We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Resort. Amazing Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Riu Emerald Bay
Ranked #11 of 78 Hotels in Mazatlan
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful Resort. Amazing Location!”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed here for 2 weeks over Christmas and New Years.

The hotel is beautiful. The lobby is gorgeous, the rooms are clean and the views are amazing.

The staff are very friendly and help you with any questions.

The food is actually not bad but if you stay here for 2 weeks it can really get boring. They put on an amazing dinner for Christmas and new years eve.

The A la carte restaurants were not that impressive. The Italian was just like the regular buffet they serve everyday, the Mexican was meh, the steaks were like rubber. The Japanese restaurant was pretty good.

The bars were good for about the first 2-3 days but after that they can get really boring. They serve garbage booze unless you ASK for name brand. So you would have to ask for SMIRNOFF or they will give you some no name. The Beer on tap seemed to smell strangely so I avoided that after the first few days. i actually went out and bought pacifico.

The entertainment was OK. Most of it is just corny. The Michael Jackson one was good.

OVERALL I recommend this resort. Its beautiful and the surrounding area is amazing. I will come back here for sure.

Room Tip: All Rooms have an epic ocean view. Avoid using the A/C when you sleep, it smell weird and one of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steve V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,115
    1,109
    520
    219
    192
See reviews for
1,148
1,179
62
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (877)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Our first time at a Riu. Timeshare people at the airport are relentless. Build a good defense before exiting the airport. The hotel is 45 minutes from Old Mazatlsn which we didn't realize before booking. Taxi cost us $45usd. Check in took a long time and if room is not ready by 4 pm you have to wait in line a 2nd time for your room key. Wifi is Only free in the lobby area and not in the room. Daily interet fee is $15.00 us per device. Otherwise, our room was wonderful, clean, modern, gorgeous view and wait staff outstanding. The food was another story. The resort brags 3 restaurants, but only have one or two of them open per night with an average reservation wait time of two days unless you wait in line early morning in the lobby to book your dinner reservation. The buffet is availible and is plentiful but for the most part below average in taste. The meats are overcooked, the desserts are mostly flans and jellies, no cake, the salads are very waterery and they offer up alot of stew like dishes. Boiled and clear. The Chinese restaurant, Bamboo made us quite unwell with the amount of MSG added to the food. The wine is the same served throughout the resort. A cab savigon, Diablo and the only red availible. At every bar, at every restaurant, at every meal. The staff are amazing, polite and very professional but have very limited english knowledge. If you request anything unusual they don't understand you. No peanut butter exists in the reset so bring you own if you consider this a staple. Lol. Would we return. no. Too many kids, too much noise at the pools from the daily activities and too poor food choice for our tastes . Great family resort.

Room Tip: No room service. No coffee in room. Lots of liquor and beer in room. Wifi sucks. Ocean view a 10. No...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger snd Luci R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

My boyfriend and I love travelling, and were extremely impressed with all that we experienced at the Riu! From the moment we got off the bus at the hotel, the service was amazing. All the staff, from the front desk to the waiters to the cleaning staff is very friendly and attentive.

I especially loved how clean the hotel was, no matter what time of day it was. I would always see someone cleaning. Our room was always kept in great condition and we would come back to find flowers or mints and towel animals which we thought was a nice touch.

Food: The buffet had a huge selection. There was something for everyone. Vegetarians, kids, Mexican, Italian, Japanese food and more. Always lots of options at the buffet and everything tasted great. However, we didn't enjoy our a la carte's as much. We ate at the Mexican and Italian one, and for us it wasn't worth it. The service was great, and you get a lot of food but we found the food quality wasn't as good when we were there. If one night you would like to experience something a little different, take a right and walk down the beach to find a place called Mr. Lions. It is a restaurant on the beach where you can experience Mexican culture and taste the freshest seafood! Their lobster was my favourite and they are very reasonably priced.

Ocean: Flags on the beach will let you know which areas have jellyfish or not. The tide is strong but it wasn't bad.

Excursions/Activities: I would definitely recommend the Mazatlan city tour and the Stone Island tour. In the city tour you will get a feel for the city and a chance to shop at the marketplace and visit a cathedral. For Stone Island there were many options on the activities there such as horseback riding, banana boats, snorkelling, ext. For "thrill" seekers, there is parasailing offered on the beach at the hotel. My boyfriend and I both went separately and thought it was such an amazing experience. Also, at night at the hotel there are different shows put on each night by some great performers, it is definitely worth checking out some of their shows.

Tips/Extra Info:
-Do not make the mistake of buying silver while you are there. It is fake, and will turn green a few days after you have purchased it.
-We could see dolphins from our hotel.
-If you don't want something from all the beach vendors, just say 'no thank you' and they will leave you alone.
-All inclusive is the way to go! This hotel was our favourite, we had such an amazing time!

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean, so I wouldn't pay extra for an ocean view room! If you don't like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie,Ontario,canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

20 plus stories tall with every room showing an ocean view the riu emerald bay is a beautiful resort. The food is plentiful and varied. My wife and I arrived New Year's Eve (and we are still here) The gala feast on New Year's Eve was really nice (the resort went all out) The rooms are somewhat tired showing minor problems(sink plugged,toilet porcelain cracked,light bulbs missing,etc) but overall very clean.The staff is very friendly (maids,waiters,recreation staff,front desk,etc) and appear to do their jobs efficiently. Free wi-fi for 1 1/2 hours a day keep you in touch with family and friends. Many Canadians are guests (we are trying to avoid the cold and the snow.One thing we noticed, the resort does not accept American dollars???

Room Tip: all rooms have an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RonL L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

This is the second RIU I have stayed at and it was not as nice as the first one which was in Costa Rica. everyone we talked to could not sleep well due to the hard bed and paper thin pillows. After long days of excursions a decent bed is paramount to us. The wifi barely worked and costs money if you want to use it. very rarely could you connect in the lobby where it's "free" and if you did it was too slow to upload photos to FB or Instagram. Also they had very minimal on site free water toys available. Only boogie boards and do few you could only take for an hour at a time! Compared to Costa Ricas Rio this was a disappointment because there you could check out snorkeling gear, kayaks and stand up paddle boards. The Beach was very nice!! I will be going back again but when I do Ill be staying at Peublo Bonita. We stayed there our last two days and it felt like paradise!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank bucketlistkicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Van, Turkey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

My partner and I visited here for 2 weeks (Dec 6-20/13). We came with my in-laws, whom I LOVE travelling with. I had been to Mazatlan 13 years prior, and my partner and I had been to Puerto Vallarta twice before, but the in-laws had never been to Mexico before. They were very hesitant, having never travelled to a country like Mexico before. Well, they loved it sooo much, they are going to return next year! We all loved this place!

My partner and I had really enjoyed our trips to PV before, especially the first one to Palladium Vallarta. We didn't think we could surpass that. Well, the Riu Emerald Bay did! Firstly, having all rooms be oceanfront is amazing. In other resorts, if you choose an oceanfront room, you are usually in the midst of the party zone with all the yahoo's. We've always chosen to be in the quieter adult section, but that has meant no view. The view from our room was breathtaking! We loved falling asleep to the sound of the waves and waking to that same sound in the morning.
We found the rooms to be great - really spacious and clean and we loved having double sinks in the bathroom.......we don't even have that at home!

We all found the food to be fantastic! In the regular buffets,Las 3 Islas - for breakfast & dinner and Las Gaviotas - for lunch, there was SO much variety, you never got tired of it. The quality was really amazing for a buffet! We ate in all 3 of the a la carte restaurants, and enjoyed the Italian (Las Gaviotas) and the Mexican (Tabasco), but the Asian (Bamboo) was not great. Let's face it, we come from Vancouver BC where we get some of the best Asian food outside of Asia itself, but were there for 2 weeks, so thought we would give it a try. The best part was the fried ice cream for dessert!

The staff was brilliant! The bartenders in the lobby bar - El Cerro made the BEST cocktails. Awesome Mojitos! We loved Eduardo and Fabian from the pool bar (Playa Bruja)!! Great service, great smiles and great cocktails! Really though, we rarely had a bad server.

So many people have written reviews and complained about so many things! Too much Mexican food.......seriously?......why are you going to Mexico then? Too many people.....then don't travel during the peak times! December 6-20th was an amazing time to go. Weather was perfect and it wasn't super crowded at all! No elevator waits. And the pools weren't so busy you couldn't enjoy them either! I mean, of course the Playa Bruja got busy and later in the day had some pretty drunk people enjoying themselves. But it never got to anything like some of the reviews described! If you don't want to deal with crowds, and crazy drunks and tons of kids, then don't travel during the busy times! It's really not that hard to plan your trips at low or mid season times of year. If you travel during the peak times, then you get what you get and stop the complaining!

We loved taking the pulmonia's (golf cart type taxis) into town! We went to the old town, which was great, and also visited the golden zone shopping area! Had an amazing lunch at Margaritas - Av. Playa Gaviotas, Zona Dorada. Really great food and service! We also took a night time tour and had dinner at Pedro y Lola's ........Best dinner ever! Also, just a short walk down the beach from the resort are a number of restaurants and some great shopping. If you head down the street past Mr. Lionso, Playa Bruja restaurant (which was pretty good) and then turn left - you hit this great little market area! Great coffee shop!

We loved our trip to the Riu Emerald Bay. Would definitely go back and would also definitely go to another Riu resort! During the slow time, of course! ;-)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Visited Dec 10-24 and the resort was amazing!
It had some of the best food we have ever eaten and the nightly entertainment was very professional and having an indoor stage was a treat.
The kids club and kids pool with waterslides went over extremely well with our 6 year old twins.
Only issue is that the first week was at low capacity so we had great fast service and lots of space, second week had more than doubled so the lines were longer at he elevator started to become a problem as you may have to wait for 3 elevators before you have space to get in.
Rooms were very nice and TV's had HDMI outlets so you can connect your computer and play your own movies on them as there isn't really any English channels.
Also the bathrooms don't have exhaust fans so you may want to send your family members to a public washroom if you are staying in your room :)
We did 8 tours while we were there and loved them all. Highly recommend taking the city bus to the aquarium for less than $3 for a family of 4 and admission was $36 for the family.
Local beach vendors accept a simple "No Thank You" and will leave you alone.

Room Tip: We upgraded from 2 double beds to a king, double and folding cot. Room is larger and fit a family...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cmreimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
0.9 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay
4.0 mi away
The Inn at Mazatlan
The Inn at Mazatlan
#9 of 78 in Mazatlan
671 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
#5 of 78 in Mazatlan
1,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
#8 of 78 in Mazatlan
1,527 reviews
3.8 mi away
El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel
3.1 mi away
Oceano Palace
Oceano Palace
#47 of 78 in Mazatlan
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Emerald Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Emerald Bay

Property: Hotel Riu Emerald Bay
Address: Av. Sabalo-Cerritos #3404 zona costera cerritos | Nuevo Mazatlán - Sinaloa, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Mazatlan
#7 Spa Hotel in Mazatlan
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
#10 Romantic Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Emerald Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 716
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Opening summer 2009 * 12 km / 7.45 Miles from Mazatlan, overlooking the Pacific Ocean * Located on Playa Las Brujas beach * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 20-story main building * Surrounded by 13.500 M2 / 16.15 Sq. Yards of lush gardens * 10 km / 6.2 Miles from various shops * 12 km / 7.45 Miles from Mazatlan * 32 km / 19.87 Miles from the airport * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with RIU Hotels and Resorts, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Emerald Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Emerald Bay Mazatlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing