We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Ok Resort” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Emerald Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Riu Emerald Bay
Ranked #12 of 80 Hotels in Mazatlan
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Ok Resort”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

A group of us stayed the the Riu Emerald Bay back in April. The pro's were: Well kept grounds, nice pool with an awesome swim up bar. The beach was also impressive. The con's would be: Food was average at best. The A la carte's were disappointing and the main buffet was always the same. We stayed in a Jr.sutie oceanview and it wasn't any major upgrade from the regular Deluxe room. Overall it was decent, but I think there are better options out there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bamabreeze45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    956
    952
    453
    189
    166
See reviews for
983
1,002
54
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (731)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This ia a followup of my review of the Riu Mazatlan,I am amazed what the reasons are that peole write a bad review of this and other Hotel/resorts,for example there isn't enough wifi time if 90 min isn't long enough buy more or stay home,That there wasn't any bottled water,for the Riu in Mazatlan simply a lie there was plenty of it and you could ask for more without any problems,There where 2 pools and one lady complained she had to get out of the one pool to get to the swim-up bar,Really that is a negative??? get real,One guy complained because a family member who live's in Mazatlan had to pay 50 bucks for the day for all the food and drinks,Where in the world can you go and have breakfast lunch and dinner and drink all day for 50 bucks,give your head a shake buddy.
These are some of the ridiculous complains that you read in the reviews please people disregard those reviews,these are people that cannot be pleased no matter what.

Room Tip: if you want a excelent view take the higer rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
33 Thank Marion V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mazatlan, Mexico
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

I have many friends and family living in Mazatlán. While staying at the RIU I invite a family member to come visit me at the hotel. We were told that the family member, any visitor, needed to pay a $50.00 US day use fee and they could not stay on the premises past 5. How wrong is that. Will never stay here again.
No food service at the pool either. Buffet dinners are the norm here. They were OK but not for the price. Can not and will not ever recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank erling360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The resort is beautiful. The service from all the staff was amazing. The buffet doesn't have much variety, and the food is alright. Apparently the a la carte restaurants are good but we were never able to get a reservation. The pools are beautiful and aren't over-crowded with children/drunkards. Swim up bar was amazing. The beach wasn't as picturesque as I had imagined. The water wasn't very clear, and it was very windy the entire time we were there so the waves were too intense to do much in the water. Walking alongside the beach was nice, but you get accosted by locals trying to sell things. The resort itself was perfect - would definitely go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank R R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We had an excellent time, no complaints. Make sure you walk down the beach and have a dinner at Mr.lionosos, It cant be beat for authentic Mexican seafood and service. the only downside would be the long cab ride to and from town, the buffet was excellent, we never even bothered with the a la carte resteraunts.

Room Tip: they are all identical
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vanisletwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alhambra, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We went early in June and got a good deal, $695 for 5 days, 4 nights, incl. airfare. Taxi ride to hotel is about 35 minutes through a "poor" part of town, but what major city doesn't have it's bad areas? Check-in at the hotel was quick. Room was nice/clean. View was spectacular....10th floor. Slept with the sliding glass door open every night. Food was plentiful and some dishes were pretty fantastic actually. We always ate dinner late (after 9pm) and there would still be a good variety of things to eat. Wait staff was super friendly. The "sports bar" is weak...don't bother.The beach is beautiful and peaceful at night and we always felt safe on the property. Watch out for jelly fish! I got stung and spent a few hours in pain.The pools were cleaned every morning and so was the beach. The hotel was a lil crowded with the "locals", but what do you expect? It's like going to Disneyland and being surprised to see "locals". The ride into the city on the pulmonias (golf cart like taxis) is a must do! About a 20min ride. The people are friendly and the area felt safe. We walked around for miles without feeling like we had to watch our backs....even through local neighborhoods. Went on a city tour which was a lil "boring", but definitely a good way to get your feel around town. Our only complaint, the rooms have paper thin walls. A much younger crowd arrived on Friday night for the weekend and it was like being stuck with kids on spring break. Luckily we left Saturday. Overall, we had a really wonderful time for the price we paid. So much so, we're returning in November!

Room Tip: its true....all rooms face the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metz, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I had one of the worst all inclusive vacations last week in this hotel.

For a 4.4 stars hotel (as described by their own website) and price per night, I would expect the highest of quality service.

The service is awful!! Reception, restaurant waiters, security, most bartenders, i could just keep on going... They are rude, careless and will only take care of you and talk to you respectfully if you offer them a tip before. For me this is not acceptable from any hotel, nevertheless an all inclusive!!

The pool was really disgusting!! It was always full of bugs, lots of them! The filters were not working, we could see almost all of them were missing the control door. There was no one cleaning the pool by hand. The whole hotel had a bad mop smell constantly, restrooms where a nightmare...

No one around the pool picking up dirty dinnerware, we literally saw dirty plates standing next to the pool for almost a full day.

The elevators are a biggggg problem, seriously!! We waited for 15min a lift and ended up taking the stairs. This is unacceptable for a +12 floors building!!! Imagine the drama to take the luggage back down at check out time...

Food is horrible. It never changes, it's greasy, salty, some of the dishes are just gross. They have almost no labeling on the buffet, so you just kind of guess what the dish it's supposed to be. Remember the mop smell around the hotel? Well, you get it in your fountain drinks too!!

The reservation restaurants are just the same buffet with less options. None of them interesting or tasteful at all.

At the bar, the alcohol is a generic brand. I asked for a vodka shot to mix myself, saw the bartender pour it from a Smirnoff bottle and for some strange reason... it was a cheap tequila! So my big guess is they refill their bottles with whatever cheap brand of alcohol they buy.

Ohhh but the big surprise was the last day we where checking out... The hotel had an inspection that day and magically the pool was clean, the service was keeping everything in order (still rude btw) and they prepared some decent food.

The sound isolation in hotel rooms is usually not good as a general rule, but here they sent workers to fix stuff with major power tools at 9am, keep that in mind...

I could just keep on saying all of the unacceptable stuff that we saw and experienced, but I have to admit we did read some reviews in this web page about people experiencing the same. So I guess the lesson is... "believe what people say, because it's true..."

We just had a trip to Playa del Carmen a month ago and stayed at a 3.5 star all-inclusive hotel (same price). Believe me when I say by just comparing the service, I would give the Riu 1 star.

Never planing to choose any Riu hotel again!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank BYBY W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
0.8 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay
4.7 mi away
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
#3 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.5 of 5 stars 1,489 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Inn at Mazatlan
The Inn at Mazatlan
#6 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.5 of 5 stars 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
#10 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.5 of 5 stars 1,329 reviews
3.1 mi away
Oceano Palace
Oceano Palace
#63 of 80 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 stars 817 reviews
2.0 mi away
Park Royal Mazatlan
Park Royal Mazatlan
#38 of 80 in Mazatlan
3.5 of 5 stars 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Emerald Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Emerald Bay

Property: Hotel Riu Emerald Bay
Address: Av. Sabalo-Cerritos #3404 zona costera cerritos | Nuevo Mazatlán - Sinaloa, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Mazatlan
#7 Spa Hotel in Mazatlan
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
#10 Romantic Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Emerald Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 716
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Opening summer 2009 * 12 km / 7.45 Miles from Mazatlan, overlooking the Pacific Ocean * Located on Playa Las Brujas beach * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 20-story main building * Surrounded by 13.500 M2 / 16.15 Sq. Yards of lush gardens * 10 km / 6.2 Miles from various shops * 12 km / 7.45 Miles from Mazatlan * 32 km / 19.87 Miles from the airport * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Otel, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Riu Emerald Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Emerald Bay Mazatlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing