We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Relaxed environment in a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Villas Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Villas Resort
Ranked #23 of 80 Hotels in Mazatlan
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Relaxed environment in a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We recently stayed her for 10 days and it more than satisfied what we were looking for. The hotel has a great pool area and easy access to the beach. It has a smaller more low key feel instead of some of the larger resorts on the beach. It's conveniently located in the heart of the Golden Zone. The service was great and overall we'd stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank erich783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    79
    34
    25
    10
See reviews for
62
57
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two weeks all inclusive and it was
Great
The staff were excellent
Would definitely stay again
The Royal Villas was in the Golden zone right on the beach
Shopping right outside the front door
Mazatlan had a ton if things to do and we always felt safe

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Twocan1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

The best part of this hotel is the staff, they are friendly and helpful.

However the hotel lacks maintenance. Some of the curtains are tearing a part, the painting on slider of the pool is washing off. There are a few cracks on the shower.

The pool area it is very crowded, at a times there is not even room to walk between each chair, and there are not enough umbrellas, you will see people trying to grab one from somebody else.

We stayed in a jr. Suite in the second floor, is big with two double beds and a couch. It has a balcony which is not private, it is a big open space for everybody in that section of the hotel, so remember to lock your room and don't leave stuff out for very long time. But it will work out very good if you are there with a big group with multiple rooms that want to share some space.

It has what it could be a good gym but the schedule hours are horrible on Saturday it will close at noon and all day Sunday.

About the bedroom, there are a few differences between each other in the same category room, in some you will find a coffee pot and a safe but not in all of them, so check for what you need and compare between rooms if you can.

The location is just fine, there are a few restaurants two blocks away.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iguanavoladora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed at Royal Villas in Oct. 2011. Everything from soup to nuts (as they say) was great! The staff were exceptional, friendly and helpful, what else can you ask for. If my wife and I ever return to Mazatlan, Royal Villas will be the first consideration on the list. From their day trips to Copala and Concordia to riding the Hobie Cat over to the island, it's just what you'd envision your holiday to be. 2 thumbs up! Thank you Royal Villas.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JHHCAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

I went here with my mom to celebrate graduating college. I am so glad that we chose to stay at this resort. The staff were all very friendly and more than willing to help. They were able to make suggestions on good places to go and things to do. I cannot say enough good things about them. The rooms were clean, the views were great! It was also in a good location and was right on the beach! The section of the beach it was on was the cleanest in the area and had no jellyfish (unlike the other areas). I look forward to visiting again ASAP!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brittany W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alix
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Went to mazatland Nov 30 and stayed next to the royal villas. One day went over to the royal villas walked right in ( no one around) got on the elevator to the top floor went down the stairs to see where the maids were. On the 10th floor 2 maid carts in front of rooms doors open and no one there. Could have walked right in rooms and taken things , just like what happened to us last year when we had 2 cameras and 2 rings stolen out of our suitcases.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shrekh2o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ontario
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I thought I had written a review for this hotel but I was mistaken. We visited here a couple of years ago and still talk about the good time we had. The food was fantastic! The pool and beach area were spectacular. I'm not sure what it is like now for safety but a couple of months after we left it started to get alittle touchy and I believe on the not so safe place to travel scale. I certainly hope that has improved. My wife and I felt comfortable walking anywhere in Mazatlan. We went downtown to the market and walked for miles. The staff at Royal Villas were very nice and accommodating. The rooms were kept very clean as well.

We certainly hope to return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hump4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
0.1 mi away
Costa de Oro Beach Hotel
Costa de Oro Beach Hotel
#24 of 80 in Mazatlan
3.5 of 5 stars 284 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Inn at Mazatlan
The Inn at Mazatlan
#7 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.5 of 5 stars 576 reviews
1.9 mi away
Olas Altas Inn
Olas Altas Inn
#37 of 80 in Mazatlan
3.5 of 5 stars 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Park Royal Mazatlan
Park Royal Mazatlan
#42 of 80 in Mazatlan
3.5 of 5 stars 308 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ramada Resort Mazatlan
Ramada Resort Mazatlan
#27 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 stars 251 reviews
1.0 mi away
Oceano Palace
Oceano Palace
#63 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 stars 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Villas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Villas Resort

Property: Royal Villas Resort
Address: Calzada Camaron Sabalo No. 500, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Mazatlan
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Villas Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Villas Resort All inclusive a lacarte Description and adventages:THE UPSCALE PROPERTY ON THE BEST BEACH OF MAZATLAN Located right in the heart of the GOLDEN ZONE of MAZATLAN, The Royal Villas resort features: 125 Suites, Jr. Suites and Pent Houses All of them with: Balconies. Kitchenettes and the best beds in town, Enjoy the only Four Diamond restaurant in Mazatlan rated by the AAA : La Hacienda de la Floor Restaurant with fine Mexican cuisine, try our delicious dishes 2007 prize winners, Have fun! during our happy hours at our Lobby Bar with live piano music and a variety of rhythms: Mexican, romantic and Jazz every day from Tuesday to Sunday, from 7:00 to 11:00 p.m. For Breakfast enjoy one on the best buffet breakfast in town, every day from 7:00 to 11:30 a.m. at our Montealban Restaurant, We also offer: Room Service, Acclimatized Swimming Pool, Jacuzzi, Fitness center with Sauna, Game room, Satellite TV, Internet access, Spa Services, daily pool and beach activities for children and adults:Other services: Game Room, Kids club, Baby Seating, Room Service, Meeting facilities up to 200 people, Safety deposit Boxes, Handicap rooms, Non smoking rooms, Beauty Saloon, Valet Parking, Direct Dial Phone System, Purified Water System, Travel Agency, Laundry Service and Laundromat .Satellite Television / Pay per view movies Smoking and Non-Smoking Rooms, Money Exchange and Safety Deposit Boxes, Business Center, M.D. on call, hours, Private Ocean View Balconies Spectacular Sunsets.1.-Location.- Located right in the heart of the golden zone. At one of the best beaches in Mazatlán.2.- EP Plan and All Inclusive a la carte2.- Family suites with Kitchenettes3.-Free internet services4:-Daily pool and beach activities program: Daily beach and pool activities for children and adults• Karaoke• Aqua aerobics• Water polo• Bingo• English classes• Spanish classes• Deer island tours 5.-Meeting facilities for up to 200 guests6.- Catering service for up to 300 guests.7.-Wedding facilities ( full arrangements)8.-Free parking and Valet parking service9.-Free work out room10.-Free Sauna services10.-Spa service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Jetsetter and Hotwire so you can book your Royal Villas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Villas Hotel Mazatlan
Royal Hotel Mazatlan
Royal Resort Mazatlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing