We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem near Mazatlan's Historic Center”
Review of Old Mazatlan Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mazatlan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old Mazatlan Inn
Ranked #51 of 79 Hotels in Mazatlan
Thousand Oaks, California
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A gem near Mazatlan's Historic Center”
Reviewed December 23, 2009

The old Mazatlan Inn is a nod to the charm and artistic beauty that is real Mexico. Situated in a lovely neighborhood, close to everything; the sea walk (Malecon), Plaza Machado and all of the sites in the Historic center of Mazatlan are an easy walk away. The building is a marvel and the sunsets from the roof terrace are sublime. We could even see the cruise ships docking while still snuggled up in our bed. The staff and manager will bend over backwards to make your stay in Mazatlan a memorable one. Great extras include free wi-fi connection, beautiful pool, and an outdoor common dining and BBQ area (to cook your fresh shrimp!) make you feel like you are at home in your grand hacienda!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank takemetovenice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    8
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
20
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
saskatchewan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 18, 2009

This was my first time to mazatlan. My Wife and i got a great last minute flight thru West Jet . The old mazatlan inn was recommended to us. This was my 8th time to Mexico, (I have been to PV, Ixtapa and Bucerias previously) and we were prepared to just have a decent place to stay. (as the price was right!) The location and Hotel exceeded our expectations. It really reminded me of travelling to Mexico in the early 80's, Very laid back, wonderful/reasonable food, cheap cerveza and great people. The Hotel is located just a block and a bit from the malecon in the historic part of town, and a host of great restaurants (If you need to get there just say right by "El Shrimp Bucket" ) The rooms are very comfortable and the roof top patio is scond to none for atmosphere and a view to die for!!. The pool area is very seclude and cozy. During our stay we had the place to ourselves pretty much. Staying there in September, be prepared for extreme heat and humidity however. All the accomodations appear to have kitchen facilities. There is a great market just a couple of blocks away and you can get pretty much anything you want in the way of food (also not bad shopping!) In all our trips to mexico I can't say as I have felt as safe as i did on this trip when we walked thru the various neighbourhoods in the old part of town. Not sure when we will get back to mazatlan,but when we do, we will be staying back at the Old Maztlan Inn for sure!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bcbound_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2009

We have been to Old Maz Inn two years running and are returning a third time this coming winter. The staff is very friendly and helpful and the rooms are very comfortable and clean. Location is great - only a couple of blocks to the ocean and the beautiful malecon boardwalk. In the other direction, town machado is a five minute walk. Restaurants are plenty and all within walking distance. In our opinion, the true test of a great holiday place is recurring guests and we will be revisiting many of our friends made last winter at Old Maz Inn. The outdoor kitchen and barbecue area is a great place to spend time with other guests. We love the charm of El Centro Mazatlan and enjoy our daily visit to the market. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FriendlyCanucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo Gap, South Dakota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2009

I really liked the hotel. It wasn't in the middle of everything but a short walk to get places. Would have been a little nicer to be closer to the tourist area. Sitting by the pool was very relaxing and you were not constantly bothered with was a pleasant suprise. Room was clean and felt more like an apartment that a hotel room.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Redgirl29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 18, 2009

This charming Inn is nestled close to the Malecon as well as the the downtown core! Located & built on a hillI the Inn reflects a Mexican Flair .. What you see on the website is what you get! No hidden surprises! I spent 3 months exploring the area! I felt safe on my own... wether i was up & about during the day or walking to the Square in the eveningI The quaintness of the Inn allows for socialization between guests if one is so inclined... The staff is great & keep the Inn spotless! Information brochures about the area are readily available to guests. Or check with guests as a rule we like to share information... See You there this winter! Former & Returning Guest! ella

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EMCAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
0.4 mi away
Casa Lucila Boutique Hotel
Casa Lucila Boutique Hotel
#16 of 79 in Mazatlan
138 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Melville Boutique Hotel
The Melville Boutique Hotel
#37 of 79 in Mazatlan
26 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Centro Historico
The Inn at Centro Historico
#42 of 79 in Mazatlan
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
The Inn at Mazatlan
The Inn at Mazatlan
#9 of 79 in Mazatlan
681 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel la Siesta
Hotel la Siesta
#18 of 79 in Mazatlan
251 reviews
5.0 mi away
Blue Pacific Suites
Blue Pacific Suites
#71 of 79 in Mazatlan
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Mazatlan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Mazatlan Inn

Property: Old Mazatlan Inn
Address: Calle Pedregoso 18, Mazatlan 82000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 79 Hotels in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Old Mazatlan Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Historical Mazatlan and a block to the pacific. Mazatlan's most truly Mexican Rustico & private oasis hotel, offers two bedroom, one bedroom and studio suites. All with complete kitchenettes. Wireless internet throughout the property. Free calls to the States and Canada. English speaking staff. Enjoy drinks by the pool or relax on the roof top terrace and take in the spectacular views of the ocean and city. Walking distance to everything. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing