We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ate here twice, consistently excellent”
Review of Topolo

Topolo
Ranked #5 of 407 Restaurants in Mazatlan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $13
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
205 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Ate here twice, consistently excellent”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

did not have reservations, but made reservations at 5p to arrive at 5:30p (walking around the centro area until then). We were the only ones in the restaurant until 6p and it did not begin filling up until 7p or so. Our waiter, Carlos, was very accommodating and we had several others looking after our table throughout the evening, very attentive, my water glass was never more than half empty (and, per Carlos, their tap water is purified and OK to drink—now several days later I can attest to it being safe, no ill effects). They made salsa fresh tableside, using roasted peppers and tomatoes, it was probably the best salsa we had in Mazatlan (which says a lot, since we had fresh salsa at several excellent restaurants).

There is both a Spanish and an English menu. We had the brie cheese appetizer, which came with both crackers and small toast wafers. For the main course I ordered the “Chile Relleno” on the menu, but note that it’s actually a Mexican plate that also includes Carne Asada and an enchilada (it appears on the menu that these are just sides or part of the Chile Relleno, but it’s actually just bolding of the first of three items). My wife had the Ahi Tuna. Both dishes were rather large and we ended up with take home containers that made a nice lunch the following day.

There was a guitarist who began playing at 7p and was quite good. Overall a very pleasant evening out and our best meal in Mazatlan to date.

Tip: the address shown is correct, but the mobile app (using Google Maps data) shows a location 120 miles north of Mazatlan. Not sure why, since entering “Topolo Mazatlan” directly in Google Maps provides the correct location. It is downtown in the Centro district, fairly easy to find on Constitucion just west of Calle Benito Juarez. Easy walk from the bus stop, market or cathedral.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonvilliers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    599
    116
    23
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very good food, great atmosphere”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

The food here was awesome, and the staff were as well. The salsa was made fresh at the table and was some of the best salsa I have ever had. It was a little more expensive than other restaurants in the area, but the food was well worth the price. I would go here again in a heartbeat!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brittany W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
195 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

We have been long time visitors to Mazatlan but this was our first visit to Topolo's.we went as part of a small wedding function (30 perswons, including two small children) and had a wonderful experience. The food was very good from the hand made to order salsa at table side to the wonderful dishes. Plentiful selections on the menu. I had Cilantro fish and it was wonderful. Wonderful staff matched to the size of our party and the atmoshere was excellent. A winner!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladstone, Oregon
Level Contributor
64 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Carlos and Cilantro Fish-What a Combination!”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We have been going to Topolos since it opened. It is our favorite place in the old town. Right off the plaza and close to Pedro and Lolas. Our party of 14 was served by Carlos, and as usual he helped make our experience there a fabulous one. The cilantro fish was supurb and the house water( with cucumbers in it) was heavenly. If you have a chance to go there, do it! You won't regret it!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank STEVEGD118595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Yeah, reviews are right on”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Mom and I were going to go there for our Thanksgiving dinner, but she didn't feel up to it. So we went the next day, and we went early since we knew we didn't have a reservation. In fact we got there shortly after they opened at 3 PM on Friday. The sun was still up and the place was ours. The attention the staff gave us was wonderful. The salsa at the table is as described. The pork shank fell off the bone, and even the small helping of mashed potatoes that came with it were incredible. Most definitely glad I had the strawberries flambe afterwards. Don't normally do desert, but had to. The sun went down while we were eating, and then we strolled into a nearby square filling up with locals, tourists, vendors, musicians, and bride and grooms having a photo shoot done. It was a pretty cool night, and most definitely worth the fun pulmonia ride over from the Golden Zone!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Unit312J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Topolo also viewed

Mazatlan, Sinaloa
Mazatlan, Sinaloa
 
Mazatlan, Sinaloa
 

Been to Topolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing