We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Aquarium in Mazatlan” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Acuario Mazatlan

Acuario Mazatlan
Ranked #8 of 90 things to do in Mazatlan
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This aquarium holds over 250 species of fish, a marine museum, Gulf of Mexico Oceanic Fish Tank, walk-through aviary and crocodile and frog area. There are also three shows: a sea lion show, bird show and diving exhibition. For those who dare to, there is a swimming with sharks activity available!Located meters from the Malecon at the sea lion sculpture intersection.We are an educational and recreational institution that supports the conservation and protection of the environment. We take pride in offering the highest quality of service, which is reflected in our exhibitions, shows and educational programs, and this is all due to a professional and interdisciplinary team.
Mazatlan, Mexico
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Aquarium in Mazatlan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Great shows. Large walking areas big enough for strollers. Plenty to see including reptiles, birds, deer, seals and much more.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Retired_Canadian1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    238
    138
    36
    20
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
LA
2 reviews
“MEH”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

They had a lot of Birds, and smaller fish. But I wanted to see some larger ones; they also had a cage marked 'Crocodiles' and they were in fact very evidently Robotic Crocodiles. Meh. Cost around $9 and was very crowded. I'd say you could skip this.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank cam c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stow, OH
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Worth the cost, Sea World meets aquarium”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

The facility is very inexpensive compared to aquariums in the States. The staff are friendly and there are interactive shows like you would find at Sea World. Like most other things in Mazatlan, it is half indoors and half outdoors. For a small fee, you can actually swim in the shark tank.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank albra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Short Day Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We have been visiting this Aquarium since 1992. My children loved it as tots and enjoyed it this year as young adults. It has grown over the years and the exhibits are quite good. The shows are entertaining and the grounds/gardens are relaxing to stroll through. It is not expensive and a great break from the beach. It is in Spanish, but we all did understand what was going on.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mazatlan, Mexico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fish Galore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

A new shark tank has been added. Beautiful garden to walk in and really fun seal and sea lion shows, dolphins...a good visit in Mazatlan.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank khachosan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Acuario Mazatlan also viewed

 
Mazatlan, Sinaloa
Mazatlan, Sinaloa
 

Been to Acuario Mazatlan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing