We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best of Mazatlan”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
Ranked #8 of 79 Hotels in Mazatlan
Certificate of Excellence
Arvada, CO
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The best of Mazatlan”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan is the original PB resort. Just a bit north of the Golden Zone (Zona Dorada), it is quieter than downtown, but not isolated, and perfectly located for travel north or south. Its restaurants have some of the best food in town. Try Cilantro's for beachside perfection, or Angelo's for Italian to please any palate. Brunch is exquisite at Las Palomas. Their restaurants have been consistently excellent for 20 years! The rooms are constantly being cleaned and renovated. Staff are consistent and reliable. We couldn't recommend the place more highly because we have been going there since before they opened and have been pleased every time. If you are looking for a classic place that is centrally located and consistently perfect in every way, and at which you can drink the water from the tap, go to the original PB. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: The " new" side is wonderful, but you may want a bigger fridge on the "old" side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CynthiaArvada_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayra P, General Manager at Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Cynthia,

We truly appreciate your kind remarks and taking the time to review us, hope to welcome you anytime soon!

Sincerely,
David Tussi, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,016
    325
    118
    46
    31
See reviews for
631
366
26
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chihuahua, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

This is not a large hotel, like Riu or Barcelo, however the facilities are fine and cozy, a little worn out, but overall clean and maintained. Personnel is very friendly. About the location, is near other restaurants, like Alagua or Panama cafeteria and other points of interest. We spend nice time with the family and have memorable moments together. It was nice the rooms to have a kitchenette, so we bought some fruit and snacks to consume during our stay.

Room Tip: Few palapas in the beach, during peak season will be difficult to find one available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, GA
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The good: excellent location, AC worked great, nice balconies, refrigerator, our maid was great, TVs worked well with CNN,Fox News,2 or 3 ESPNs, 4 or 5 movie channels, the front desk changed my dollars to pesos all week at 12.55 pesos/$. This was the best rate I found by FAR. Transportation choices were great-bus was 6.5 pesos (50cts), bus with AC was 10 pesos (80cts), pulmonias (large open "golf cart" taxi) were 50 pesos ($4) to most places, a bit more at night and for longer trips.
The bad: My 4th floor room was at the perfect height for the palm trees to block most of my view, including sunsets. The suites have bedrooms with 2 double beds, none with 1 King as far as I could find. I am 5'7" and my girlfriend 5'8" and we were cramped in a non-romantic way. The 2 beds took up most of any floor space. Speaking of non-romantic, the place was packed with Mexican families (and screaming kids), including both pools and the beach. Wrong time of the year to go for romance. Or maybe wrong hotel choice?
The ugly: The tour desk is a thinly veiled timeshare racket. Don't bite! They were so nice trying to get us to go for our free welcome breakfast! Never once mentioned the sales presentation. Fortunately I knew better. Peddlers on the beach directly in front of the hotel's beach entrance. At least they left me alone. The beach was filthy. Pool areas start clean, but by the time everyone eats (bags of chips inside the pool? Really?) the pool areas were rough as well. Last, EVERY afternoon a mariachi/banda band was on the beach. Excruciatingly loud!

Room Tip: 403 had the "view problem". Avoid it unless you like looking at palm fronds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MDP1516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayra P, General Manager at Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your preference on choosing Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan, and for taking the time tp express your experience during your stay with us. We apologize any inconveniences that we may have caused you, however we would like to invite you and your girlfriend to stay at Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay for next time, we do have king size beds and has its own private and calm beach. Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan is an award winning resort for families so maybe that is one of the reasons you didn't feel a very romantic atmosphere around the hotel.

We really hope to welcome you and your girlfriend anytime again to any of our hotels, we'll make sure to make your stay memorable and relaxing.

Sincerely,
David Tussi, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We had a great time at Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan. It was our first time to Mazatlan and the staff there made the trip wonderful. The hotel is in a great area and has the best beach. Food at Cilantro's was great with a beautiful view. Ivan was very attentive to our needs at the restaurant. We spent most of our time at the beach instead of the pool and had such a good time with plenty to do. Fernando and Mateo always kept our drinks filled at the beach bar. I would recommend it to people who have families. We felt safe off the resort as well. La Costa Mariner has great food as well as Pancho's. See Tino there for Mexican coffee.

Room Tip: all rooms have ocean view. a/c a bit noisy but worked well
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robert w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vestal, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Very nice place to relax by the pool or sit on the beach. The staff is excellent-fast and friendly! Only complaint was that the rooms need renovating. Our sofa had tears in the cushions and we were not happy to have 2 double beds instead of the king bed listed in our reservation.
The food at Cilantro's was great and Angelo's had the most amazing dinners. We also enjoyed Pancho's restaurant just across the street.
The beach was clean and perfect to swim in. We had no trouble getting a hut on the beach. Waiters even came around taking drink orders. There are 2 pools on the resort. We usually went to the smaller one because it was quieter.
I would definitely recommend this place for people looking to relax. There was very little nightlife though.

Room Tip: All rooms were facing the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank momof3es
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We have been coming to Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan for several years and wouldn't miss a year. The staff is super friendly and helpful. We have made many friends on the beach that we have become long time friends with. The grounds around the resort are beautiful and it keeps the true Mexican flavor. You are close to many great restaurants which are all in walking distance. I have traveled to many places but this truly makes you feel at home.

Room Tip: I prefer the rooms on the top floor as the view is amazing. The sunsets are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lardog48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston Island, Texas
1 review
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan is paradise. The service, the food and the property is beautiful. This year we stayed in a Junior suite. The room was beautiful with a great view. Would have been nice to have a kind bed rather than 2 queens. The room was clean and well maintained. The pools are clean and the staff are very happy to take care of their guests. The grounds were beautiful and every day, the staff are watering, cutting grass, cleaning and working their hardest to keep the property a true paradise.

The only thing that I do not like about the vacation is the push to sell property or vacations---there is too much pressure to attend the breakfast and the presentation and then to invest.

Bottom line though is I would go every year.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the higher floors as they have the best view of the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
3.4 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay
1.1 mi away
The Inn at Mazatlan
The Inn at Mazatlan
#9 of 79 in Mazatlan
681 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oceano Palace
Oceano Palace
#45 of 79 in Mazatlan
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
#4 of 79 in Mazatlan
1,798 reviews
0.9 mi away
El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel
0.2 mi away
El Cid Marina Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan

Property: Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
Address: Avenida Camaron Sabalo 2121 | Sinola, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Mazatlan
#4 Business Hotel in Mazatlan
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mazatlan
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape for an unforgettable getaway to Mazatlán's exciting Golden Zone, where new discoveries abound in this idyllic 400-year-old city. Authentic Mexican style unites with modern amenities at this Mazatlan resort. Each suite at the Pueblo Bonito Mazatlán comes with an ocean view and amenities to meet your every expectation. Availably activities include sport fishing, golf, tennis, or any number of nearby beach and water activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan Hotel Mazatlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing