We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“There is no other choice for us in Mazatlan.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Olas Altas B&B

Olas Altas B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mazatlan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Olas Altas B&B
Save
You added Olas Altas B&B to your Saves list
Ranked #18 of 49 Mazatlan B&B and Inns
Fairbanks, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“There is no other choice for us in Mazatlan.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2010

After thinking that staying at an all-inclusive resort would take all the charm out of our trip to Mazatlan, we decided on Bill's place: The Olas Altas B & B. Based on the website pics alone, we decided that this would probably work out well as we wanted to have more of a chance to mix with the locals and eat our meals at smaller local restaurants vs the all-inclusive hotel meals. From the very first moment of our stay we knew we'd made the right choice. Bill greeted us at the door and showed us into the foyer which was just the start of a gourmet experience to the eye; a beautifully restored and meticulously designed hacienda and pool that said, "Welcome home." After helping us lug our bags to our room, (which happened to be the "Fish Room" based on a unique sea-life motif), Bill joined us for a cold Pacifica beer at poolside and filled us in on the partculars of the B &B and the local area, including available places to eat that evening. He reassured us about the safety of the neighborhood/area and how we should feel good about exploring the area completely, even at night. We took him at his word and freely ambled the markets, Cathedral area, local neighborhoods (which included the Plaza Machado...Don't miss it!), and lots of shopping and great restaurants. The locals are extremely friendly...don't hesitate to say Beunos Dias! Add to this B & Bs proximity to the beach and Malecon which are about 300 feet away and ample (and cheap) taxis/ busses/ pulmonias for getting to the Golden Zone, and this place is a dream. Our week at the Olas Altas B & B with Bill and Tracy was full of laughs, witty banter, comfortable restful nights, great breakfasts (created by Bill or Tracy) which were so satisfying that we rarely ate again until suppertime, and a feeling of genuine camaraderie. My wife, Susan, also had a massage by the masterful Tracy (yes, also the masterful chef) that she is still raving about. Don't consider another place to stay if you want the kind of Mazatlan experience that will have you wanting to do it all over again the moment you get back home.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pchapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
14
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Meadview, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2010

Olas Altas B&B was exactly what we were looking for in our stay in Mazatlan. We were in the heart of the historic district, 1/2 block from the beach, walking distance to beachfront restaurants, central market, ferry to Stone Island. The remodeled hacienda was very modern and beautifully decorated. We spent alot of time at the swimming pool and outside bar chatting with fellow guests. The hosts Bill and Tracy were exceptionally accomodating and met all our needs. The morning breakfasts were delicious. We usually did not eat till dinner as the breakfasts were a full course meal. The bed and breakfst was very safe. I would highly recommend this bed and breakfast. We plan to return next year for another week.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bucky7680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite Bay
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2010

This place is a true gem. If you want to feel truly welcome and well provided for, this is the right place. Bill and Tracy are great hosts and seems to enjoy spending time with their guests whether it's pouring them a beer, just chatting or going out of their way to fulfill a personal request. Tracy is also a masseuse and although I didn't have time to take advantage of that feature, I certainly plan to on our next visit. Impossible to say enough about the breakfast served! Never the same breakfast twice and all were delicious. Although Tracy is the professional chef and it definitely shows, Bill also cooks splendid breakfasts. It was very enjoyable talking with the Bill, Tracy and the other guests over a very satisfying breakfast before starting ones day exploring Mazatlan. Olas Altas is located just steps from the Malecon and a few short blocks from the Plaza Machado. Both the Malecon and the Plaza Machado have good restaurants with the atmosphere at the Plaza Machado being more "old world". Bill completely restored the Olas Altas building and he did a wonderful job of it. From the beautiful sweeping staircase to the hand made chairs, etc. in the kitchen, to the use of complimentary colors on the floors and walls. A beautiful job and a pleasure to experience. Our only slightly negative comment is the street noise on some nights. My husband and I somewhat noise sensitive and did need to use ear plugs to get a good night's sleep on some nights. Hence the rating of 4 for "sleep quality". The mattress was great, the room was large and clean and staying in the "Fish Room" we had double sinks in the bath which we really appreciate. We used our ear plugs and had no problem after that. One last note; don't be afraid of staying on the upper floor because you don't think you want to deal with the stairs. My husband and I have both had knee operations and are no fan of stairs but; Bill has made the raisers on the staircase the perfect height so their is no strain on your knees! What a relief that was! Obviously, we were very happy with our stay and will definitely be returning and highly recommend Olas Altas for your vacation.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Saturday8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2010

We planned to stay 5 days and extended it to 10 we had such a good time. Walking is excellent, only steps to a beach and 10 minutes to the heart of the historical/restaurant/market district. Bill is a great host and took us to the local golf course and the best restaurant just around the corner. The rooms are beautiful, breakfast, great. We had a friend with a condo in the hotel zone, but we are very glad we stayed here.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ken1492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

The rooms were immaculate. The breakfast...excellent! The private pool is nice and the bar is well stocked. Overall an excellent value for the money! Cleaning and maintenance are top notch. Nothing bad to say about this B&B whatsoever.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atltummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsville TX.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2009

I was in town for a working vacation if there is such a thing. It turns out that there is. Tracy was very hospitable and his outstanding meals and hospitality I almost forgot I was here for work. I would recommend this Bed and Breakfast to anyone that is staying in Mazatlan. It is located in the peaceful part of Mazatlan close to many restaurants for lunch and dinner and only a short trip to the Gold Zone. Thank you for your wonderful hospitality Tracy I will be coming back for just a vacation next time.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank utman101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lexington, kentucky
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2009

If you are looking for a home away from home with fabulous meals, ambiance, privacy, and close to it all you'll find it at Olas Altas. You are with easy walking distance of museums, Stone Island, and the market. The Aquarium is a short 8 peso bus ride as is the Gold (Dorodo) Zone.

If you have a particular breakfast favorite, Tracy will be sure to make it....awesome chef.

We would recommend this to only our dearest friends as Tracy, our host, deserves only the best

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rafrnhm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
0.2 mi away
The Melville Boutique Hotel
The Melville Boutique Hotel
#38 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.5 of 5 stars 21 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Posada Freeman
3.6 mi away
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
#3 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.5 of 5 stars 1,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel la Siesta
Hotel la Siesta
#19 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 stars 226 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Lucila Boutique Hotel
Casa Lucila Boutique Hotel
#13 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.5 of 5 stars 125 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Inn at Mazatlan
The Inn at Mazatlan
#7 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.5 of 5 stars 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olas Altas B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olas Altas B&B

Property: Olas Altas B&B
Address: Calle Doctor Hector Gonzalez Guevara # 3 | Centro, Mazatlan 82000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Olas Altas B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and enjoy a unique, exclusive tropical boutique hotel... featuring all the amenities of a first-class residence just steps away from Mazatlan's famous Olas Altas beach. Featuring spacious suites with lovely high ceilings. Our six comfortable rooms include individual bathrooms, private balconies and a full breakfast, wireless internet, cable TV, refrigerator, laundry service and AC. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing