We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good resort, Great people”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Riu Emerald Bay
Ranked #11 of 79 Hotels in Mazatlan
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
91 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Good resort, Great people”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Me and my gf visited Riu Emerald Bay Nov. 9, 2012. We flew from Edmonton and 80% of our plane was going to this resort. Resort itself is about 30 min to the airport.

Check in went smooth they had drinks (beer, tequila shots, and rum punch) waiting on our arrival. There were 2 ladies there helping find your envelope with room keys etc in it and this went pretty fast. They only had two bellboys bringing bags to rooms so we opted to grab our own luggage and bring it to our room.

Room was on the 3rd floor and elevator wasn’t too bad for waiting times. Nice clean rooms, great view. Room was stocked with 2 large bottles of water, 2 small bottles, 4 cans of beer, and 2 cans of Cola. There are also 3 bottles of low grade liquor above the mini fridge which I missed out on till the second day. We were right behind the elevators and didn’t have any noise issues.

Resort itself is kept clean, lots of staff cleaning etc. We felt very secure here at night there is security guards all around the pools and beach so if you go for a late night dip keep it quite.

The only A La Carte that we found any different from the normal buffet was the Asian. Amazing food, sushi, sweet n sour pork, fried chicken... all was good. The other a la carts just seemed to be the same as buffet just a couple new dishes. Breakfast was good: there was a guy that would make fresh omelettes, bacon was crispy, and fruit was great. I don’t like coffee but the cappuccinos in the buffet were amazing.

Beach had lots of chairs and lots of merchants selling anything you need. The merchants have a rope fence that they don’t cross so if you don’t want to talk to them you don’t have to. Bar pool is awesome for drinking and socializing, there are about 10 tables with built in benches that are a great feature. Bar pool gets a little murky by the end of the day after all the sunscreen and drinks that get dumped in so we would always go to one of the quite pools with built in sunbathing chairs to end the day... the woman loved these chairs.

Drinks were good they have all the regulars: Smirnoff vodka, Captain mo’s spiced rum, jose quervo taquila. Shots to get for the group: poop on the grass, couchy couchy... tasty, If you like your drinks a little stronger say "muchos liquor" they dont have a problem with this.

We went on the deer island excursion... not worth 50 bucks.. you do a float around an island land on another island have lunch and can do banana boating and snorkeling.. wouldnt recommend this one.

There is a great seafood restaurant 5 min down the beach to the right. Food was well portioned and priced... and $2 beers. coconut shrimp was amazing. We also visited El Capitano in the city was the same good food.. cheap beers.

Joes Oyster bar was a good bar to go to in town on Sunday night it was packed on wed it was a little slower but still fun... you can play beach volley ball with a beer in your hand and good music pumping... We also went to BORA BORA on the Sunday, it was dead but we heard that Friday sat this is the best bar in town. Disco at the resort was decent, but wouldn’t play anything but dance music ie. trance, rave whatever... i tried paying the dj to play some r&b he wouldnt...

On the weekends you get locals and rich Mexicans come in for a couple days which you get at pretty much all the west Mexico destinations (PV, Mazatlan, etc). The odd one are a little rude and pushy but nothing too bad

Over all a good stay... the people made this trip great (we met 2 other couples to go to bars, dinner etc).. was 80% western Canadians at this resort (except on weekends) so people were friendly... would recommend going into town to do some other dinners and bars...
AT THE AIRPORT EAT BEFORE SECURITY THE ONLY THING AFTER SECURITY IS A HOT DOG STAND WITH BEER AND WATER LOL...
ALL ROOMS are ocean view so don’t pay for this unless you want to be really high up and possibly have longer wait times for elevators...

Room Tip: ALL ROOMS are ocean view so dont pay for this unless you want to be really high up and possibly have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Alberta606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,107
    1,098
    510
    214
    184
See reviews for
1,128
1,167
62
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (875)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gatineau, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

we stayed at Riu from november 27 to december 4 of 2012. First of all, they made checking in very easy and all rooms are ocean view. we were on the 5th floor. For those who are impatient, try to get low floors cause you can take the stairs if elevators are to busy. Some reviews indicate that there is not enough elevators and that during weekends, the resort gets a lot of local. Let me say that during are stay there, the longest time we waited for an elevator was about 5 to 10 minutes. Rooms are very nice and clean as well as the hotel. Everywhere you go, someone is cleaning the floor. I found that the service was very good. From Monday's to Friday's resort is not that busy and the service is excellent. During weekend's, There is more people cause lot's of local arrives so it is just normal that service is a little slower. Pools are very nice and some are quiet some have more entertainment. Food is very good but repetitive. Dont worry, you will find something to eat everytime. This was our first trip with our 2 sons (11 and 7) They enjoyed every minute of it. Finally, this is a 4 1/2 star hotel and i would recomand this hotel anytime!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank daniel c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We had a great week at RIU Emerald Bay! Very relaxing time with friendly staff, and beautiful views, great pools, food was very good, premium alcohol, and fantastic shows in the evening!
Very clean and well organized!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Corinne473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

My friend and I had a fantastic week at this resort from November 30 to December 7. Our trip was booked through sunwing, and I'm not sure if it was sunwing or the resort (I'm assuming a combo), but they were incredibly organized. The staff came onto the bus that transported us from the airport to put the all inclusive bracelets onto us. From the we hopped off the bus and went to a table to grab room and towel cards. The staff brought our luggage up to our rooms while we enjoyed an assortment of welcome beverages, both alcoholic and non alcoholic. We stayed in one of the standard rooms, which was kept very tidy the entire time and included an great view of the ocean and resort area. The resort was primarily inhabited by Canadians, with some Mexican visitors (mostly on weekends). I didn't meet anyone from Europe, and only met two Americans. The staff were terrific! The bars in the theatre area got pretty packed at night, but the bartenders kept hammering out drinks at incredible speeds. The disco gets pretty packed on weekends, but is relatively quiet the rest of the week. The food was really good; however, since it's mostly buffet it can get kind of repetitive, but there are tons of choices. The a la carte was somewhat disappointing, probably because the buffets were so good. Beach is gorgeous with very fine sand. Tons of loungers in the beach and pool area. We never had to wait for loungers in either area. Regular activities on the beach and by the pool, hosted by an amusing and loveable team of entertainment staff. Evening entertainment is good when there is actually a show being put on. There were nights where guests were being utilized as entertainment, which made it only as entertaining as the people volunteering. There were shops about a 10 or so minute walk down the beach. It was easy to bargain with the vendors. The vendors on the beach by the resort were persistent, yet polite. If you politely reject them and then ignore them they will start to leave you alone. The sunsets were spectacular every night we were there. It was like being in a post card. All in all this resort is an excellent choice for the price tag and I would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank C0RISSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Last minute deal, Food was AMAZING (pretty much had everything) i'm not usually a huge buffet fan but wow, presentation and quailty was great. Room was spotless everyday, Used the Good alcohol in the drinks (there was nothing they couldn't make). Hotel staff extreamly helpful and polite. Met great people, beach was fantastic, Ocean view room was a plus.

I would definately recommend this hotel and would go back.

The only negative thing i would say is the beds are hard but really that's not a whole lot to complain about!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rachelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

The staff is friendly, some reviews state this is not the case, the fact is if you are not polite then you get treated as such, standard human behavior. The hotel is huge which we tend to stay away from but for some reason we like it, maybe because it was so new. The house keeping is incredible, we requested extra pillows and a bottle of vodka for our mini bar and these items appeared the same day. Not only was our requests addressed immediately but they were followed up with a phone call from the front desk to make sure we had received what we had requested.

It is true there are many Mexicans on the weekend but they ad a bit of spice to the place, they may be a bit noisy with a lot of kids but it was fun to watch them enjoy life.

My girlfriend and I are just into our fifties but younger at heart, we like to make the most of any situation and are very easy going so take this review with that in mind. There are people who seem to want to find fault in everything, we are not like that.

The beach vendors were a bit much but we quickly got use to them, if you want to experience being assaulted by vendors go to the city market, man they are hurting for business there, it was hard to find a non Mexican in the area so of course they were fighting with each other for our business.

We went on the City night tour which is available only on Sunday night and it was a good way to get to know the city before venturing off on our own. Pretty much a young crowd but was fun never the less.

The food was good, there was a lot of selection but I was expecting a bit more from a five star, perhaps I had expectations which were not reasonable.

One con was the outside bar, there is only one and we were told it was only operated on the weekends, the sports bar was to noisy for us with the air hockey table.

We would return to this hotel with no problem and have been to many hotels in Mexico, Belize, Costa Rica and Cuba.

Room Tip: All rooms have ocean view, the lower floors still have a great view so no worries.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hightechred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Trying this resort for the second time. Once again, this cavernous 800 room hotel serves up wonderful meals and their staff will do anything to please you. The beach is awesome. The sunsets are some of the best. This year, however, the wine they served was undrinkable. Had to take a short bus ride into town to pick up our own wine. Speaking of bus rides, we recommend you take one from the front of the hotel and visit the "gold zone" for some great restaurants and shopping

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Golfnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
0.9 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay
4.7 mi away
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
#6 of 79 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,746 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Inn at Mazatlan
The Inn at Mazatlan
#9 of 79 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
#8 of 79 in Mazatlan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,493 reviews
3.8 mi away
El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel
3.1 mi away
Oceano Palace
Oceano Palace
#49 of 79 in Mazatlan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Emerald Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Emerald Bay

Property: Hotel Riu Emerald Bay
Address: Av. Sabalo-Cerritos #3404 zona costera cerritos | Nuevo Mazatlán - Sinaloa, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Mazatlan
#7 Spa Hotel in Mazatlan
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
#10 Romantic Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Emerald Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 716
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Opening summer 2009 * 12 km / 7.45 Miles from Mazatlan, overlooking the Pacific Ocean * Located on Playa Las Brujas beach * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 20-story main building * Surrounded by 13.500 M2 / 16.15 Sq. Yards of lush gardens * 10 km / 6.2 Miles from various shops * 12 km / 7.45 Miles from Mazatlan * 32 km / 19.87 Miles from the airport * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Emerald Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Emerald Bay Mazatlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing