We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HUGE ... BEAUTIFUL ... BUT...........”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Riu Emerald Bay
Ranked #11 of 80 Hotels in Mazatlan
Reviewed March 14, 2013

diffidently this resort is excellent with the family specially if you have small children.... DON'T rent a car, the hotel is about 90 MINUTES from the Airport and with the violence and insecurity is not recommend it to rent a vehicle ... EXCELLENT Architectural Design and Layout Even the beach site is beautiful, there is no way you will get bore, lots of activities and things to do inside the resort, one thing you need to be careful (because you can gain weight VERY FAST) is the Food and Drinks, because there is LOTS of it... almost 24 hrs a day .... DO NOT PAY OR RENT THE INTERNET SERVICE.... the service is Expensive and really bad and the reception is also bad .... the have have "Free Wifi" but only on the lobby area... you might want to live with that....customer service is not the best but they tried their best... i think they have a shortage of people because it is always pack ...

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elpasotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,244)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,332 - 1,338 of 3,244 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

The staff are friendly and very professional, very nice beach. Hotel is extremly well kept, I would go back in a heart beat!!!! My wife is a teacher and she had a custom leather bag made for $50.00 in town. At the same shop they'll make you a custom leather jacket for $200cad!!

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms they all have balcony's facing the ocean.......The only thing is you may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zedlips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Stayed at the Riu from Feb 26th to March 5th. Beautiful hotel, very, very clean. The staff are the friendliest people I have ever met while on vacation. I can't say enough about how kind, thoughtful and courteous they are to everyone. The food is fabulous. We booked one night at the Bamboo restaurant instead of eating at the buffet. Personally, I preferred the buffet. There are so many choices at the buffet that it was hard to sample it all. They also have the biggest breakfast buffet I have ever seen.

The hotel is very clean, rooms, lobby, elevators, beach and pool area as well. Can't say enough about the cleanliness.

We took three tours. Zip lining and tequila tour, Deer Island and a city tour. Of the three, the zip lining was the best. Deer Island was okay. The ride out to the island on the catamaran was nice and relaxing. The snorkeling by deer island was not very good. The city tour was okay, however we did go into the Golden Zone by local bus for about 8 Pesos where we were able to explore the town on our own time.

Now for the not so good part of our trip. We were on the 5th floor, view was good and we were happy to use the stairs to go up and down when we wanted to and not too long of a wait for the elevators if we chose that option. After day three we received a call from the front desk telling us we had to move to another room on the same floor, but on the other side of the hotel. This was due to the sub-flooring on our balcony sinking down slightly when walked upon. We did not want to move, but they insisted it was for our safety. The next morning we made arrangements to move. By the time we packed, waited for someone to come up and help us get to the new rooms and unpack again, not to mention the keys they gave us didn't work, we lost a half day of our vacation. As there were four of us in two rooms, they moved both rooms so we could stay together. That night the people above us partied into the wee hours of the morning. We complained at the front desk where they advised us to call down if it happened again as they don't allow noise after 11:00 p.m. The next night around 2:00 a.m. the partying started again, this time we did call down to the desk where it took 45 minutes for the music, singing and yelling to stop. All the while an alarm clock was also going off in a room below us which took about 45 minutes to have them come up and shut it off. The next morning we spoke with Manuel who apologized for our troubles and would speak with the customer relations manager to see if we could be compensated for the move and for the noise. That afternoon we spoke to Daniel who flatly refused any compensation and basically told us that he was sorry for our woes, but he couldn't do anything for us. We had suggested a small spa offering, nothing expensive, but he wouldn't even consider it.

All in all though, this is a great spot and you won't find friendlier people (excluding Daniel). So cheers to all the staff who work in the restaurants, in cleaning, the bars and pool area. You're the best!

Room Tip: Stay on the 6th floor or lower so you can manage to use the stairs in order to work off all the wond...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

March 05-12th 2013
Recommend the hotel to all those who are looking for excellent and professional service. All rooms are with a view. Loved ours on the 14th floor. Nothing to complain about as Riu made sure we did receive good service with perks etc. The beach was so long and clean and lovely to walk and enjoy the scenery. The water was cold of course being the Atlantic. High waves and cold ocean was impossible to swim or even get wet. This time Mexico had a winter and since it is God that determines the global warming Riu had no control. We were comfortable and managed the winds and cool air. We would go back anytime but our next vaccation will be in the Riu Aruba.
Excellent and high quality food, quick and prompt service, friendly staff and special care for all ages. Drinks galore and snacks anytime of the day. So much to enjoy and visit if you want adventure and excitement. Go ahead choose RIU next time you plan a trip to remember.

Room Tip: All rooms are with a View. The higher the better view. If you are not happy please approach the fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 19,791,708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

5 Stars! Food was great, our family of 6 all found things they liked to eat each day without a problem. You will always get "tired" of all inclusive food after a week, but nothing to complain about. In fact, not a single one of us had any tummy troubles at all. Beaches were great, lots of shells to search for. Locals selling treasures past the rope a little annoying, but that is part of the charm that mexico is. Service was unbelievable in restaurants. Not likely that anyone will bring you drinks on the beach...not enough staff for that. 5 pools were clean, well maintained. Every single room has an ocean view. We stayed on the 4th floor in case the hotel was busy and we needed to use the stairs. The hotel was only running at 50% capacity-due to the economy in the USA at the time we stayed (Feb 2013) so we never waited for elevator once! So if you are thinking of staying here, now is the time to do it, while things are slow and cheap! This place is safe too. Security at gate who checks wrist bands and at the front door. We had an joined room with our teenage sons, and were able to leave the doors to our rooms open, but locked to the main hallway so we could hear them come home from the disco at night. Everything here is completely spotless!!! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wm4kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Having been to several RIU properties this one is a clean well maintained location. We stayed March 3rd-10th and it was only 41% occupied based upon David's info who was always outside taking care of transportation for us. Only able to make reservations at 2 of the sit down restaurants because they were not all OPEN. Tried Mexican not impressed Asian which was actually buffet style it was fine and Italian was not open all week. Buffets were just normal found plenty to eat it may get boring and repetitive good reason to go off property and have a few meals elsewhere. Couple recommendations Playa Bruja just down the beach and Diego's& Ponchos in town great Sea food at very reasonable prices. Biggest disappointment was mainly the weather cool breezy daytime and evening. Obviously not the resorts fault have had better luck in other areas which is why we would not go back to the Mazatlan area.

Room Tip: No upgrade needed we were on the 12th floor great view no problems with elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffrey E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

the rooms, staff, food and of course the bars were awesome....met so many wonderful people and the hotel is magnificent!! We were all told about being safe in the hotel. Most of the staff understood English and could speak it as well, which was really nice. The place is spotless, cleaning continually. Went on 2 tours, the City one and Stone Island. Had a wonderful time! I would recommend this place to everyone. The only complaint is how cramped the plane was and having an 1 1/2 hr. lay over in Vancouver coming and going.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sonia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
0.9 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay
3.7 mi away
El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel
4 mi away
The Inn at Mazatlan
The Inn at Mazatlan
#12 of 80 in Mazatlan
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
#3 of 80 in Mazatlan
1,854 reviews
2.9 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
#8 of 80 in Mazatlan
1,586 reviews
2 mi away
Park Royal Mazatlan
Park Royal Mazatlan
#62 of 80 in Mazatlan
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Emerald Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Emerald Bay

Address: Av. Sabalo-Cerritos #3404 zona costera cerritos | Nuevo Mazatlán - Sinaloa, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Mazatlan
#6 Spa Hotel in Mazatlan
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
#10 Romantic Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range: $141 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Emerald Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 716
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Opening summer 2009 * 12 km / 7.45 Miles from Mazatlan, overlooking the Pacific Ocean * Located on Playa Las Brujas beach * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 20-story main building * Surrounded by 13.500 M2 / 16.15 Sq. Yards of lush gardens * 10 km / 6.2 Miles from various shops * 12 km / 7.45 Miles from Mazatlan * 32 km / 19.87 Miles from the airport * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Emerald Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Emerald Bay Mazatlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing