We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good restaurant on Stone Island”
Review of Molokay Restaurant

Molokay Restaurant
Ranked #106 of 407 Restaurants in Mazatlan
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A good restaurant on Stone Island”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Started out in the afternoon doing the tourist thing; Stone Island. Jumped in one of the silly cabs and was quoted 80 pesos to get to the boat landing. Once at the landing, I paid 30 pesos for a round trip boat ride to the island. Then another 30 pesos to get from the island landing to the beach side of the island. I asked several what was the best food on the island and I was told Molokay. I had a couple of huge margaritas and the stuffed shrimp with spicy chipotle sauce; all was very good. Even though it was hotter than I'm used to, there was a great ocean breeze. It was a nice outing. Ride back to the landing was another 30 pesos. Took another silly cab back to the hotel for 60 pesos.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pbhomey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    16
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Advocate Harbour, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Palapa Paradise”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

What more could you want? Everything is served fresh and locally grown or fished,served with ice cold Pacifico.Go there now!!!!!!!!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bootsyjean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mazatlan
Level Contributor
88 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice place to spend time at Stone Island”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

The Molokay is a very pleasant place to spend time at Stone Island. They have a variety of seating, on the sand , on a deck, under a shady Palapa. The menu has a good variety of choices including fish and shrimp dishes. The washrooms are clean and there are change rooms to use as well.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mazmurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Loved sitting with feet in the sand, umbrella over us drinking great beer and eating wonderful food!”
Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

After taking the water taxi to Stone Island Beach
We were delighted to spend the afternoon swimming eating and enjoying a very laid back day!!
A big plus included free wi fi:)
Our steamed shrimp were wonderful !!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy34091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lompoc, California
Level Contributor
141 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Not enough superlatives - the freshest seafood, the best location!”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Molokay is a rustic palapa (thatch-roofed, open-walled hut) on the calmest, whitest beach in Mazatlan, on Isla de la Piedra (Stone Island). The ocean water in the cove looks like a swimming pool, except for the locals fishing right off the beach. The food was absolutely delicious, starting with fresh coconut milk, served in the coconut. The mahi-mahi ceviche was so fresh and delicious, and the fish filet was tender and even more delicious. Some delicious-looking shredded coconut and brown sugar confection went floating by, but I had no room for desert. I am eagerly anticipating my next chance to enjoy a meal and a sunset at the Molokay.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelinFool93436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Molokay Restaurant also viewed

Mazatlan, Sinaloa
 
Mazatlan, Sinaloa
Mazatlan, Sinaloa
 

Been to Molokay Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing