We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“February 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Riu Emerald Bay
Ranked #11 of 78 Hotels in Mazatlan
Port Elgin, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“February 2013”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Arrived on the 19 of February and departed the 26th.
Can't complain no line ups, no wait to get into room apon arrival, no shortage of hot water on those well deserved shower's, Canadian money accepted at par, no need to buy US dollars, no shovel for the white stuff, no wait time for the elevator (stayed on the 10th floor) morning workout included the stairs!!!! I could say no to alot of things but not another stay at the RUI Emerald Bay.

I would like to thank all of those hard working employees who dedicated their day and night to our needs and wants. They clean up after us all week and make neat towel stuffies on our beds. I think I forgot on the last night to leave a tip, so if you are going could you please spot me the tip!!!!Not always in cash....

Room Tip: The 10th floor is where we stayed and it was awesome....all rooms are ocean view with balconys.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmattrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,109
    1,101
    515
    215
    186
See reviews for
1,133
1,172
62
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (875)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tillsonburg, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We were at the Riu February 5th -12th We had another successful trip. This resort was extremely clean the staff was friendly and worked very hard to keep the resort clean. There where several pools plus a swim up bar. The rooms were nice and clean and the bathroom was spacious. Our bar fridge was always stocked. The food at the buffets were always full and very tasty. We did the Asian,Italian and the Mexican restaurant they were all very good we enjoyed all three of them. There where lots of variety and tasty drinks at the resort. We went to Mr. Lionsos restaurant down the beach the food was excellent,we got to sample tequila as well. Very friendly staff. The evening entertainment at the riu was good. The beach is beautiful we walked it everyday. Anyone who is looking for excursions try the whale watching we saw lots of whales and dolphins as well. It was the highlight of our trip. The other one we did was the veraneando adventure zipline tour there's 12 ziplines plus you get a dinner and a tequila tour..we had a blast. We got the zipline tour thru Chris the waiter who works at Mr Lionsos restaurant which is at the end of the beach. Please make sure you tip the staff they work very hard.. All in all I highly recommend this resort I hope to go back again sometime. There was 8 in our group and we all had a blast.

Room Tip: Good view from 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Sandy19601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayuga, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We were surprised with a trip to Riu Emerald Bay in Mazatlan, by our family. Wow! This all inclusive hotel is a dream paradise, its not the Carribbean, the beautiful blue Pacific Ocean. The staff at the hotel went out of their way for our celebration, champagne to our room, a session at the spa, which we felt we could have spent the day. It was fabulous!! You have selections of evening dinners which we picked two, oriental (excellent) and mexican (not our favourite) but good. All buffet meals were above what you could expect, various selections salad bar, hot meat and fish bar, bread selection were very good. There is something for everyone.. In fact too much, hard to make up your mind.
All of the pools and beach were very clean, staff working hard all day to make it that way. There were beach vendors, not many, but they did understand no and did not bother you, if you so desired. Nightly enertainment is also excellent...
Our room was on the 16th floor, and we loved it we could see forever, We recommend you take day trips to Mazatlan, only 80 paeso's by open air cab,which was fun,the people welcomed you. We did go on an organized tour "City Tour" it was good, lasted 5 hours, you saw the city market, Cthedral, Opera House, and the cliff divers, we do not recommend this is to anyone who has problems walking, as the central part has alot of walking. My husband and I lagged behind a bit, but was well worth it. Over all our holiday was fabulous. Beautiful Hotel...

Room Tip: All room face the ocean, higher room have a wonderful view, of the surrounding small islands.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff National Park, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Went for quick one week get away in Jan. Beautiful beach and nice hotel. Was quiet through the week while we were there, some restuarants closed so we only did the buffet at this resort. It was great, there was always a huge selection and something for everyone. All the rooms at this resort are ocean view which is a really nice feature. Our room was always clean and a few bucks in the mini bar with a note works great.
The pools at the resort are great and a nice place to relax. Have to mention Gilberto who works around the pool areas, he works hard and would run and grab us drinks anytime we asked. Guests have access to beer taps and soft drinks machinbes around the pool which is something I've never seen before. I liked that as you didnt have to wait in line at the bar for a glass of beer. As I stated it was quiet while we were there so there were days where there was not a "server" around the pool but its a small resort and not far to walk to get your own, and as I stated Gilberto grabbed many for us.
The only complaint I had....is its somewhat cooler here than other places we've been. It could be the time of year that we went, Im not sure. It just seemed that you could clock 3:30 every day by the wind and the cooler temp that followed.
That being said, I would recommend this resort to others, the beach is beautiful, the view incredible and the staff are very friendly and work hard to make your stay enjoyable. :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank T W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Rooms where clean, but could use some updating. The pictures on the website showed what looked like newly redecorated rooms, but our room had definitely not been updated. The food was verge, but there was a good variety. Ask for a room above the 4th floor, as the views are obstructed on the lower floors.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank taylor t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algonquin Highlands, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

stayed feb 12 2013 - feb 19 2013...... another great trip. service ,food ,room.... what a treat to go again... we were safe, happy ... and the service was top of the line.... views from room are so nice. stop at front door and ask david anything he can hook you up to shop or tour... the beach is perfect for your daily walks... thank you to the kitchen staff for all our good food... swim up bar fun. you can,t go wrong when you book a riu......

Room Tip: all have ocean view........
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lovethesunalliston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We just returned from the RIU Emerald Bay in Mazatlan. What an amazing resort. We can't wait to go back. The entire property is kept spotless. The staff are constantly cleaning every portion of the resort. I would highly recommend the RIU to anyone traveling to Mazatlan. For the people who gave a negative review, I can't imagine what went wrong with your trip. Every person we talked to said the RIU was the most amazing all inclusive resort they had ever stayed at. It was certainly the nicest place (al inclusive) that we have ever been to.

We had a room on the 9th floor and it was perfect. All of the rooms face the oceen. What a fantastic design. My only drawback to our room was the bed. The mattress was very firm and the bed had a waterproof cover on it. We took that cover off and it helped a little, but the mattress was very firm and was somewhat uncomfortable. Other than that, the room was perfect. They have a mini bar in each room that they will re-stock every 2 days. This includes beer, soda, and bottles of water. Our maid kept the room spotless.

The food was pretty good. There were days where the options weren't the best, but there was always something to eat and plenty of it. The wait staff does a great job and the restaurants were very clean. My girlfriend loves seafood and found the seafood options to be outstanding. For those that don't know, PLEASE TIP YOUR WAIT STAFF AND MAIDS. They work so hard to keep the resort clean. I was amazed at how many people don't tip the employees anything. I can't imagine people being so cheap. I did notice that if we had any problem with the resort or our room, all we had to do was call the front desk and it was immediately taken care of.

The location of this resort is amazing. It's right on Playa Bruja (Witch Beach) in the Cerritos area. Its a little north of th city which makes it very nice. I've noticed several people complain about the distance to city, but we took the city bus to the golden zone and all the way to old Mazatlan taking two different buses. It did take about an hour to get to old Mazatlan on the city bus but it only cost about $1.10 USD per person each way. You can always negotiate a price for up to 4 people to ride in a Pulmonia to town for about $10 USD. The beach area is amazing and is one of the nicest beaches I've ever seen. The vendors are kept quite away from the tourists behind a rope line so you're not bothered by them unless you want to be. The ocean is amazing and the surf is a very safe place to swim.

The bars are amazing. Again, please tip the bar staff. I did notice that they usually use a cheap liquor for the drinks. That is until I found out all you have to do is ask for name brand liquor and they will gladly pour that for you. You can aslo ask them to blend the drinks rather than pour them over ice and they will do that as well. Be advised that not all of the bars have blenders. If you want to have all of the options, go to the Playa Bruja bar and swim up pool. That is the most complete bar.

The RIU is an amzing resort and for the cost is the best all inclusive resort we have ever been to. We cant wait to go back and may try to go twice a year because we enjoyed it so much. I highly recommend this resort to anyone. A great place for kids and families!!!

Room Tip: All of the rooms face the ocean. It's an amazing design. Try to get up a little higher if you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank archer6325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
0.9 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay
4.0 mi away
The Inn at Mazatlan
The Inn at Mazatlan
#9 of 78 in Mazatlan
664 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
#6 of 78 in Mazatlan
1,758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
#8 of 78 in Mazatlan
1,507 reviews
3.8 mi away
El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel
3.1 mi away
Oceano Palace
Oceano Palace
#52 of 78 in Mazatlan
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Emerald Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Emerald Bay

Property: Hotel Riu Emerald Bay
Address: Av. Sabalo-Cerritos #3404 zona costera cerritos | Nuevo Mazatlán - Sinaloa, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Mazatlan
#7 Spa Hotel in Mazatlan
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
#10 Romantic Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Emerald Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 716
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Opening summer 2009 * 12 km / 7.45 Miles from Mazatlan, overlooking the Pacific Ocean * Located on Playa Las Brujas beach * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 20-story main building * Surrounded by 13.500 M2 / 16.15 Sq. Yards of lush gardens * 10 km / 6.2 Miles from various shops * 12 km / 7.45 Miles from Mazatlan * 32 km / 19.87 Miles from the airport * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Emerald Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Emerald Bay Mazatlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing