It was about $25.00 per child for the day and that included lunch. Pueblo Bonito is a very quiet resort which draws an older crowd. I am in my late 20's but I like quiet when we go to bed, so this was fine. The pool offered daily activities and games as well as a disco night on Wednesdays. Aside from the pulmonia exaust that we caught a whiff of from time to time, I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a quiet relaxing vacation. The pools and beach front are prestine and the service is first rate!

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank albertachick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2007

My wife and I spent a week at the PBM and enjoyed every minute of our stay. We had a Jr. Suite in the Old Section and found plenty of room with a small kitchen. The only thing I would have changed is the fact we had two double beds and would have prefered a King or Queen size.

The location of the resort is just on the edge of the Gold Zone, close enough to walk to many resturaunts and shops but not in the busy traffic area. Munnskins accross the street has very good food and is very inexpensive.

The staff was friendly and we felt safe during our stay.

I will miss the afernoon happy hour drinks in the hot tub meeting and visiting new people.

We have traveled to many places in Mexico and my wife and I agree that we enjoyed Mazatlan and plan to return to the Pueblo Bonita soon.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank TexExHudson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2007

Most of what we read in these reviews is quite accurate. The Luxury Suite has 2 beds in the bedroom leaving only 3” on each side, cramping access to the closet. (Maybe the Junior Suite would be better for two?) We appreciated that the decor has a bit of “local flavor,” not a typical Americanized resort. Our ground floor unit had a large patio and great view of the pool, garden, flamingos, and the sea. Nice sunsets!

The concierge was delightful and made several dinner reservations we requested in a matter of minutes, while we waited.

We loved walking the beach. Walking south also convinced us we had picked the best resort for our first visit to Mazatlan. A few other places looked nice but had little or no beach area. We enjoyed the palapas & beach lounges at PB. There was a sign-up procedure with security, but always availability for palapas. It was quite cool and windy the week we were there, so we actually preferred sun over shade. Servers brought drinks and food from the bar promptly and with a smile. Great fluffy and colorful beach towels, too. The swim-up bar looks beautiful, but the weather was to cool to try it.

We took the shuttle to PB Emerald Bay twice. One morning we went for a timeshare pitch, which was very low-key and pleasant, giving us some extra dollars to spend on food and drinks, plus a breakfast buffet. The resort there is gorgeous, albeit isolated. We’ll consider it once the golf course is completed.

A second time we went to PB Emerald Bay to dine at La Cordeliere, which was disappointing. We were seated in an attractive but noisy banquet-hall style room, with no ocean view and a karaoke singer at the bar. (Maybe the outdoor part was closed.) The service was slow and disorganized. The dinner included a seafood & salad buffet with delicious selections, plus a plated entrée choice, and then a dessert buffet (beautiful.) We generally do not choose buffets, but this was a good one. However, our entrées were fish with a choice of sauces. One would expect these to be marinated, but they were grilled plain and the sauce served on the side. Not much flavor, and we received the wrong sauces. Later we noticed that other diners were ordering from an ala carte menu, which we might have preferred, but it was never offered. Other reviews rave about the food here, so maybe we stumbled into a special “theme night buffet,” which is not our favorite venue.

We also dined at Angelo’s, which has nice atmosphere, music and service, with just-okay food. Papagayo (too windy to sit outside) and Costa Marinera (maybe more fun at lunch) both had pretty good fresh seafood. Wish we had tried Casa Loma instead, though. Senor Pepper’s was excellent, casual-elegant, with good service, piano player, good wine list, and a limited menu of generous and well-prepared entrees. Shrimp everywhere in town are outstanding.

We found the dining at Cilantro’s, on site at PB, to be the best of all we tried, in a very pleasant seaside location. We were given a card entitling us to 10% off at any PB restaurant/bar, including Emerald Bay, and good for 15% at Angelo’s.

Maid service, daily, included a nightly turn-down.

We made use of the internet café to check e-mail, $2 for 15 minutes.

We used the Bonita Travel airport shuttle service both ways, for $16 per person round-trip. We booked this online in advance, and we found it to be a good deal and reliable service.

Mazatlan is not the easiest place to which to travel from the Midwest, but we hope to return, maybe at a slightly warmer time.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank TravelGolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
3.4 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay
1.1 mi away
The Inn at Mazatlan
The Inn at Mazatlan
#10 of 79 in Mazatlan
688 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oceano Palace
Oceano Palace
#46 of 79 in Mazatlan
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
#3 of 79 in Mazatlan
1,819 reviews
0.9 mi away
El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel
0.2 mi away
El Cid Marina Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan

Address: Avenida Camaron Sabalo 2121 | Sinola, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Mazatlan
#4 Business Hotel in Mazatlan
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mazatlan
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range: $188 - $497 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape for an unforgettable getaway to Mazatlán's exciting Golden Zone, where new discoveries abound in this idyllic 400-year-old city. Authentic Mexican style unites with modern amenities at this Mazatlan resort. Each suite at the Pueblo Bonito Mazatlán comes with an ocean view and amenities to meet your every expectation. Availably activities include sport fishing, golf, tennis, or any number of nearby beach and water activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Otel, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan Hotel Mazatlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing