We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Riu Emerald Bay
Ranked #11 of 80 Hotels in Mazatlan
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We spent the week of February 8-15 at this resort. It was beautifully maintained and very clean. The food was delicious with lots of variety but even two of the a la cartes were buffet style. Our ocean view room on the 10th floor was spacious and spotless. There was no shortage of chairs on the beach or around the pool. The pools and the beach were very clean(although I do question the quality of the water in the swim up bar :) The staff were all very friendly and efficient. Most of the staff could understand English. We were at the resort during Carnival(Mardi Gras) so there were a lot of local tourists at the resort. This was not a problem. We took at taxi to downtown and a tour or Stone Island(which is not really an island!). There is a small shopping/strip mall to the left as you exit the resort. This is a perfect place to pick up small souvenirs and gifts to bring home. There is also a small coffee shop called Looney Beans which donates part of their earnings to the underprivileged in Mazatlan. If you are interested in keeping up on Canadian/American sports(ie hockey) there is also a small sports bar/restaurant with daily specials. My only real complaint is the amount of music that you can hear on the beach. Often there is music from the entertainment team and the pool bar(from either side) and the mariachi band on the beach in front of you. Sometimes it is too loud to talk! The beach peddlers all stay behind the rope but if you sit too close they will call you all day.....and don't talk to them until you are ready to barter and buy....they won't leave you alone and they have amazing memories! We had a great vacation at this resort but I don't think we will be going back. That being said we have never gone to the same resort twice.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank oleVancouverBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,240)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,358 - 1,364 of 3,240 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed Feb 10th- 17th. Can't add much to what others have said with a few exceptions. All rooms are ocean view, don't pay extra. Food is good, yes repetitive in buffets but very good for all inclusive and there is tons of it. Don't pay for taxi to Golden zone. Take the bus. It is incredibly cheaper, totally safe and better than the open air taxis. The fumes from the taxis are terrible. Go to the Saloon in the Golden zone. Canadian owned (we aren't Canadian) and they have a phone set up for a 5 min free call back to states or Canada. Neat deal to call home! Bartender Memo at pool bar is great! Theresa in Sports bar makes the best Especial ever! No room service so expect to walk down to get any food you want. Overall a very good stay. Not a ton of wildlife like our other Mexico trips but a beautiful resort. Distinguish yourself from the Canadian college kids and tip regularly. The workers make 60 pesos a day and live off tips.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rach1974model
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We had the most amazing vacation to the Riu Emerald Bay. The resort and the grounds are so clean. The rooms were emaculate. The beds were good too.Great ocean view from all rooms. The pools were amazing. The food and drinks were great! The staff was hands down the best staff we have ever experienced in vacation. Always willing to help with anything! always smiling. We were not too sure what to expect reading all the reviews before went. We were planning to marry in Dominican next year, we loved the Riu so much we have chnged our venue. We will definitly go back!

Room Tip: All rooms are ocean view. If you pay for oceanview, you get a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank bynder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We just got back from spending a week at Riu Emerald Bay. The weather was good 6 out of 7 days, you can't expect that it's going to be super hot at this time of year. But it was very nice for the most part, not too hot during the day, cool at night where you could sleep with your windows open.
We've done a lot of all inclusives in the last few years and for the last few we have been to Riu resorts both in Mazatlan and Cabo. I am very impressed with them.
I have always had an open mind when going to resorts and am astonished by the people on this site that expect to be waited on hand and foot and have nothing go wrong at all with their trips. I've also seen some people on here complaining about the number of Mexicans at these resorts....folks you are in Mexico!!
I thought that Riu Emerald Bay was absolutely fantastic.
The food was top notch for a buffet, always fresh, always available and never ran out.
The bars were great, premium liquor if you want it and any kind of drink you want, not just beer and your typical well drinks. The bartenders knew their stuff and were quick with suggestions.
The grounds were pristine, absolutely spotless and well maintained EVERYWHERE even on the beach. The pools were very clean. Deck chairs were plentiful and it was even full that week. The rooms were very nice and clean and the maids were prompt. The in room liquor cabinets and beer/pop fridge were always full.
The best part about this Riu is the service - at all levels - their customer service levels were absolutely the best I have ever experienced anywhere, super friendly, helpful and very attentive. Absolutely stood out. You can tell this is a very well managed resort.
I don't tend to or usually want to visit the same resort twice, but I would absolutely go back to Riu Emerald Bay, it was absolutely a fantastic place

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Great resort, would go back. Have been to Mexico many times, different places, first time to Mazatlan. Went with Signatue/Sunwing vacations, small planes, tight fit, good thing it is not a long flight. Arrived at hotel and the excellent staff boarded the bus and put on our bracelets, entered hotel and greeted with beer and cocktails and snacks. Proceeded to lobby bar to pick up envelope with room key and towel cards and stickers for luggage to be delivered to your room painless, no waiting at the front desk to check in. All rooms at this hotel have beautiful ocean views and great size balcony, we were on the 16th floor and kept our sliding doors open all night so we could hear the ocean. The rooms were a great size, very clean, great size bathrooms, two sinks and spotless! The closets were big and had plenty of hangers, lots of drawer space. This has to be the cleanest hotel I have ever stayed in in Mexico, they were constantly cleaning, painting and gardening. The food was good and so much variety, my only complaint is the coffee in the morning, not very good. Next time I would bring my own instant coffee to add to it. The specialty restaurants were not so special, two were buffet, food was good, but nothing special. I think when we were there Jan 25-Feb 1, capacity was about 35%, so it was very nice and quiet, plenty of chairs on the beach. I am not sure I would go when it is at 100%, it would be crowded. I would recommend bringing some wipes to wipe off the bird droppings on the chair cushions. Beach was beautiful and could walk for miles, the water was a little rough but could swim. The staff were wonderful and helpful, front desk staff very helpful, our bar fridge had not been filled when we arrived, just spoke to front desk and the fridge was packed everyday with lots of water, beer, soft drinks. I would recommend this hotel to everyone, had a very relaxing holiday.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
8  Thank curiousmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed at the RIU Emerald Bay, 28th Jan – 5th Feb 2013. What a great vacation and mostly because of the RIU staff. We would go back again.

From the time we arrived till the time we checked out we were looked after by excellent management and staff. Within minutes of getting to our room we were called by the front desk to make sure everything was fine. Asked for a couple extra pillows and they were delivered quickly and the front desk called to make sure we got them.

CHECK-IN: Was fast and efficient and we were offered beverages while they explained the resorts information, etc. Front desk staff was friendly and helpful during or complete stay.

ROOMS: We were in a Jacuzzi Suite on the 17th floor ocean view. All rooms at this hotel face the ocean but some have a superior view than others. It was fantastic, clean, spacious and well decorated. No problems at all, everything worked and we had no issues controlling the room’s temperature. Each room has the standard items, liquor dispenser, safe, fridge that was stocked ever second day, hair dryer, etc. We had read some reviews talking about elevators wait times and we did not wait more than a couple of minutes even when the resort was busy. The maids did an excellent job maintaining our room and you could see that they took pride in their work. Tip or no tip the level of service was the same. We had new towel art each day.

FOOD: We had no issues making dinner reservations with our party of six. You may not be able to get the exact date and seating time but there was availability if you were flexible. The three a la carte restaurants were fine but the Mexican is the only true sit done service. The other two were partly buffet style. The daily buffets were great and there were always plenty of choices. The only issue I had was that the lunch menu did not vary enough but there were still lots to choose from. This Resort does not advertise ROOM SERVICE so not sure why people complain that there is none. If you want room service then choose a resort that offers this service. The RIU Palace resorts do have room service but they also charge more.

BARS: There are more than enough bars at this resort and we never waited long for a drink. These bartenders work their butts off. If you want strong say so, if you want weak say so. If you want a specific brand they have just ask. After the first time I ordered the bartender knew exactly what I wanted when I came back each time. I drank my fair share of tequila and kept them busy from opening to closing each day. Same as for the maid’s service was the same tip or no tip.

BEACH: Great beach for walking and the sand was ok. Restaurant and shopping a short walk down the beach. There are beach vendors in front of the resort but they are not as bad as most make them out to be. Politely say no and if you have no intentions of buying they move on to the next person who is.

POOLS: The pools were awesome and well taken care of. Staff was constantly cleaning them. I would like to note that the Bar Pool or Pool Bar is not a swimming pool but a bar area. I was very happy to see that they did make sure children were not allowed in this area when the bar was opened. As for water clarity and quality, who in their right mind would want to use the bar pool for recreational swimming. I for one would not want to dunk my head under the water here nor would I want to take in a big mouth full and spit it out. Do some people relieve themselves at the pool bar? I can guarantee it but the same is true at most pools even at private clubs. So not sure why we are shocked or blame the resort for the murky water at the end of the day? They do provide restrooms for this purpose it is up to the guests to use them. As for the oil slick at the end of the day who is really to blame…. Sun tan oil and lotion is oily…

ENTERTAINMENT: If there was minor let down I would say that compared to other resorts it wasn’t as good. There are lots of day time activities but you had to seek them out for yourself. The nightly entertainment was good but it only lasted an hour or so. I like when they get the guests involved and would have liked to see more of that before the shows. The dancing was entertaining and semiprofessional. The best show was the Crazy Show put on by the day time entertainment staff.

RESORT: In general the resort is big, well maintained, very clean, great staff, friendly staff and English was well understood by most. If you need something just ask nicely and you will not be surprised at the excellent service you will receive. Special thanks to Fabian, Arturo, Giovanni for their hard work. I must also mention Erika Rangel, thank you for all you did to make this a very special vacation.

LOCATION: If you are looking for night life, shopping and restaurants then this resort is a liitle remote from most of that. But its only a short bus trip from the Golden Zone.

INTERNET: You have 90 consecutive minutes each day. So plan wisely. The signal is ok but during peak times it can be slow.

SHOPPING: The resort does have three shops but the prices are mostly high, but that’s the cost of convenience. You can take a short bus ride into town for under 10 pesos each. If you want to take a taxi barter the price and agree on it before you leave.

MAZATLAN: It is a great town. The historic area is very nice and easy to get around. The market is an experience and something to see. You can go on your own easy enough or take a guided tour.

AIRPORT: The airport is alright and easy to get around. Like all vacation destination they have the time share pain in the butts you need to walk by first then it is smooth sailing from there. Learn to just say NO.

SAFETY: We at any time did not feel unsafe at the resort, on the beach, in town, on an excursion or anywhere in Mazatlan for that matter. That being said it is just like at home use common sense and do not carry big wads of money, etc.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Ken C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This was our 2nd. trip to this location in 3 years. We are a senior couple in our 60's. Everything as excellent as the fIrst visit. Spotlessly clean [and we are fussy]. Attentive staff who recognize you quickly and call you by name. Large food selection is abundant, tasty and fresh [note: these people make $5-$10 a DAY, so please tip them. 20 pesos is less than $2 Cdn/Am.]. Nightly stage show is different every night and very entertaining. Of course the beach and ocean are the biggest drawing card. Miles and miles of wide, smooth sand beach. Shallow water for hundreds of feet out and then waves to surf back in on. This resort is north of Mazatlan about 10 miles and you can see and and enjoy its skyline frome the beach. There are 2 small beach restaurants to visit for cervesa or wine, etc. and a larger seafood place that is excellent. There is also a small strip mall down the beach that has vendors, sportsbars and an excellent rib joint. This is also where the fishing boats come in and there is a beautiful view of the next bay. We took a 4 hr. tour of Mazatlan, on a beautiful modern Mercedes Benz bus, that was the highlight of our trip. So very informative. We have NEVER felt unsafe at any resort we have stayed at in Mexico. Take a look at the crime rate in your community and compare it to Mexico's. The crime in our communities in Alberta are much higher than at a mexican resort. The unfortunate incident that occured in the elevators at this resort 2 yrs. ago could have happened anywhere, and was not the fault of the resort. As it turn out, it was a marital dispute. In spite of this conclusion, the Riu installed added security in the elevators in the form of video monitor camera's. This is a very safe facility. Hope this review helped and enjoy your trip to Riu Emerald Bay.

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean. Fast elevators, so higher rooms no problem. If you are unhappy with your r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ronwake409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
0.9 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay
4.0 mi away
The Inn at Mazatlan
The Inn at Mazatlan
#12 of 80 in Mazatlan
694 reviews
3.7 mi away
El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
#3 of 80 in Mazatlan
1,847 reviews
2.9 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
#7 of 80 in Mazatlan
1,574 reviews
2.0 mi away
Park Royal Mazatlan
Park Royal Mazatlan
#63 of 80 in Mazatlan
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Emerald Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Emerald Bay

Address: Av. Sabalo-Cerritos #3404 zona costera cerritos | Nuevo Mazatlán - Sinaloa, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Mazatlan
#6 Spa Hotel in Mazatlan
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
#10 Romantic Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range: $142 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Emerald Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 716
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Opening summer 2009 * 12 km / 7.45 Miles from Mazatlan, overlooking the Pacific Ocean * Located on Playa Las Brujas beach * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 20-story main building * Surrounded by 13.500 M2 / 16.15 Sq. Yards of lush gardens * 10 km / 6.2 Miles from various shops * 12 km / 7.45 Miles from Mazatlan * 32 km / 19.87 Miles from the airport * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, RIU Hotels and Resorts, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Emerald Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Emerald Bay Mazatlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing