We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try the House Red”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Riu Emerald Bay
Ranked #11 of 78 Hotels in Mazatlan
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
146 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 414 helpful votes
“Try the House Red”
Reviewed December 11, 2011

We loved our stay, Dec 1 to 8, 2011. The hotel exceeded our expectations. The only thing which the hotel arguably lacks is WiFi throughout (available only in the lobby). Given the growing negative vibes on alleged health risks of Radio Frequency Radiation, the relative lack of WiFi will be considered a plus by others.

We travelled with another couple and ate at all the specialty restaurants and the buffet. The food and service was usually top notch. I’m no connoisseur of wine, but I really enjoyed the house red.

Each morning we spent 45 minutes in the fitness centre... burning some of those added calories. The gym is large and clean with excellent equipment.

The people who work at the RIU really appear to enjoy their jobs. Each day, our terrific housekeeper left wonderful, creative surprises in the form of elaborate facial tissue bows and towel animals.

Our room was basic on the 3rd floor, (i.e. no upgrade) but it had a fabulous view. The sunsets were awesome.

Some folks complain (in their reviews) of the slow elevators. Seeing as we only on the 3rd floor, we took the stairs so the elevators were not an issue for us.

We booked through SunWing (Signature) Vacations and look forward to travelling with them again. Top shelf service from beginning to end.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maestro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,110
    1,102
    515
    215
    186
See reviews for
1,135
1,172
62
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (876)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Battleford, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2011

We love it here! We fell in love with it after our first trip last December. We were thrilled to return for our first of three trips there this year. So clean! You could eat off the lobby floor if you wanted. Room was great along with food, service and weather. The beach is spectacular! Many people enjoyed boogie boarding and para sailing in front of the resort. Great restaurants a short walk up the beach - Mr. Lionso's and Roy's. Sunday is rib night at Roy's and you can get a huge rack of BBQ ribs for 99 pesos.
The guy arrived to restock the fridge about 5 minutes after we arrived and he discovered the fridge didn't work. He called maintenance and they were there in about 10 minutes. He worked on it for about 5 minutes and decided he would just have to replace it. He left and was back inside 15 minutes with a new one. I hadn't even finished unpacking!
You can't go wrong with this resort. If you go you may even run into us because we plan on spending a great deal of time there!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sblackmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2011

This hotel was 5 star all the way from start to finish. It began with not having to wait in a long line up when we checked in. The staff came on the bus, checked us all in at once, handed us our folder with our room keys, tagged our luggage and took it straight to our rooms while we all enjoyed drinks in the bar and dinner in the restaurant! The food is simply amazing and the staff can't do enough for you. It doesn't matter which staff member you see....they always have a smile for you and always ask if there is anything they can do to assist you. Their commitment to exceptional customer service is evident everywhere you go in this hotel. Our ONLY complaint was having to listen to some of the other guests complain about really minor things like having to wait for the elevator. Seriously??? That's their only complaint? So you wait an extra 5 minutes....your on vacation....its not like you have a demanding schedule - lol. The other great thing they have is a separate set of showers for guests to use once they have checked out of their room and while waiting for airport transportation. They have truly thought of everything! We can't wait to go back....highly recommend this fabulous resort....lots of canadians which is really nice.

Kim & Mark

Room Tip: ask for ocean view on one of the higher floors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kymbur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2011

Great Resort not to big, free wifi in lobby
Front staff speak english well but dont hold out for many others to.
Great place for couples or just to have a great time.
The food, i have not found one mexican resort that gets the food right. It is ok but they just try to hard making the food to complicated and therefore undesirable. The best food was on the beach or at the lunch restaurant, soft serve ice cream.mmmmm We had dinner at the steak restaurant and the food was good but they also had an Avacado / Tomato Soup that was completely amazing, i asked for seconds. The asian fusion restaurant tried to hard as well. Made a couple recomendations to the head chef and came back on the last day, no change was made so i would say take a pass on the Asian Fusion restaurant. One thing that the resort needs to fix is the computer programing for the Elevators. I have never stayed at a place that had such messed up elevators. Since every room has a mini bar and liquor dispensers in them i would suggest that you go onto google translate and list in spanish the kind of drinks you want in the mini bar and print it out and leave for staff to read when they come to refill your bar ie Pepsi, Pepsi Lite, Water, Orange otherwise they will fill it with all the stuff you dont want. Oh yeah beds are a bit stiff ask for many extra pillows.

Room Tip: If two guys or two gals are going and they are not sleeping together make sure they know this. They...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TFCTravelAgent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
116 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2011

Motto of hotel chain is "We're all about you" and they live up to it. At this all inclusive resort, you are pampered from the time you arrive in your beautiful room, greeted with towels shaped like swans. The main buffet dining room has so many food choices you don't know where to begin. The three fine dining rooms offering Asian, Mexican and Steak can be visited as much as you like providing you make reservations in the morning. Most enjoy the Asian 'Bamboo' one so much they usually go twice. I also enjoyed the ribs in the steak house one. There are five bars so you need not go thirsty and there are snacks all day long too. Staff is very accommodating so even if you want to bring a carafe of wine up to your room, they will happily give it to you. There is live entertainment by a troupe every night in the theatre, but it starts late at 9 pm. Dancers are excellent dancers but shows they put on tend to be tacky and badly produced. You will enjoy the beautiful beach and pools during the day so bring a good book or socialize with your friends in the pool with a swim-up bar - there is seating and tables right in the pool. Afternoons are best for shopping the downtown area around the marketplace as it is much cooler than mornings. Just hop on a bus to head downtown (print out the bus routes off Internet). Evenings are beautiful and you will want to take pictures of the glowing sunsets. A short walk up to the end of the beach is Mr. Lionsos Playa Bruja where the food is so inexpensive and good, that timeshare visitors staying at other hotels eat there 3-4 times a week - this restaurant is good for a break from hotel food and the grilled lobster with garlic butter is excellent.

Room Tip: If you get on the 2nd floor where the view is only the wide walkway around the hotel, ask to be move...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CdnLovesTravel787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2011

This is my first review. I always read other reviews before booking my vacations so I thought this might help some other people. We stayed here Nov 29 - Dec 7, 2011. We normally love RIU resorts. This resort is only a couple years old and looks very nice. All rooms are ocean view so no need to pay for an upgrade. We were on the 4th floor so we took the stairs down and didn't have to wait for elevators so the room location was great. The pools were cool so didn't really use them. The beach was beautiful for long walks and gathering shells. The water was very rough though. We went horseback riding on the beach for $25 each for an hour. Loved it. Lots of vendors on the beach everyday but when you tell them NO they leave you alone. The resort staff surprised me with the amount of english they spoke. Still a few that didn't speak english but if you had questions, they would get someone who understood.
The beer and the wine were HORRIBLE!!!! Most of the juice had no flavour and looked like water with a little colour. The food was DISGUSTING!!!!! The same thing over and over. They had dishes that looked the same every night but sometimes it was called beef, the next night it was called pork, the next night it was lamb. The left overs always made it to breakfast the next day or again to dinner. I saw staff on several occassions in different locations scooping refills into serving dishes with their bare hands!!!!!! We would never accept that at a restaurant in our country!!!! The food was never hot even in the a la carts. Definitely not a 5 star, possible a 3 star.
We will not go back to this resort or recommend it to anyone else. We have our wedding booked at the new RIU Palace Bavaro in Punta Cana in April, 2012. Hopefully it will be a great experience, if not we will never stay at another RIU property.

Room Tip: All rooms are ocean view so no need to pay more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank DeniseE37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2011

Did not disappoint… the second time
We found the deal so irresistible that we came back to the RIU Emerald Bay for our 28th all-inclusive Mexican vacation. This year two other couples came with us so some of our comments may reflect their input as well.
Once again, the check-in procedure was seamless with your arm-band put on before you get on the bus. We received our welcome package on the bus and upon arrival at the hotel were given our keys and towel cards, but only after we were given a welcome cocktail or beer. A wonderful welcome…
We now understand RIU’s concept of ‘ocean view’ (even though all rooms have an ocean view) as they make the distinction based on what floor you are on. If you upgrade to an ‘ocean view’ room you will be on a higher floor.
We found the service in the hotel to be outstanding and when we asked for more pillows and more water they arrived at the room in minutes. The staff throughout the hotel are very helpful and we understand that many of them are learning English in order to better communicate with the guests.
Contrary to many comments, the elevators were no more an issue here than in any other building with 22 floors. Even at busy times you would rarely wait more than 3 or 4 minutes.
The entertainment is fairly typical and staff try very hard to put on a good show. There are lots of interactive evenings so if you are into karaoke or getting on-stage you will be in your glory.
As for the a-la-carte restaurants, in our experience the Bamboo (Asian) has the best food even though some may argue that it is just another buffet. If you are lucky, you will get deep-fried ice cream, but this is not available on all nights. If you go to the Steakhouse, order the chicken or ribs and avoid the steak as it is consistently as tough as shoe-leather. The flaming Alaska desert makes it a worthwhile experience; just don’t go for the steak. We were always satisfied with the food and selection in the main buffet.
The currency exchange at the front desk of the hotel is Canadian ONLY – no USA currency exchanged here. The rate is not the highest but is OK. You can get USD$ changed at banks or currency exchanges in the Golden Zone or downtown if you need to do this.
Late November is still the ‘hub-season’ although at no point was the hotel busy in any way. We could always get the food we wanted and seating at the pools and beach were never close to filled.
For a change of pace, venture to the small strip mall at the north end of the street from the hotel. This is a 20 minute walk or a $5 dollar cab ride. There are 4 or 5 ‘T-shirt’ shops as well as a Massage Therapy /reflexology spa ($30 for 50 minute deep tissue, $25 for 50 minutes relax), and don’t overlook the Last Drop Bar and Grill where they play Canadian sports all day on cable and the best hamburgers around. We made reservations to watch the Grey Cup there and it was an experience not to be missed. Next to the Last Drop is Roy’s Seafood where you can get two Pacific lobsters and four large shrimp for $20.00.
I will preface my only negative comment by asking the question, “Where is the adult pool?” Some of us would like to dip or soak in the pool without having to contend with pre-adolescent kids jumping from pool to pool, diving from the sides and bringing their blow-up toys into the pool to throw at each other. The part that makes little sense is that the activity pools are usually fairly empty but the parents of these kids don’t want to sit there as it might be noisy – go figure!
That said, I would repeat my comments from a year ago and say that this is a great vacation value for the money and the service and amenities are great.

Room Tip: Selecting and "Ocean view" room generally means you will be on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sunrunner007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
0.9 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay
4.0 mi away
The Inn at Mazatlan
The Inn at Mazatlan
#8 of 78 in Mazatlan
666 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
#6 of 78 in Mazatlan
1,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
#9 of 78 in Mazatlan
1,510 reviews
3.8 mi away
El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel
3.1 mi away
Oceano Palace
Oceano Palace
#52 of 78 in Mazatlan
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Emerald Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Emerald Bay

Property: Hotel Riu Emerald Bay
Address: Av. Sabalo-Cerritos #3404 zona costera cerritos | Nuevo Mazatlán - Sinaloa, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Mazatlan
#7 Spa Hotel in Mazatlan
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
#10 Romantic Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Emerald Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 716
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Opening summer 2009 * 12 km / 7.45 Miles from Mazatlan, overlooking the Pacific Ocean * Located on Playa Las Brujas beach * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 20-story main building * Surrounded by 13.500 M2 / 16.15 Sq. Yards of lush gardens * 10 km / 6.2 Miles from various shops * 12 km / 7.45 Miles from Mazatlan * 32 km / 19.87 Miles from the airport * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with RIU Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Riu Emerald Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Emerald Bay Mazatlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing