We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,800)
Filter reviews
1,800 results
Traveler rating
1,209
370
134
51
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,209
370
134
51
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pueblo bonito emerald bay luxury suite time share golden zone activities staff sister resort great beach free shuttle second home year after year beach vendors just returned from a week master suite city tour beach area swim up bar
Filter
Updating list...
785 - 790 of 1,800 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2012

One of the biggest problems we had here was slippery tile floors due to condensation in the rooms. We tried changing rooms but had the same issue. My husband walks with a cane or crutches and was concerned about falling. The pool was too cold to swim in when we were there. We haven't stayed here since PB Emerald Bay opened.

Other than that, it's a good location and you can take their free shuttle to the PB resort at Emerald Bay and enjoy the amenities out there during the day/evening. We like eating at Cilantro's on the beach but the food quality is not consistent. Sometimes it's really good and other times you can order the same dish and it isn't so good. I suppose it depends on which chef is working on any given night. Angelo's food is always great, and is very romantic for couples. The buffet breakfasts are very good at this resort!

If you go across the street to the little grocery store, beware of a woman inviting you to a timeshare presentation at Residence Club La Jolla, which is located next to Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay. She promises U.S. funds in exchange for your time but La Jolla only pays in pesos. Also, La Jolla is well known for telling you whatever you need to hear in order to get you to buy their membership package. It was our experience that everyone who works there is deceptive and they have no intention of honoring any promises made. They will treat you like VIPs during the timeshare presentation and your salesman will even take you out to dinner if you sign a contract but when they will tell you they want to buy your weeks owned at other resorts and offer you more than what you paid for them, that is an out and out lie. They have no intention of buying them. They only tell you that to get you to sign a contract, you will NEVER see the money they promise.They will tell you if you buy their membership, and don't use it, they will pay you thousands of dollars in rent but that won't happen either. If you dispute the charges you put on your credit card to buy their membership, the bank will reject it because you signed a contract.

If you have been scammed by them please contact Mr. Fernando Alaniz at falanizc@gmail.com.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lanningslee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Just returned from Mazatlan; stayed at this property as a guest of an owner. We stayed in a ground floor junior suite with a nice outside covered patio. Our room (120) was up a short flight of stairs close to the lobby, so there was quite a bit of foot traffic outside our door. We could also hear road traffic. The beds were OK, but the rest of the furniture is badly in need of replacement. The sofa was extremely uncomfortable and unsuitable for sitting or sleeping. There were 2 out-of-place looking Queen Anne chairs that didn't invite relaxation either. This is a very warm time of year down there, and the air conditioner barely kept the place cool. We asked the front desk to adjust it, but no change. Also, there was black mold on the air conditioner vent. The old television had no remote control, and both volume and channel buttons served to change the channel; no way to control the volume. Ants and mosquitos were a bit of a problem in the room; another guest reported that she had the same, plus cockroaches.

The biggest disappointment was the lack of wi-fi around the pool and restaurants (apparently they used to have it). The only place with a wi-fi signal was in the building next door, where there is a small business center-type room where one can pay to use the computers, or a small lobby just outside where those with their own computers can pick up a signal. Unfortunately, there is only seating for about 4 people, so space was at a premium. Phone signals for both Verizon and AT&T on our iphones was spotty to non-existent.

The pool area was not crowded. There were plenty of lounge chairs (no cushions) and waiters were attentive with drink service. We had the meal plan for about $57 per day, which included all meals, drinks, snacks, even room service. Very handy. The food was ok; we both experienced a bit of tummy troubles. There were few Americans during this week, and many large Mexican families with noisy small children in pools and restaurants.

I have visited the Pueblo Bonito in Cabo and found this one to be more charming and intimate. However, it is badly in need of updating. It has nice grounds and a nice swimmable beach.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank TrvlAgtRet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

my wife and i have visited pueblo bonito mazatlan twice and pretty much enjoyed our stay. the past two years we have run into incorrigible problems. if you arrange your air-hotel packages through an orbitz or travelocity, you probably want to do it many months ahead of time to take advantage of good rates. try doing that with pueblo bonito's operations! unlike most other resorts, they do not list their orbitz packages far enough ahead of time. for example, you cannot get a price for any day in 2013 even though you can for many other resorts there and in other areas such as cancun. the fact that this is self defeating doesn't seem to faze these people.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Service
4  Thank grambo07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

As always this Hotel resort was great. We got the Presidential Suite...wonderful

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank liz89win
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

we stayed at the pueblo bonito from Wednsday to Saturday on the end od April 2012.
The hotel is dated but nice.
Having the experience at previos pueblo bonito in Cabo I did not fall for the go to the next desk so you can listen to the hotels features, they just want to take you to see another Pueblo Bonito so you can buy a time share, I do not even like to waste my time, so that is what I told them when the called the room, a free breakfast at the other resort and losing a day in mazatlan is not worth it.
They offer all inclusive which is pretty cheap if you are a heavy drinker and eater, but we ate mostly outside so we declined.
We did have breakfast at the Pueblo bonito it has a nice ambience and beutiful view, eggs and fruit are delicios, but pancakes just suck.we had a dinner at the restaurant in front of the beach expensive and not all that great.
The alcoholic beverages are soo yummy I have stayed at resorts were they are syrupy yuck, but they use the good kahlua reall bananas for these amazing drinks.
Also a good feature is that it is located in a great beach, I encountered people from the pueblo bonito emerald that came to use the beach at this pueblo bonito.
My husband got sick two nights before and the aire conditioner at the room was perfect I walked a lot to find a thermometer not knowing that the hotel has a great minimarket with all the first aid medications, you need they also sell groceries . And the prices are GREAT.
I find the hotel very economical. Clean but dated the bathroom in our room had rust, the kitchen is very dated.
Staff is great no complaints

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank chelitamedrano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews