We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,097)
Filter reviews
2,097 results
Traveler rating
1,206
510
201
102
78
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,206
510
201
102
78
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscasa robertogolden zonejoe's oyster barocean viewshrimp factoryzip lineitalian restaurantbeach servicebeach areabeach vendorshotel restaurantopen airmain poolnorth sidecommon areasgreat beachall inclusive plan
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 2,097 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2018 via mobile

We stayed at Hotel Playa Mazatlan with our family and 3 other families. From the moment we walked in,everyone at the Hotel was friendly and helpful. I recommend the all inclusive plan. The food at the buffet was great and the waiters were always friendly! We are already planning our trip to Mazatlan next summer and will defenately stay at Hotel Playa Mazatlan again!

Stayed: July 2018, traveled with family
Thank Shelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Playa_Mazatlan, Gerente at Hotel Playa Mazatlan, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear valued guest
Thanks a lot, we feel honored. We greatly apprecciate your promise to come visit again, it will be our pleasure.
Gracias

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2018

We stayed at this hotel and were very pleased with the level of service and location. It is well situated in the gold zone right on the beach and is close to lots of restaurants and shopping. The staff were very helpful, attentive, and courteous, and the security on-site was decent. We did not do an all-inclusive plan (we just got a room on European plan) as there are plenty of restaurants and bars in the area and they are very affordable, however this is an option if you are into that sort of thing.

The hotel has many pools (heated) and there are lots of options on-site for dining, etc. if you prefer to stay at the resort. I would recommend this place if you if the beach and pool options are important to you, and as mentioned it is also good for families with children. The service is great and the rooms rates are fairly reasonable if you book ahead of time or search for a deal on-line.

Stayed: January 2018
1  Thank Canadian071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Playa_Mazatlan, Gerente at Hotel Playa Mazatlan, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear valued guest
Thanks a lot, we feel honored.
It is only our pleasure to be of service, we hope for the opportunity to be of service once again soon.
LTVient

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2018 via mobile

The good: Room service top notch! Thank you to Ezequiel and Armando, very attentive and professional.

The bad: WOW...

1. Cleaning service. The room was very dirty when we arrived. I had to leave a note for them to clean the bathroom door which had smears. The toilet was sealed but when we broke off the seal, there was hair. Their response: go to reception and upgrade to another room paying the difference. I wouldn’t have mind that but they didn’t correct the situation of the current room.
2. The Buffett although good, the manager Nicolas didn’t let us sit by the fence to have an ocean view. Even though they had 6-7 tables available and it was not busy. He said we were 3 people and those tables were for bigger parties but there was a lady with only her and a child and they were ok with that. This was very upsetting how they made exceptions with us.
NOTE: we were not on the ALL INCLUSIVE and we paid for everything at the hotel including tips. I believe they cater to the all inclusive crowd, who knows!!
3. We booked a Disney show and not once did they said I had to pay in advance. I thought we would pay at the entrance. We went in and no one asked us for money. We were wondering who we had to pay. In the middle of dinner, a manager came and made us go with him to reception to pay for our meals. He could have taken the money for us for the inconvenience but instead made my husband leave in the middle of his bite to pay! Rude and unprofessional and disorganized!!

Bottom line... we are never coming back and we will not recommend this place to anyone. I was fooled by the over 4.5 stars. This place is barely a 3 stars. Don’t be fooled, pay the extra money and stay at Pueblo bonito. We heard by word of mouth this place was very nice.

Stayed: July 2018, traveled with family
5  Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Playa_Mazatlan, Gerente at Hotel Playa Mazatlan, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear valued guest,
We appreciate you taking the time to post your comments, please note that the standards of the hotel have a high expectancy on in room cleanliness, and we are truly impacted by your experience, I will personally be following up with our Head of staff in that department, as well as reviewing the people in charge of room cleaning during the period in which you visited. This in the hopes of taking advantage of these issues as an area of opportunity and training for the team. In future I would ask that you feel the freedom to contact me direct so that I may of service. I am sure that in your next visit you will see that cleanliness will be a non issue during your visit. As per the issues with food and beverage and management. Please note that this has already been reviewed with our food and beverage management and we have found that the issue began in concierge, we will make sure that it does not occur again. I hope that in future we will have the chance to change your mind about our property, please do not hesitate to contact me directly if I can be of service.
Best wishes and safe travels,
LT VIENT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2018 via mobile

The last 15 years appear to have been unkind to Hotel La Playa, once a tranquil boutique hotel frequented by my wife’s family during her childhood and as a young adult. The hotel now appears to be targeting the entry-level mass market with the addition of hundreds of rooms and repetitive institutional-grade buffets in which hot food was often cold, and cold food often warm.

The “all-inclusive” moniker became something of a joke among our party of ten as only entry level mass-market brands were included. Mazatlan is the birthplace of Pacifico, and the hotel left guests bewildered by allotting them two bottles of Pacifico in their room each day (to be clear, two per room, not two per guest), but not including the popular brand in their “all-inclusive” plan elsewhere on the premises.

One person in our party was charged for a lemonade promptly after checkout by a surly staff member, and then the hotel had the audacity to post staff immediately behind us to insure that none of us dare share a sip of our “all-inclusive” lemonades with her before she departed.

The noise in the rooms was incessant: by day there was loud construction on an adjacent part of the building, and by night noisy teenagers and the echo of slammed doors kept us on edge.

Escaping to the beach did not provide tranquility either, as competing loud beach bands frequently created a unpleasant cacophony, although fortunately less frequent than the roving beach vendors which were simply incessant.

“Free WiFi” meant WiFi from yesteryear for only two devices per room, and purchasing the WiFi upgrade was only a slight improvement as tested speeds were a small fraction of that advertised.

Our party of ten booked five rooms with varying check-in and check-out dates. Two of the rooms advertised as “penthouses” were most certainly not on the top floors. In fact, one of them was on the ground floor adjacent to a major pedestrian corridor or breezeway which was extremely noisy and the view largely blocked by the restaurant and palapas.

Apart from the bands and the vendors, the beach is nice and the view is spectacular, yet despite having paid for the two “penthouses” for five nights, we left after three. Sadly, we could not even complain properly. We did try, but were told that the manager was only available by appointment.

Unless noisy construction, mediocre food, and a mass-market ambience have appeal, we would suggest that travelers book elsewhere.

Stayed: June 2018, traveled with family
8  Thank DFlySeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2018 via mobile

Our family was staying near by at another hotel and walked across this hotel/restaurant. With an hour before closing, the staff and Victor were very welcoming! Service was great throughout the whole meal, as Armando took really great care of us. Music and the view was amazing! I would definitely recommend eating here due to the phenomenal service and environment.

Stayed: June 2018, traveled with family
Thank Viviana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Playa_Mazatlan, Gerente at Hotel Playa Mazatlan, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2018

Dear valued guest
We greatly appecciate your visit and your kind comments. We hope for the opportunity to be of service once again.
Always happy to be of service,
LTVient

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews