We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of Canada in Mexico”

The Saloon Sport Bar
Ranked #60 of 410 Restaurants in Mazatlan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A bit of Canada in Mexico”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Good margaritas hand made and not from a mix. Daily dining specials, such as liver and onions and fish & chips make for a change from the Mexican specialties elsewhere. Friendly barstaff and free use of a Magic Jack phone for phone calls home complete the picture. Where else can you watch live curling on TV in Mazatlan?

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank M Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    40
    2
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oliver, Canada
Level Contributor
424 reviews
277 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Taste of home”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

I ate here a year ago and enjoyed it - tastes like eating in Canada.

We tried it on our trip this year. the food was good, again, tasted like we were eating at home. Sometimes that is a treat after days of eating Mexican food.

The service was prompt and friendly. The prices are good and they have entertainment several times a week.

There is free phone service to the US and Canada for short calls. We did not use this service but it is certainly helpful for many.

There are always sports, especially hockey, on one of the TV's so if you need that Canuck Fix, this is your place. You will almost always be sitting by someone else from the US and Canada, not a lot of Mexicans frequent this place.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
143 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Canuck Country”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stopped by because we wanted to keep apprised of the Olympics. Spent many hours there eating, drinking, and experiencing the fabulous customer service. Called home for free...easy peasy...Owners are hands on and you can tell! Please try a Ceasar...for breakfast, with your omlette, the vey best!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank judyjudyjudy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camrose, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Feel at home”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

A little sports bar in the Golden zone that is owned by a couple of Canadians. Go in have a beer and phone home for free.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Oregon
Level Contributor
79 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fun and Friendly”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

The little woman and I are vacationing in Mazatlan for a month and visited "The Saloon" on a fellow traveler's recommendation; we were favorably impressed. It appeared to be headquarters for Canadian/American couples in their 70's, fun lovers. Owners were welcoming, Hispanic waiters were on top of it (as well as the dance floor), live music was lively and the atmosphere was fun.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rooskyoregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Saloon Sport Bar also viewed

 

Been to The Saloon Sport Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing