We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
Ranked #8 of 80 Hotels in Mazatlan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We have just returned from spending 2 weeks at Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan. This time share property was a pleasant experience. The location was perfect; staff amazing and the food was delicious. I had a couple of health issues while there, and could not say enough about the care I received from the hotel medical staff and the hospital to which they admitted me to.
Our room was comfortable enough, but could have been a bit more updated.
Would defintely go back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayra P, General Manager at Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Dear Debbie,

We appreciate your comments and taking the time for reviewing us, it's a pleasure for us to make guests like you feel safe and comfortable. Hope to see you soon!

Best Regards,

David Tussi, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,564)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

632 - 638 of 1,564 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2013

I have stayed at the Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan a couple of times now. It is a time share property as well as a hotel. I have always just been a hotel guest. The most recent stay was Feb 14 - 23. The place never changes and that is the charm of it. It is not the newest or fanciest place in Mazatlan, but it is consistent, and your are never disappointed. The grounds are very well kept and the pool areas are clean. I was in a Luxury Suite, which is a bit of a stretch. It really isn't more luxurious than a regular room, but you do get a separate bedroom. I was in the newer section overlooking the quite pool and on the 5th floor. Very nice beach/ocean view from the lanai. The furniture and fixtures are starting to show a fair amount of wear and tear, but not unacceptable. All the rooms have a kitchenette with a cook top and fridge. This suite also has an eating area with a dinning table. We didn't cook meals in the room, but you could. It was nice to have coffee and toast in the morning and cold beverages for the afternoon. I like the place, and will be back again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Willbetrvlng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We just returned (2 days ago) from one week at this resort. We had a one bedroom unit (they call it a Master Suite) in the older part of the hotel. It took me awhile to warm up to the room we had as everything was clunky and dated. Built in the 80's in the colonial style with stucco walls, tile and marble everywhere, the room was large but had a lot of wasted space and could have used more furniture. No way could 6 people stay here. The tile floors and counters were showing their age, but everything was clean and repaired where needed. The bathtubs looked new, as did the kitchen sink. The kitchen only had an electric two burner glass top cook-top and 1 each of the pots and pans. It took some juggling to cook our dinner one night, but it wasn't a major problem. Mostly we just cooked breakfast or made sandwiches for lunch. Having a microwave helped. Paper towels, coffee filters, dish soap, towels and a sponge were all provided which was a nice touch. When we called the front desk because we were lacking a toaster, a brand new one was delivered within minutes.

Because of previous reviews I did not attempt to use the internet in the room, we used our iphones instead. This was vacation after all and we wanted to get away from our everyday lives. (I did not even bring a laptop) The TV's were the older tube-type - the one in the bedroom was dying and buzzed all the time so we did not use it. We had CBS and NBC to watch but the showtimes were EST, but we kept busy doing stuff so we watched very little anyway.

The couch was a foldout and not super comfortable, and the 2 arm chairs were useless. Two double beds in the bedroom, but unlike another review one bed was not in front of the closet but by the only window in the front of the unit and therefore always shut. The beds were comfortable, the dresser clunky but usable and just enough hangers in the closet for us. Tons of storage area in the hallway, and the safe was easy to program.

You had to run the hot water in the tub in the master bath before you could get any hot water in the sink. The second bath did not have this problem. Hair dryer, shampoo, soaps lotions etc. were provided in both baths. There was also an iron and ironing board in the hall closet.

Our A/C in the living area did not work, but since it never got hot during our week it wasn't an issue. I did not report it not working, so I don't know if it could have been fixed. Opening the slider provided plenty of air, as long as you could handle the sound of the waves crashing on the beach. The A/C in the bedroom worked fine, but my husband thought the fan was loud so we only used it one night - again it wasn't hot so this was not a problem, but it could be for others.

We never ate at any of the restaurants on the property. They were pricier than others in town (we did eat at The Fish Market across the street 3 times - good food at almost dirt cheap prices). The super deli across from the internet cafe was also a little high priced but convenient and had a nice selection of miscellany.

I really liked the pool area. If you wanted quiet you could go to the second pool by the newer section, but I liked that there was music playing all the time and things to do. Bingo (only three games) movie theme song trivia, giant jenga, that kind of thing. (Could do without the goose honking that occurred one day.) There was never a problem getting lounges, but again it wasn't the hottest week, the weekend warmed up and there were still empty lounges about. You could see the ocean and the beach from pool side. The beach had thatched tables available and was easily accessible. When we walked the beach I thought our pool area looked the nicest compared to others - but a lot of them were built behind walls and you couldn't see them. I liked that the pool and beach areas seemed a cohesive unit at Pueblo.

There was money exchange at the front desk, and the concierge desk was always helpful with our questions, as was the front desk staff. The rooms are cleaned everyday and even though a card says they don't wash your dishes for you unless you leave pesos, anything I had in the sink was cleaned (mostly glasses).

We arrived late in the afternoon our first day so we were not hit up for the timeshare spiel, although they did call the room asking us to come get our "Welcome" package. My husband simply said we had enough timeshare time and that was it.

All in all it was a pleasant place to stay. Not deluxe or modern, but right on the bus line, close to marina and shopping but out of walking distance to old Mazatlan and the Machado. By the time we left it felt like home and I was sad to leave - quirks and all.

Room Tip: We had room 428. There were some issues with the room but it had a good view of the pool and ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Daniebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

This hotel/resort is wonderfully situated on the beach (which could be cleaner). It has 2 very good restaurants - Angelo's and Cilantro's. The 3rd restaurant for breakfast is very average.
The rooms all have an ocean view but there are no king-sized beds and the decor shows the age of the property.
There are some good restaurants and stores nearby.
The itternet connection in the room was intermittent and unreliable.

Room Tip: Not much choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HarrhAm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We just returned from 6 nites at the PB Maz. I booked thro Expedia and I initially booked their one bedroom Eur plan and paid 30 dollars more a nite, First of the resort is much bigger then I expected. Their are 2 exits to the street the main gate and one at the end of the property. IMy husband is older and walking great distances is tough. There really are not alot of the 1 bedrooms and the 1 bedroom seemed old and not very upscale---l was disappointed. and went downstairs and they showed me many rooms in different places and one was right by the elevator .They really did try to please me. It was 221 and a junior suite . It looked so much better then the older 1 bedroom. Pictures nicer and looked very different and upscale. I would not recommend the 1 bedroom as the bedroom is very small. I am attempting to get my money back for having paid to Expedia for the master suite and down grading to the junior suite
The junior suite is very open and the balcony is so nice with a great view that you tend to want to sit out there all the time.The beds are so comfortable and the pillows are wonderful.

The resort has an older crowd but really a nice feel---not too busy but nice vibe. The bingo everyday is a bit annoying. The staff is great. Cilantro is a really nice place. We had no trouble finding nice places to sit on the beach or by the pool Its a perfect beach to swim in and the sunsets are amazing. I really couldnt understand why everyone wasnt in the ocean all the time.
Bus stops right in front. You might as will see what they will offer if you do the timeshare presentation at the Emerald Bay as we got 200 dollars off our bill which really paid for all our food and drinks and they have all the flyers for discounts and any tours.
We found no flyers or infor to do stuff so I had to bug the tour desk. She found a guide to show us around and he said the private guides have hard time finding work as the time shares presentations give you discounts on tours.
It is very annoying they charge so much for the wifi even at Emerald Bay. I ended up walking next door to Luna Palace and actually found that to be a very small nice hotel---didnt have a big resort feel to it but seemed nice if you had any mobility issues so PB Maz should pay attention and keep their people from looking for wifii other places----they could end up losing business to Luna Palace.
All in all I would recommend this resort ---we had a very nice time

Room Tip: go for junior suite near elevator if you dont want to wander through alot of hallways
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbleyaert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayra P, General Manager at Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear Mbleyaert,

We appreciate your kind remarks and your time for reviewing us. We're happy to hear you and your husband had such a great time during your stay in Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan. Hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

David Tussi, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We just returned from Mazatlan last week, we spent 7 nights at Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan and had a fabulous time. Although the hotel is older and could use some work on the inside rooms, everything else was terrific. We had dinner every night at the restaurant on the waterfront. Not only was the food delightful but the manager (Ivan), the waiter Sergio and so many of the other staff treated us like royalty! The people of Mazatlan are truly amazing, they show so much warmth, smarts, respect and dedication. Two years ago I stayed at the Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay which was very nice but so far out from the city life, while this property is in a prime location! We also felt very safe during our entire visit and I encourage Americans to stay at the Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan for a delightful and relaxing vacation!

Room Tip: Upgrade if possible, the view from our second floor balcony was fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jodelkraut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Our mid-December stay at this resort was a pleasant surprise. Although there weren't a bunch of fancy extras (like an infinity pool, fancy spa, etc.), this was a nice place to be for a week. We felt it was a great location being in the center of downtown and right of the beach. We also really liked that we could travel between this resort and it's sister resort (Emerald Bay) up north via shuttle bus. The grounds were clean & the pools were nice. The hot tub could have been warmer.

Because of such low occupancy the week we were there, they had a few all-inclusive programs that we took advantage of. We found our meals at Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan were much better than the Emerald Bay resort. Cilantros proved to have a rock-n-roll wait-staff and great food. The tortilla soup was fantastic. We enjoyed the buffet breakfast every morning, too. The waffles, fried tortillas with queso and the salsas were my favorite dishes. Loved the out-door seating with lots of birds that kept trying to steal splenda packets!

NOTE: The resort has employed a handful of eager wait-staff that really work hard for their tips. Two we found that were above all the rest were Antonio by the pool and Ernesto in Cilantros. They both love their job and it shows. Our maid was fabulous and helpful.

We will go back another time.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AbiznessDigital_16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayra P, General Manager at Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear Customer,

It is great to hear you had a pleasant time and that you enjoyed your vacations at Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan. We would like to thank you for taking the time to express your satisfaction and good comments about our restaurants, food, service, and also for mentioning Antonio and Ernesto for their outstanding customer service, we will make sure to pass your comments to both of them.

Thanks again for your review, and hope to see you again soon.

Best,

David Tussi, Hotel GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
3.4 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay
1.1 mi away
The Inn at Mazatlan
The Inn at Mazatlan
#10 of 80 in Mazatlan
690 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
#3 of 80 in Mazatlan
1,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
Oceano Palace
Oceano Palace
#43 of 80 in Mazatlan
923 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Cid Marina Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan

Address: Avenida Camaron Sabalo 2121 | Sinola, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Mazatlan
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mazatlan
#4 Business Hotel in Mazatlan
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range: $174 - $492 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape for an unforgettable getaway to Mazatlán's exciting Golden Zone, where new discoveries abound in this idyllic 400-year-old city. Authentic Mexican style unites with modern amenities at this Mazatlan resort. Each suite at the Pueblo Bonito Mazatlán comes with an ocean view and amenities to meet your every expectation. Availably activities include sport fishing, golf, tennis, or any number of nearby beach and water activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Otel, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan Hotel Mazatlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing