We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Emerald Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Riu Emerald Bay
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Av. Sabalo-Cerritos #3404 zona costera cerritos | Nuevo Mazatlán - Sinaloa, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Your first gift: 500 pts
Ranked #11 of 80 Hotels in Mazatlan
Red Deer
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

I would rate this resort from very good to Excellent.
Positives:
The staff! I can't say enough about how friendly and accommodating the staff at the hotel are.
The resort is clean, clean and clean.
Awesome ocean views and great stretch of beach for walking
Nice pool areas
Great value

Things to know:
Family friendly resort so if you are looking for adult only, quiet resort this will not be the place for you.
Beds are just okay - not the worst but not the best - did not make or break my holiday
It is busier on the weekends so be prepared to wait for the elevators.
If you bring some travel mugs this will save on extra trips for cold drinks or coffee.

Room Tip: Cools off at nights so make sure and bring something warm to wear. Mazatlan has open air taxis whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank we4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    945
    948
    440
    186
    160
See reviews for
959
997
54
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (727)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Firstly, I will start off with the good things of this resort: Clean rooms, friendly staff and beautiful beach. However, food washed with tap water cancels out all the good things of this resort. I travelled with 4 friends for my birthday and 3 of us ended up on the bathroom floor with gastro issues….if you know what I mean. On first glance the buffet looks inviting with many options but after a few days of stomach cramps all we could eat was dry bread. I personally watched staff washing cucumbers in the sink with tap water:( It is really too bad as the grounds are well kept and the staff are friendly but not obviously trained regarding the importance of filtered water and proper vegetable washing. Another complaint was the lack of la carte restaurants which are really just themed buffets. No waiter staff around the beach or around the pool wasn't a huge deal but would of kept me from returning….im not a princess but 5 star means certain services in my mind.
I will say that once the staff was aware of my illness, they called several times throughout the day to ensure I was ok. This was impressive but wish I never required this attention
OVerall i was very disappointed…i expected more from the Riu chain.
This resort has great potential but I will never return to see if they live up to their 5 star expectations.

Room Tip: if you decide to ignore my review and risk getting sick…choose a room close to the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MadelinL156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles City, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

We had a great stay at the Riu for 6 nights. Check in was super smooth and the resort is a lot cleaner than I had expected. There was plenty of good food, bars, and fun staff. We did the parasailing that was set up on the beach for $35 per person. Was a beautiful view. We did get a little sick of the resort food (which can be common anywhere), so we walked the beautiful beach down the Mr. Lionso's Mexican restaurant. The food was amazing, authentic, and cheap. Every room was an ocean view, and the view was spectacular. A few small things were,there were a lot of wasps by the swim-up bar, the double beds were small and pushed up to each other. Felt like one big king bed. Great trip for the price we paid, and would go back to Mazatlan and Riu again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shannon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

We were in room 431 the view was great! Never had any problems waiting for the elevator. The resort is very clean everywhere you look! The food was great, entertainment was fun and overall we had a great holiday here! We will come back here in the future! Highly recommend this resort to everyone!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Rhonda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We had a great stay at this resort. The resort was super clean everywhere. Beautiful ground. Staff have a high level of energy and very quick to respond to our needs. The food was good with plenty of choices.

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean, no need to pay extra for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Canadian_Traveller89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sudbury
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

we had a wonderful two week vacation. we loved it. the food is incredible...best food ever. the service was beyond...very very friendly staff. the nightly entertainment was good...they tried they do their very best. our granddaughter loved the kids club and the girls were fantastic. rooms were ready for us at 11:00 in the morning which was nice. we paid 3600 for two weeks for hubby, me and my granddaughter. thought it was a great deal for all that we got. went to town a couple of times and it is very cool. good restaurant turning right on the beach just a little walk up. all in all had a very good time. venders were great..polite no problem. for the money it is a great value.

Room Tip: don't pay extra for ocean view as every room is already ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank sudburydoris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napanee, Ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We have just returned back from the Riu Emerald Bay. I have absolutely nothing bad to say about this place at all! We have traveled each year for the past 10 years, and this was definitely the best resort we have stayed at! Super fast check in. No need to wait in line while check in is done. Everything was ready and we were in our room in less then15 minutes after arrival. The food was awesome, and this is coming from a picky eater. You name it, they had it! All the rooms were new, clean and modern and each had an ocean view room. It was great to leave the balcony door open all night and have the sounds of the waves easing you off to sleep. The doors to the rooms are located down a small hallway. This eliminated the noise from other people going down the hallway. Safes were included for free with your room! The elevators were quick, and never had to wait any longer then a few minutes. Looking for entertainment? No cheesy dance shows here! The nightly shows were top notch! The dancers put in a lot of time into them and it showed. Even a Mamma Mia broadway show! There was always chairs at the beach and the pool. No need to wake up before the sun to reserve them. I have to applaud the kids club. They had so much for the kids to do each day, and a great little pool area in that section. Everything is close together. It was nice to not have to take a small hike to the beach. Don't believe anything bad about this place! Its well worth the value. Already planning another trip back next year!

Room Tip: Don't pay for ocean front room. All rooms have this view! Bring your own bottle of ketchup!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ivanna38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
0.8 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay
4.7 mi away
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
#5 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.5 of 5 stars 1,447 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Inn at Mazatlan
The Inn at Mazatlan
#6 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.5 of 5 stars 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
#8 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.5 of 5 stars 1,311 reviews
3.1 mi away
Oceano Palace
Oceano Palace
#63 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 stars 811 reviews
2.0 mi away
Park Royal Mazatlan
Park Royal Mazatlan
#30 of 80 in Mazatlan
3.5 of 5 stars 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Emerald Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Emerald Bay

Property: Hotel Riu Emerald Bay
Address: Av. Sabalo-Cerritos #3404 zona costera cerritos | Nuevo Mazatlán - Sinaloa, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Mazatlan
#7 Spa Hotel in Mazatlan
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
#10 Romantic Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Emerald Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 716
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Opening summer 2009 * 12 km / 7.45 Miles from Mazatlan, overlooking the Pacific Ocean * Located on Playa Las Brujas beach * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 20-story main building * Surrounded by 13.500 M2 / 16.15 Sq. Yards of lush gardens * 10 km / 6.2 Miles from various shops * 12 km / 7.45 Miles from Mazatlan * 32 km / 19.87 Miles from the airport * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Otel, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Riu Emerald Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Emerald Bay Mazatlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing